Databases

Databases A-Z

 

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Databases by Subject


 

DATABASES BY SUBJECT


Databases by Type




Resources by Type: Book chapters

Google Book SearchAnyone can use
Google Book SearchGoogle Books contains the full text of books and magazines provided by libraries and publishers. Materials that are out of copyright (generally pre-1925) can be viewed online. For more recent books, Google Book Search functions as a detailed index. Books identified may be available at MU, via MOBIUS, or may be requested through ILL@MU. [more]



ABELLRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature

ABELLABELL lists monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations dealing with the study of literature and linguistics published anywhere in the world. Coverage is 1920 to date. [more]



African Index MedicusAnyone can use
African Index MedicusFocuses on sources not indexed in MEDLINE, including books, theses, and agency reports. From the Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA) with the technical support of the World Health Organization [more]



BELIT – Bioethics Literature DatabaseAnyone can use
BELIT - Bioethics Literature DatabaseSearch over 300,000 English, German, and French journal articles, books, and more on bioethics. Developed by the German Reference Centre for Ethics in the Life Sciences (DRZE, Bonn) and operated in co-operation with the Information and Documentation Centre for Ethics in Medicine (IDEM, Goettingen), the Interdepartmental Centre for Ethics in the Sciences and Humanities (IZEW, Tuebingen), the Library and Information Services of the Kennedy Institute of Ethics (KIE, Washington, DC) and the Centre de documentation en ethique des sciences de la vie et de la sante, INSERM/CCNE (CDEI, Paris). [more]



Business Source PremierRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Business Source PremierBusiness Source Premier provides full-text for nearly 3,300 scholarly business journals, including full-text for more than 1000 peer-reviewed business publications. [more]



Cochrane Methodology RegisterAnyone can use
Cochrane Methodology RegisterWith over 9000 references, the register aims to include all published reports of empirical methodological studies to support the work of the Cochrane review groups as they conduct systematic reviews of healthcare interventions. [more]



ETHXWebRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ETHXWebJournal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, and news articles relating to bioethics and professional ethics. Can search for literature which emphasizes a legal, religious, empirical, or popular approach. Contains some links to fulltext. From the Kennedy Institute of Ethics, which formerly produced Bioethicsline. [more]



Library Literature and Information Science Full TextRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Library Literature and Information Science Full TextLibrary Literature and Information Science Full Text is an index of library and information science periodicals. [more]



LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior AbstractsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior AbstractsLLBA indexes over 1,500 journals and additional books, dissertations and other media covering all aspects of linguistics, speech, language and hearing pathology. [more]



Materials Research Database with METADEXRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Materials Science

Materials Research Database with METADEXBrings together materials science databases, covering materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications, including the use of materials in orthopedics and dentistry. Everything from raw materials and refining through processing, welding, and fabrication to end use, corrosion, performance, and recycling is covered in for all metals, polymers, ceramics, and composites. The collection comprises several databases which may be searched individually or all together. The databases included in the collection are: Aluminum Industry Abstracts, Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts, Copper Data Center Database, Corrosion Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Materials Business File, Mechanical Engineering Abstracts, METADEX, MicroPatent Materials Patents, and WELDASEARCH. [more]



Native Health Research DatabaseAnyone can use
Native Health Research DatabaseIndexes health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. Can search by tribe, state, region/province in addition to MeSH subject searches. Older literature (back to 1652) can be found in the Native Health History Database. [more]



PrimateLitAnyone can use
PrimateLitSearch for information on nonhuman primates in journal articles, books, meeting abstracts, technical reports, dissertations and book chapters. Covers a variety of subject areas, including behavior, colony management, ecology, reproduction, field studies, disease models, veterinary science, psychology, physiology, pharmacology, evolution, taxonomy, developmental and molecular biology, genetics and zoogeography. Part of the University of Wisconsin’s Primate Info Net (PIN). [more]



ProQuest Technology CollectionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX, CSA High Technology Research Database with Aerospace, and the CSA Engineering Research Database, TRD, Technology Research Database, ProQuest Technology Collection

ProQuest Technology CollectionProQuest Technology Collection indexes over 16 million abstracts, over 7.7 million tables and figures, and includes over 2,700 full text journals. It is comprised of ProQuest Advanced Technologies with Aerospace Collection; ProQuest Materials Science Collection; ProQuest Engineering Collection; ProQuest Computer Science Collection; and ProQuest Illustrata: Technology. Coverage starts from 1962. [more]



PsycINFORestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Psychological Abstracts

PsycINFOLocate articles in articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. From the American Psychological Association. Includes a feature to suggest productive search terms to guide users to relevant results. [more]



PsycINFO with PsycARTICLESRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: psychological abstracts

PsycINFO with PsycARTICLESPsycINFO contains references to articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. With the inclusion of PsycARTICLES, over 149,000 full-text articles from more than 70 journals published by the American Psychological Association and participating publishers are provided. [more]



Smoking and Health DatabasesAvailable only from within the Health Sciences Library.
Smoking and Health DatabasesLiterature on the scientific, medical, technical, policy, behavioral, legal, and historical aspects of smoking and tobacco use and its health effects. Includes abstracts of hard to find conference proceedings and government documents, many with historical significance. Although most items have been published since 1965, several records date back to the 1800s. From the Office of Smoking and Health, Centers for Disease Control. [more]



Sociological AbstractsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: sociology

Sociological AbstractsCSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. [more]



VetMed ResourceRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
VetMed ResourceContains the Veterinary Science Database, a subset of CAB Abstracts covering all aspects of veterinary medicine. Coverage includes companion animals, equines, food animals, aquaculture species, zoo animals, and wild animals. Also contains CAB Reviews; In Brief and In Depth articles; the Animal Health and Production Compendium; and a Calendar focused on veterinary conferences and other events worldwide. Geared toward those working in the field of veterinary medicine and animal health. [more]



 

DATABASES BY TYPE

Resources grouped by type or format of information that they provide (e.g. primary sources, images)


Try First: Resources for Research

 

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

 

 

 

  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar
 
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


 

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

 

  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Press Display Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • 2200 newspapers from 97 countries
  • original format and layout
  • last 60 days only

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date

LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

Trial Databases


 

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection Seminar Talks – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: henry stewart talks

Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection Seminar Talks - TrialThis collection provides access to over 1,500 online seminar style talks containing the latest research developments as well as the fundamentals presented by leading world experts, including Nobel Laureates. Trial ends December 31, 2014. [more]



Digital Loeb Classical Library – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Digital Loeb Classical Library - TrialThe Digital Loeb Classical Library is a searchable collection of more than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek and English texts. Epic and lyric poetry, tragedy and comedy, history, travel, philosophy and oratory and others are included. Trial ends November 14, 2014. [more]



Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) with Online Archive – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: RIPM

Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) with Online Archive - TrialIndexes over 200 music periodicals, including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press releases and more. The Archive includes full-text for over 118 primary source journals indexed in RIPM. Trial ends June 30, 2015. [more]



Rock’s Backpages – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: Rocks Backpages; Rocks Back Pages; Rock’s Back Pages

Rocks Backpages - TrialRock’s Backpages covers all types of popular music from the 1960s to the present. It includes over 25,000 articles (reviews, interviews, features and more) and over 400 exclusive and previously unpublished audio interviews with major music icons. Trial ends October 4, 2014. [more]



 

 

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources