Databases

Databases A-Z

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the stackedlogo-bg-verysmall icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Results for: F

FactivaRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Factiva provides access to more than 32,000 sources (such as newspapers, journals, magazines, television and radio transcripts, photos, etc.) from nearly every country worldwide in 28 languages, including more than 600 continuously updated newswires. It also contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty, and staff only. [more]



FAOSTATAnyone can use

Sponsored by the Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations. Covers international statistics in agriculture, nutrition, fisheries, forestry, food quality, and more. Supports bulk downloading of data. [more]



Federal RegisterRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Searchable full text of the Federal Register, updated daily. Contains Rules, Proposed Rules, and Notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as Executive Orders and other Presidential Documents. Site also provides link to database of laws enacted from 1995-. [more]



Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender IndexAnyone can use

Feminae covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. [more]



FIAFRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

FIAF indexes the film and television literature from 300 periodicals. Includes the International Index to Film Periodicals (1972 to June 2018) International Index to TV Periodicals (1979 to 2006) List of Periodicals Indexed and Treasures from the Film Archives. [more]



Film DatabasesAnyone can use

A collection of databases relevant to the study of film. This resource contains a mixture of resources available to the general public, and those available only to MU affiliates. [more]



Film Literature IndexAnyone can use

FLI indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. [more]



Film PlatformRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: FilmPlatform

Film Platform hosts films from documentary film festivals around the world, including True/False film festival. [more]



Finance DatabasesAnyone can use

A collection of databases relevant to the study of finance. The majority of these databases are only available to MU affiliates. [more]



Fish, Fisheries and Aquatic Biodiversity WorldwideRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Fish and Fisheries Worldwide

Provides citations and some abstracts on all aspects of ichthyology, fisheries, and related aspects of aquaculture. [more]



Fisheries & Wildlife DatabasesAnyone can use

A collection of databases relevant to the study of fisheries and wildlife. The majority of these databases are only available to MU affiliates. [more]



Fishman’s Pulmonary Diseases and DisordersRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Pulmonary Diseases and Disorders

This is an eBook version of the 5th edition of Fishman’s Pulmonary Diseases and Disorders. The accredited editors are Michael A. Grippi, Jack A. Elias, Jay A. Fishman, Robert M. Kotloff, Allan I. Pack, Robert M. Senior, Mark D. Siegel. This book is designed to aid in the study of medicine in relation to “relevant respiratory biology, and underlying cellular and molecular mechanisms.” This book contains 153 chapters divided into 18 parts. [more]



Food Science & Nutrition DatabasesAnyone can use

A collection of databases relevant to the study of food science and nutrition. The majority of these databases are only available to MU affiliates. [more]



Food Science and Technology AbstractsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: FSTA

Food Science and Technology Abstracts provides coverage of all scientific and technological aspects of the processing and manufacturing of human food products. [more]



Forestry DatabasesAnyone can use

A collection of databases relevant to the study of forestry. These databases are available only to MU affiliates. [more]



French Language and Literature DatabasesAnyone can use
Also Known as: Language and Literature, French

A collection of databases relevant to the study of the french language and literature. Full access to full text databases is only available to MU affiliates. The index information is available to the general public. [more]



Frost & Sullivan for MU Faculty and StaffRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Frost Reports cover technology and market trends in various technology, energy & manufacturing related fields including energy, healthcare, food, & information technology. MU has access to all reports in Industry Research, Technology Research, and Economic Research, with limited access to those in Career Research and Live and Virtual Events. MU faculty and staff login with your Pawprint and password. More information on Frost and Sullivan can be found here: http://www.frost.com/prod/servlet/company-info.pag [more]



Frost & Sullivan for MU StudentsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Frost Reports cover technology and market trends in various technology, energy & manufacturing related fields including energy, healthcare, food, & information technology. MU has access to all reports in Industry Research, Technology Research, and Economic Research, with limited access to those in Career Research and Live and Virtual Events. MU faculty and staff login with your Pawprint and password. [more]



Fuente AcademicaRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The Fuente Academica database is no longer accessible. This link will provide information on similar resources. [more]



Databases by Subject

DATABASES BY SUBJECT

Databases by Type

Try First: Resources for Research

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

Research databases
  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar  
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks


Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri  
  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date
  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

 

Trial Databases

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

African American Biographical Database – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]

The African-American Biographical Database (AABD) brings together biographies, rare books, and historical information on thousands of African-Americans. Trial ends October 19, 2018. [more]



African American Periodicals 1825-1995 – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations’ bulletins, annual reports and other genres. Trial ends October 18, 2018. [more]



Black Studies Center – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]

Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable database, including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more. It combines essential resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975. Trial ends October 19, 2018. [more]



IBISWorld – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: IBIS World

Global Industry Reports includes 75 Global Industry Reports that offer up-to-date forecasts on industry performance in key regions like Europe, Asia, the Middle East and more. State Industry Reports offer forecasts and analysis of a multitude of industries in 16 states. Note: Missouri isn’t one of the states covered. Trial ends November 16, 2018. [more]



Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher’s license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources.

You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration
  • Comply with all applicable laws concerning copyright and intellectual property

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources
Research databases