Databases

Databases A-Z

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the stackedlogo-bg-verysmall icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Results for: E

Early American Imprints Series I Evans (1639-1800)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Searchable pdf’s of material published in Colonial America and the early U.S. In addition to searching, the collection may be browsed by topic (e.g., Genre: Songs, Economics: Liquor Traffic, History: Louisiana Purchase) [more]



Early American Imprints Series II Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Searchable pdf’s of material published in the U.S. in the early 19th Century. In addition to searching, the collection may be browsed by topic (e.g., Genre: Satires, Peoples: Illinois Indians, Government: Church and State) [more]



Early American Imprints, Series I and IIRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Searchable PDFs of material published in Colonial America and the early U.S to the early 19th century (1639-1819). In addition to searching, the collection may be browsed by topic (e.g., Genre: Songs, Economics: Liquor Traffic, History: Louisiana Purchase, Satires, Peoples: Illinois Indians, Government: Church and State). [more]



Early American Newspapers. Series I, 1690-1876Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Early American Newspapers; America’s Historical Newspapers; Archive of Americana

This collection provides images and full-text content access to a selection of historic newspapers based on Clarence Brigham’s authoritative bibliography, History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820 and additional subsequent bibliographies. [more]



Early English Books OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: EEBO

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere. Access provided through a partnership of the English Department, the College of Arts and Science and the MU Libraries. [more]



EBM Reviews – ACP Journal ClubRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

EBM Reviews – ACP Journal Club contains the complete text of ACP Journal Club (1991-date) and BMJ’s Evidence Based Medicine (1995-1999), which contain reviews of the most methodologically sound, clinically relevant articles from the top internal medicine, pediatric, ob/gyn, ophthalmology, psychiatry, and surgery journals. [more]



EBM Reviews – Cochrane Controlled Trials RegisterRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

EBM Reviews – Cochrane Controlled Trials Register contains over 300,000 bibliographic references to controlled trials in health care which have been identified in MEDLINE and EMBASE and hand researches by members of the Cochrane Collaborations. [more]



EBSCOhostRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

EBSCOhost is an interface that allows users to search over 40 databases across several disciplines at once. Includes full-text access to thousands of journals, magazines, newspapers, etc. [more]



EBSCOhost Ebooks Public Library CollectionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: EBSCO ebooks

Thousands of searchable full-text ebooks from the EbscoHost Public Library collection. Access provide by MOREnet. [more]



ECLAS (European Commission Libraries Catalogue)Anyone can use

ECLAS is the European Commission union catalog, representing the holdings of both the Central Library of the European Commission and some 25 smaller specialized libraries and documentation centers. Provides broad coverage of European Union official publications from 1978 to date, as well as publications about the Union from other intergovernmental organizations, commercial, academic and government presses. ECLAS also indexes selected periodical articles of lasting interest. [more]



ECO: Electronic Collections OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

ECO: Electronic Collections Online contains the original content and images from scholarly journals. Full-text (primarily archival) access is available for over 200 journals to which the MU libraries also subscribe in print format. [more]



EconLitRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

EconLit provides coverage of the worldwide literature on economics. Subject coverage includes accounting, domestic monetary theory, health economics, labor, quantitative economic methods, urban and regional economics, and welfare programs. [more]



Economics DatabasesAnyone can use

A collection of databases relevant to the study of economics. These databases are available only to MU affiliates. [more]



EDGARAnyone can use

EDGAR provides full-text copies of filings/reports for all Securities & Exchange Commission-registered companies. Included are 10-K reports (annual report filed with the SEC), 10-Qs, proxy statements or DEF 14As, and 20-Fs (annual reports of foreign companies whose stock trades in the U.S.). Coverage is 1990s to present. [more]



Education DatabasesAnyone can use

A collection of databases relevant to the study of education. The majority of these databases are only available to MU affiliates [more]



Education Full TextRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Education Full Text provides full-text for over 133 periodicals since 1994 together with indexing and abstracting of records going back to 1983 for the 478 periodicals covered in the Education Index. [more]



Education Index RetrospectiveRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Education Index Retrospective provides a record of education literature, with indexing of more than 800 periodicals and yearbooks. [more]



eHRAF World CulturesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

eHRAF World Cultures covers cultural anthropology, ethnographies of world cultures, especially developing countries and some U.S. immigrant groups. Previous title was Human Relations Area File. [more]



Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: ECCO

Based on the English Short Title Catalogue, nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 will be made available online over the course of the next two years. [more]



eMarketer ProRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

eMarketer is a business information service that aggregates, filters and analyzes research pertaining to the digital marketplace. They gather both domestic and global information from more than 4,000 different trusted sources and organize it into different content such as analyst reports, charts, articles, interviews and more. [more]



Emeroteca Digitale della Biblioteca Nazionale BraidenseAnyone can use

L’Emeroteca provides access to images of over 860 Italian historical, including scholarly, periodicals and regional newspapers from the 19th Century and 20th centuries. Some of the periodicals are fully searchable, but others, such as the newspapers, may only be searched by issue and date. Requires translation tool to view in language other than Italian. [more]



Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic SynthesisRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: eEROS; EROS

Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis is a reference source for reagents used in organic synthesis which for each reagent includes uses and characteristics, examples of use, physical data, solubility, preparative methods and literature references. [more]



Encyclopedia of Research DesignRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Sage encyclopedia of research design

An encyclopedia of information on quantitative and qualitative research design, research methods, statistics and mathematical concepts used in research. Includes reviews of tools and articles that have had an impact on how research is conducted and results are analyzed. [more]



Energy Citations DatabaseAnyone can use

Energy Citations Database contains citations to energy and energy related technical reports, conference papers, and journal articles from U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessors ERDA and AEC. The microfiche collection is housed at the Engineering Library & Technology Commons. [more]



Engineering VillageRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Compendex

Multidisciplinary applied engineering, mathematical, and physical and materials science databases. Cross searches Compendex (engineering), Knovel (STEM ebooks), and Georef (geology, geography, physical sciences). [more]



Engineering, Chemical DatabasesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A collection of databases relevant to chemical engineering. These databases are available only to MU affiliates. [more]



Engineering, Civil DatabasesAnyone can use

A collection of databases relevant to civil engineering. This collection contains a mixture of freely available resources and those available only to MU affiliates. [more]



Engineering, Electrical & Computer DatabasesAnyone can use

A collection of databases relevant to electrical and computer engineering. This collection contains a mixture of freely available resources and those available only to MU affiliates [more]



Engineering, Environmental Science DatabasesAnyone can use

A collection of databases relevant to environmental engineering. This collection contains a mixture of freely available resources and those available only to MU affiliates. [more]



Engineering, General DatabasesAnyone can use

A collection of databases relevant to the general study of the field of engineering. This collection contains a mixture of freely available resources and those available only to MU affiliates. [more]



Engineering, Geological & Geotechnical DatabasesAnyone can use

A collection of databases relevant to geological and geotechincal engineering. This collection contains a mixture of freely available resources and those available only to MU affiliates. [more]



Engineering, Industrial & Manufacturing Systems DatabasesAnyone can use

A collection of databases relevant to industrial and manufacturing systems. This collection contains a mixture of freely available resources and those available only to MU affiliates. [more]



Engineering, Mechanical & Aerospace DatabasesAnyone can use

A collection of databases relevant to mechanical and aerospace engineering. This collection contains a mixture of freely available resources and those available only to MU affiliate [more]



Engineering, Nuclear Science DatabasesAnyone can use

A collection of databases relevant to the nuclear science in relation to engineering. This collection contains a mixture of freely available resources and those available only to MU affiliates [more]



Entomology DatabasesAnyone can use

A collection of databases relevant to entomology. This collection contains a mixture of freely available resources and those available only to MU affiliates. [more]



Entrepreneurship and Small Business DatabasesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A collection of databases relevant to the study of entrepreneurship and small business. These databases are available only to MU affiliates. [more]



Entrez Cross-Database Search Page from NCBIRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Enter a search and see the number of hits in each of the 20+ databases from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), including Pubmed, OMIM, GenBank, and many more. [more]



Enviro-Health Links Hurricane Resource PageRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Links to information on environmental cleanup, drinking water, mold, hazardous materials and more created to assist relief workers. Created by Specialized Information Services at the National Library of Medicine . [more]



Environment CompleteRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The Environment complete database is no longer accessible. This link will provide information on similar resources. [more]



ERICRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

ERIC provides access to the educational and related literature available in periodicals published worldwide and in the ERIC documents microfiche collection. Coverage is 1966 to date. [more]



esp@cenetAnyone can use

Search over 50 million patents from 71 countries, dating back as far as the 1800s. Includes the European Patent Office, the World Intellectual Property Organization as well as individual countries. [more]



Essential Science IndicatorsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: ESI

Essential Science Indicators categorizes journals from the Web of Science into broad categories, and identifies the most highly and rapidly cited journal publications in each category. Counts of highly cited publications attributed to researchers, institutions and countries indicate volume and influence of their research activity. [more]



eStatement StudiesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Provides access to industry norms (ratios and default probability/cash flow measures) for 600+ industries by year, asset range and region. 735 industry codes appear in the current Financial Benchmark Ratios, and 669 are represented in the Industry Default Probabilities. [more]



Ethnographic Video OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Ethnographic Video Online will provide more than 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion. The collection covers every region of the world and includes interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, interviews with filmmakers, contemporaneous footage and photographs and more. Thematic areas include: language and culture, food and foraging, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, political organization, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles. All videos in the collection are transcribed, subject-indexed and fully searchable. [more]



ETHXWebRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, and news articles relating to bioethics and professional ethics. Can search for literature which emphasizes a legal, religious, empirical, or popular approach. Contains some links to fulltext. From the Kennedy Institute of Ethics, which formerly produced Bioethicsline. [more]



ETS TestLink Test Collection DatabaseAnyone can use

Search over 20,000 psychological and educational tests by either test name or by subject. From the Educational Testing Service. If the “Availability” field mentions Tests in Microfiche, the test can be used for research purposes. Copies of the instruments in Tests in Microfiche are available at Ellis Library. [more]



European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (EBSEES)Anyone can use

EBSEES lists books, journal articles, reviews and theses on Eastern Europe (formerly Communist countries) published in Western Europe, including the social sciences, humanities, literature, linguistics, and art. [more]



EuroStat Data ExplorerAnyone can use

EuroStat Data Explorer provides access to statistical tables, data series and publications from Eurostat, the Statistical Office of the European Communities. [more]



Evidence AlertsAnyone can use

A searchable database of the best evidence from 110 premier clinical journals. A network of clinicians evaluates methodologically sound articles for clinical relevance and newsworthiness. Only articles that have been favorably evaluated by at least 3 clinicians are included. Users can also receive either daily or weekly email updates. [more]



Evidence-Based Medicine DatabasesAnyone can use

A collection of databases relevant to the study of evidence based medicine. This resource contains a mixture of resources available to the general public, and those available only to MU affiliates. [more]



Evidence-Based Practice, Step by Step, from the American Journal of NursingRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Twelve award winning “how-to” articles on evidence based nursing practice, first published in the American Journal of Nursing. Authored by faculty from the Arizona State University College of Nursing and Health Innovation’s Center for the Advancement of Evidence-Based Practice. CE credit is available to readers. [more]



Databases by Subject

DATABASES BY SUBJECT

Databases by Type

Try First: Resources for Research

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

Research databases
  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar  
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks


Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri  
  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date
  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

 

Trial Databases

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

African American Biographical Database – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]

The African-American Biographical Database (AABD) brings together biographies, rare books, and historical information on thousands of African-Americans. Trial ends October 19, 2018. [more]



African American Periodicals 1825-1995 – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations’ bulletins, annual reports and other genres. Trial ends October 18, 2018. [more]



Black Studies Center – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]

Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable database, including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more. It combines essential resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975. Trial ends October 19, 2018. [more]



IBISWorld – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: IBIS World

Global Industry Reports includes 75 Global Industry Reports that offer up-to-date forecasts on industry performance in key regions like Europe, Asia, the Middle East and more. State Industry Reports offer forecasts and analysis of a multitude of industries in 16 states. Note: Missouri isn’t one of the states covered. Trial ends November 16, 2018. [more]



Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher’s license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources.

You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration
  • Comply with all applicable laws concerning copyright and intellectual property

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources
Research databases