Databases


Databases A-Z

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Results for: S

Safari Books OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: O’Reilly

Provides full-text access to thousands of online books covering technology, digital media, business, health, travel, personal and professional development and many other areas. Also includes learning tutorials and videos. Requires your MU email address to access the materials and registration with Safari for a personal account. [more]



Sage Journals OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Sage Journals Online provides full-text articles covering Health, Life, Biomedical, Materials, and Social Sciences as well as the Humanities and Engineering. Note: Articles that are accessible are in indicated with ‘Article Available’ and a green check mark. [more]



SAO/NASA Astrophysical Data SystemAnyone can use

The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases covering publications in Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and the arXiv e-prints. Abstracts and full-text of major astronomy and physics publications are indexed and searchable through the new ADS “Bumblebee” interface as well as the traditional “Classic” search forms. A set of browsable interfaces are also available. [more]



SciELO Citation IndexRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Access to scholarly literature in sciences and social sciences published in leading open access journals from Latin America, Portugal, Spain, the Caribbean and South Africa. [more]



Science (General) DatabasesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A collection of databases relevant to the study of science from a general perspective. The databases in this collection are only available to MU affiliates. [more]



Science Magazine OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Science Magazine Online provides searchable full-text articles from Science Magazine from 1995 to present. [more]



Science of SynthesisRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Science of Synthesis provides comprehensive information on synthetic methods for all classes of organic compounds. It includes the complete backfiles of Houben Weyl Methods of Organic Chemistry with references dating back to 1835. [more]



Science Reference CenterRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other reliable sources. In addition, the database includes a vast collection of images from sources such as UPI, Getty, NASA, National Geographic and the Nature Picture Library. [more]



ScienceDirectRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: ScienceDirect Freedom Collection

Search through journals, books, reference works, and images for the Physical Silences, Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities. [more]



SciFinder Scholar – RegistrationRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

In order to use SciFinder Scholar, you must first register for an account using your MU email address. [more]



SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Chemical Abstracts

SciFinder Scholar contains a comprehensive database of chemical and chemical engineering literature including patents (1907 – date, with selected coverage back to 1878) and the CAS Registry with information on 18 million substances. Also useful for biotechnology, toxicology, environmental science, medicine, food science and nuclear science. Available via the web which requires registration using your MU e-mail address. [more]



SciTech ConnectAnyone can use
Also Known as: Information Bridge; Energy Citations Database

Database of free, publicly-available DOE-sponsored R&D results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data information. SciTech Connect is a consolidation of two core DOE search engines, the Information Bridge and the Energy Citations Database. [more]



ScopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources , including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. It is a multidisciplinary resource covering materials from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Scopus allows you to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them. [more]



Slavery, Abolition and Social JusticeRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Slavery Abolition and Social Justice

This resource provides access to many thousands of original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings and maps in high quality greyscale and colour. All printed items are fully text-searchable and manuscripts have document-level indexing. Themes covered include: Slavery in the Early Americas, African Coast, Middle Passage, Slavery and Agriculture, Urban and Domestic Slavery, Slave Testimony, Spiritualism and Religion, Resistance and Revolts, Underground Railroad, The Abolition Movement and the Slavery Debate, Legislation and Politics, Freed Slaves, Freedmen and Free Black Settlements, Education, Slavery and the Islamic World, Varieties of Slave Experience and The Legacy of Slavery and Slavery Today. [more]



Social Services AbstractsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

CSA Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. [more]



Social trends & indicators USARestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Provides in-depth statistics on social issues with expert analyses. Data is drawn from Federal agencies, newspapers and stock exchanges. Individual volumes are titled: 1. Work & Leisure; 2. Community & Education; 3. Health & Illness; and 4. Crime & Justice. 2003 edition. [more]



Social Trends and IndicatorsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Provides in-depth statistics on social issues with expert analyses. Data is drawn from Federal agencies, newspapers and stock exchanges. Individual volumes are titled: 1. Work & Leisure; 2. Community & Education; 3. Health & Illness; and 4. Crime & Justice. [more]



Social Work AbstractsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Social Work Abstracts contains more than 45,000 records from approximately 300 social work and other related journals, and social work dissertations. [more]



Social Work DatabasesAnyone can use

A collection of databases relevant to the study of social work. The majority of databases in this collection are available only to MU affiliates. [more]



Sociological AbstractsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: sociology

Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. [more]



Sociology DatabasesAnyone can use

A collection of databases relevant to the sociology. The majority of these databases are only available to MU affiliates. [more]



Soil Science DatabasesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A collection of databases relevant to soil science. The databases in this collection are only available to MU Affiliates. [more]



SORA–Searchable Ornithological Research ArchiveAnyone can use

SORA,an open access electronic journal archive, is the product of a collaboration between the American Ornithologists Union, the Cooper Ornithological Society, the Association of Field Ornithologists, the Wilson Ornithological Society and the University of New Mexico libraries and IT department. This archive provides access to an extensive Ornithological literature of international scope, and detailed material documenting the history of Ornithology in North America over the last 120 years. [more]



Spanish Language and Literature DatabasesAnyone can use
Also Known as: Language and Literature, Spanish

A collection of databases relevant to the study of the Spanish language and literature. The databases in this collection are available only to MU affiliates. [more]



SPIE Digital LibraryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The SPIE Digital Library contains the world’s largest collection of optics and photonics research and provides tools for researchers to optimize their valuable time. With more than 425,000 papers spanning biomedicine, communications, sensors, defense and security, manufacturing, electronics, energy, and imaging, the SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive research database available on optics and photonics research. Titles included are: Journal of Applied Remote Sensing (JARS)(2007-present), Journal of Biomedical Optics (1996-present), Journal of Electronic Imaging (1992-present), Journal of Micro/Nanolithography, MEMS, and MOEMS (2002-present), Journal of Nanophotonics (2007-present), Journal of Photonics for Energy (2011-present), Optical Engineering (1962-present), SPIE Letters (2004-present)(open access), SPIE Reviews (2008-present)(open access), Proceedings of SPIE (1963-present) [more]



SPIN WebRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: AIP Journals; Scitation

SPIN indexes AIP (physics) journals. SPIN database includes bibliographic records and abstracts for more than 1.5 million articles from major physical science journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published by the American Institute of Physics, its member societies, and other affiliated organizations. [more]



SPORTDiscus with Full TextRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: sport ; sport discus ; sport database

SPORTDiscus is a full-text database covering sports and sports medicine journals. Subjects covered include biomechanics, drugs, exercise, kinesiology, movement science, nutrition, occupational health and therapy, physical fitness, physical therapy, rehabilitation, sports and exercise psychology, coaching and education and sports medicine. [more]



Springer ProtocolsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: SpringerProtocols ; methods in molecular biology ; methods in molecular medicine ; methods in biotechnology ; neuromethods ; methods in pharmacology and toxicology

SpringerProtocols is an online database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the biomedical and life sciences. Compiling protocols from the book series Methods in Molecular Biology and other sources, SpringerProtocols offers researchers access to nearly thirty years of tested, trusted, step-by-step protocols for immediate use in the lab. [more]



SpringerLink JournalsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Springer provides its electronic book and journal content on its SpringerLink site, which launched in 1996. SpringerLink is operated by MetaPress, a division of Ebsco. [more]



Standard & Poor’s NetAdvantageRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

NetAdvantage provides information on companies, industries, stocks, mutual funds and the economy. Sources include Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Bond Reports and Corporation Records. The type of information includes, but is not limited to, financial statistics, commentary, and directory listings, e.g., security dealers. The Industry Surveys is an excellent resource to locate information on 53 industries. The Mutual Funds section provides a quote, name of fund manager, rate of return, and sector allocations. [more]



Statistical Abstract of the United StatesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Stat Abstract; statistical abstracts; statistical abstract of the US

The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Editions from 2013-present are available. [more]



Statistical Abstract of the United States 1878-2012Anyone can use
Also Known as: Statistical Abstracts of the United States

As the National Data Book it contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Free access provided by the United States Census Bureau ended in 2012; subsequent editions have been issued by Proquest. [more]



Statistical Ready ReferenceRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Based on the data in Statistical Data Sets, Statistical Ready Reference searches across the massive repository of time-series data. Statistics can be found in broad subject areas including: agriculture, banking and finance, criminal justice, education, government and politics, health, housing, business, labor, military and defense, population, trade and transportation. [more]



Statistics DatabasesAnyone can use

A collection of databases relevant to the study and observation of statistics. The majority of databases in this collection are only available to MU affiliates. [more]



Subject Compilations of State Laws (Hein Online)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Subject Compilations of State Laws gives you access to bibliographic records from Cheryl Nyberg’s Subject Compilations Bibliography Series. Many records contain extensive annotations with links directly to articles and other documents residing in HeinOnline. [more]



Databases by Subject

DATABASES BY SUBJECT

Databases by Type

Try First: Resources for Research

 

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

.choose-db-list{ list-style-type:none;padding:0;margin:10px 0 0 0;font-family:Verdana,Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif;font-size:9pt;width:340px; }
.choose-db-check{ width:20px;float:left;padding-left:5px;padding-top:5px; }
.choose-db-detail{ margin-left:30px;border-left:solid 1px #E7E7E7;padding:5px 11px 7px 11px;line-height:1.4em; }
.summary { background-color:#1D5DA7;color:#FFFFFF;border:solid 1px #1D5DA7; }
.one { background-color: #FFFFFF;border:solid 1px #E7E7E7;border-top:solid 1px #FFFFFF; }
.two { background-color: #F5F5F5;border:solid 1px #E7E7E7;border-top:solid 1px #FFFFFF; }
.selected { background-color: #E0EFF7;border:solid 1px #E7E7E7;border-top:solid 1px #FFFFFF; }
#ebscohostCustomSearchBox #disciplineBlock { width:auto; }
#ebscohostCustomSearchBox .limiter { float:left;margin:0;padding:0;width:50%; }

#ebscohostsearchtext { width: 144px; }
#ebscohostsearchtext.edspub { width: 245px; }

.ebscohost-search-button.edspub {
border: 1px solid #156619;
padding: 5px 10px !important;
border-radius: 3px;
color: #fff;http://ejournals.ebsco.com/admin/login.asp
font-weight: bold;
background-color: #156619;
}

.ebscohost-title.edspub {
color: #1c7020;
font-weight: bold;
}

 

Research databases

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar  
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks


Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
 

 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri  
  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date
  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

 

Trial Databases

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

PolicyMap – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: Policy Map

A resource designed to synthesize data sets from various authoritative sources for the purposes of illustrating data based on demographics and the geographic location. This service will automatically create a data graphical map based on the specified data, which can include multiple data sets or “layers” on the same map. Trial ends December 31, 2018. [more]



The Literary Encyclopedia – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]

The Literary Encyclopedia publishes biographies of major and minor writers; scholarly descriptions of all interesting texts written by these authors, including those often neglected; and a variety of descriptive and critical essays on literary, cultural and historical matters, which provide a finer understanding of the social contexts in which this writing was produced. Trial ends December 31, 2018. [more]



Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources.

You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration
  • Comply with all applicable laws concerning copyright and intellectual property

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources
Research databases