Databases

B

 

Databases A-Z

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the stackedlogo-bg-verysmall icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Results for: B

BELIT – Bioethics Literature DatabaseAnyone can use
Search over 300,000 English, German, and French journal articles, books, and more on bioethics. Developed by the German Reference Centre for Ethics in the Life Sciences (DRZE, Bonn) and operated in co-operation with the Information and Documentation Centre for Ethics in Medicine (IDEM, Goettingen), the Interdepartmental Centre for Ethics in the Sciences and Humanities (IZEW, Tuebingen), the Library and Information Services of the Kennedy Institute of Ethics (KIE, Washington, DC) and the Centre de documentation en ethique des sciences de la vie et de la sante, INSERM/CCNE (CDEI, Paris). [more]



Bible in EnglishRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Bible in English is a collection of 20 different versions of the English Bible from the tenth to the twentieth century, including 12 full Bibles, 5 New Testament texts, 2 versions of the Gospels only, and translations by William Tyndale of the Pentateuch, Jonah and the New Testament. [more]



Bibliographie der Deutschen Sprach -und LiteraturwissenschaftCD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.
Köttelwesh, as this database is known, indexes the secondary literature, periodicals, monographs, and collections, in the areas of German language and literature studies. This database is only accessible within Ellis Library. [more]



Bibliography of the History of ArtRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: BHA

Bibliography of the History of Art covers the current literature of European art from the 4th century to the present, and of North and South American art from the European discovery of the Americas to the present. Free access provided by The Getty. [more]



Biblioteca Virtual de Ciencias Sociales de América Latina y el CaribeAnyone can use
The Latin American and Caribbean social science virtual library provides access to over 7000 full text documents, a databases of publications and research projects, a directory of researchers, and a collection of multimedia resources–video, audio, and images. [more]



Biobar toolbarAnyone can use
Browse and locate biological information in over 30 databanks from the European Bioinformatics Institute (EBI), the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), and the DNA Databank of Japan (DDBJ). Install the toolbar to search Genomic, Proteomic, Functional, Literature, Taxonomic, Structural, Plant and Animal-specific databases, then link to nucleotide, protein, and 3D structure information. Internet Explorer users note: Biobar is available only for Firefox and Netscape/Mozilla browsers. [more]



Biochemistry DatabasesAnyone can use
[more]



Biology DatabasesAnyone can use
[more]



BioOne Abstracts and IndexesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: BAID

BioOne Abstracts and Indexes is an indexed and fully searchable collection of abstracts that link to the full-text articles available from the BioOne organization. [more]



BIOSIS Citation IndexRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Biological Abstracts

Biological Abstracts provides access to journals, reports, books, meetings, and U.S. patents in all disciplines of the life sciences, including traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as plant and animal science, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology. [more]



Birds of North AmericaRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Birds of North America is a comprehensive reference covering the life histories of North American birds. Includes audio, video and extensive references. [more]



Black Studies DatabasesAnyone can use
[more]



BMC ProceedingsAnyone can use
Devoted specifically to conference publications in medicine and biology, BioMed Central aims to provide open access to both abstracts and complete articles presented at conferences. [more]



Book Collection: Nonfiction – Elementary EditionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Book Collection Nonfiction: Elementary School Edition contains informative abstracts and searchable full text for more than 1,290 popular nonfiction books. The database includes high interest titles on animals, weather, holidays, Native Americans, United States, Canada, biographies, civics and more. Access provided by MOREnet. [more]



Book Collection: Nonfiction – High School EditionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Book Collection Nonfiction: High School Edition contains informative abstracts and searchable full text for more than 2,440 popular nonfiction books. The database includes high interest titles on careers, health, ethnicity, disabilities, technology, biographies, music, science, history, civics and more. Access provided by MOREnet. [more]



Book Collection: Nonfiction – Middle School EditionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Book Collection Nonfiction: Middle School Edition contains informative abstracts and searchable full text for more than 3,100 popular nonfiction books. The database includes high interest titles on careers, health, ethnicity, disabilities, technology, biographies, history, science, women, civics and more. Access provided by MOREnet. [more]



British & Irish Archaeological BibliographyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
British & Irish Archaeological Bibliography contains 200,000 records covering book and article publications from AD 1695 to the present day on archaeology and the historic environment. [more]



British PeriodicalsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Offers facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th centuries. [more]



British Records on the Atlantic WorldRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Archival materials such as journals, correspondence, trading documents and missionary papers (1700-1900), all related to British involvement in the Atlantic region, including both Africa and the Americas. [more]



BuildingGreen SuiteRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
The BuildingGreen Suite includes technical information about green building, in-depth articles on building strategies, case studies, assessment of sustainable materials and teaching resources. Access is provided by MU Campus Facilities. [more]



Business DatabasesAnyone can use
[more]



Business Source PremierRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Business Source Premier provides full-text for nearly 2,200 peer-reviewed and trade business journals. Also included are company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, and SWOT analysis. [more]



 

Databases by Subject

DATABASES BY SUBJECT

Databases by Type

Try First: Resources for Research

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

Research databases
  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar  
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks


Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri  
  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date
  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

 

Trial Databases

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

No trials at this time

 

 

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher’s license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources.

You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration
  • Comply with all applicable laws concerning copyright and intellectual property

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources
Research databases