Databases
Databases A-ZDatabases by SubjectDatabases by TypeTry First: Resources for ResearchTrial Databases
SEARCH FOR A DATABASE
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the
icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.
Results for: W
Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers & Periodicals: 1800-1900
This directory provides detailed bibliographical records for 70,000 periodical and newspaper titles published in the 19th Century. Coverage includes titles published on a regular basis (daily to annually) in every language within England. Library locations, online sources, facsimile title pages and personal name entries are also included. A family tree providing all titles related through mergers, common issuing bodies and title changes is also available. [more]
Web of Science - All Databases
Searches across the following Web of Science databases: Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, KCI-Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, SciELO Citation Index and Zoological Record. [more]
Web of Science Core Collection
Also Known as WoS
This collection indexes thousands of scholarly journals, books, reports, conferences and more. Citation information and analysis with cited reference searching available. The collection includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Social Sciences Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present) and Index Chemicus (1993-present). [more]
Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals
This database indexes British and American Periodicals from 1824-1900. Matches pseudonyms to actual authors. Part of C19 database. No full-text. [more]
Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide
Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide indexes literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. All aspects of wildlife and wildlife management are covered. [more]
Wiley Interscience is a multidisciplinary database offering access to journals, online books, reference works and databases. [more]
Winmo
Also Known as RedBooks Academic Edition; Advertising RedBooks.com
RedBooks provides competitive intelligence and prospecting data on agencies and advertisers. Includes detailed profiles of US and international advertising agencies as well as information and adspend on US and international advertisers, personnel and brands. [more]
Advertising RedBooks.com provides competitive intelligence and prospecting data on agencies and advertisers. Includes detailed profiles of over 10,000 US and international advertising agencies as well as information and adspend on nearly 15,000 US and international advertisers, 200,000 personnel and 100,00 brands. [more]
WIPO World Intelllectual Property Organization PCT Patents Database
Part of the WIPO Intellectual Property Digital Library. Search and retrieve fulltext for WIPO PCT patent applications published as PCT pamphlets since January 1997, and where applicable, republished since April 1998. Bibliographic data, abstracts, drawings and images of PCT pamphlets are provided for all published and republished international applications in the collection. To search the entire collection rather than only the current week, be sure and select ALL weeks To retrieve a patent by number, search the PUBLICATION NUMBER (e.g. WO 2004/019554). search only the number with punctuation and spaces removed (e.g. 2004019954). [more]
Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders (WISER)
Also Known as webwiser ; WISER
Designed to assist first responders in hazardous material incidents, WISER provides a wide range of information on hazardous substances, including substance identification support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression advice. Contains information on 390 of the substances included in the HSDB Hazardous Substances Databank. [more]
Women & Gender Studies Databases
Also Known as women and gender studies
A collection of databases relevant to women and gender studies. The databases in this collection are a mixture of those available to the general public and those only available to MU affiliates. [more]
Workforce Skills for 21st Century Success
Provides an interactive, self-paced platform with resume building tools, resources to improve workplace skills like business writing and presentation proficiencies, improve computer and internet skills, assistance with preparation for professional licensing and aptitude tests and interview skills. Access provide by MOREnet. [more]
World Advertising Research Center (WARC)
Also Known as WARC
WARC (World Advertising Research Center) provides access to advertising and marketing information from various sources. The searchable sources include organizations of various countries, monographs, conference papers, case studies, abstracts and the full-text of various journals, including the International Journal of Market Research, the Journal of Advertising Research, the International Journal of Advertising, Admap, the Journal of Advertising History and Market Leader. [more]
World Development Indicators Online
Also Known as WDI
WDI provides a comprehensive selection of economic, social and environmental indicators, drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partner agencies. The database covers 209 economies with data back to 1965. The database covers more than 900 indicators for 209 economies. Results can be downloaded into: excel; csv; xml; sdmx formats as well as API format. Free access provided by World Bank. [more]
World Health Organization Library Database (WHOLIS)
Indexes all World Health Organization publications from 1948 to date, plus articles from WHO-produced journals and technical documents since 1985. [more]
World Newspaper Archive - African Newspapers
This collection provides access to more than 40 fully searchable African newspapers. It features titles published in Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda, and Zimbabwe. Languages include English, German, French, Portuguese, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Sotho, and others. [more]
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
International in scope, The World Shakespeare Bibliography Online covers Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide between 1961 and 2008. Publications range from 1961 to 2008. [more]
WorldCat
Also Known as WorldCat OCLC Catalog; world catWorldCat OCLC Catalog; OCLC/WorldCat
WorldCat is the OCLC Online Union Catalog containing over 95 million records catalogued by OCLC member libraries covering books and other materials held in libraries worldwide. [more]
WorldCat Dissertations is a database of all dissertations and theses listed in WorldCat. [more]
WorldCat.org
Also Known as WorldCat; worldcat
A free to use index of a wide variety of resources, and the tools to help find which libraries hold them. [more]
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in Political Science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. [more]
,
DATABASES BY SUBJECT
- Accounting
- Aging Studies
- Agricultural Economics
- Agriculture
- Agronomy
- Animal Sciences
- Anthropology
- Archaeology
- Architecture
- Art & Art History
- Atmospheric Sciences
- Biochemistry
- Biological Engineering
- Biology
- Black Studies
- Business
- Chemistry
- Children's Literature
- Classical Art & Archaeology
- Classics
- Communication
- Company Information
- Computer Science
- Curriculum & Instruction
- Data Sets
- Economics
- Education
- Engineering (general)
- Engineering, Chemical
- Engineering, Civil
- Engineering, Electrical & Computer
- Engineering, Environmental
- Engineering, Geological & Geotechnical
- Engineering, Industrial & Manufacturing Systems
- Engineering, Mechanical & Aerospace
- Engineering, Nuclear Science
- Entomology
- Entrepreneurship and Small Business
- Environmental Science
- Exercise physiology
- Film Studies
- Finance
- Fisheries
- Food Science & Nutrition
- Forestry
- Genetics
- Geography
- Geology
- Historical Newspapers
- History (general)
- History, 19th Century U.S.
- History, U.S. (recent)
- History of the British Empire
- Hospitality
- Industry Information
- International/Foreign Countries
- Journalism: General Databases
- Language and Literature, English
- Language and Literature, French
- Language and Literature, German
- Language and Literature, Italian
- Language and Literature, Portuguese
- Language and Literature, Russian
- Language and Literature, Spanish
- Languages and Linguistics
- Law
- Library Science
- Management
- Marketing
- Materials Science
- Mathematics
- Medicine
- Music
- Natural Resources
- Nursing
- Nutrition
- Occupational Therapy
- Parks, Recreation & Tourism
- Pharmacology
- Philosophy
- Physical Education
- Physical Therapy
- Physics
- Plant Sciences
- Political Science
- Psychology
- Public Policy
- Religious Studies
- Science (general)
- Social Work
- Sociology
- Soil Science
- Sports and Sport Venue Management
- Statistics
- Textile and Apparel Management
- Theatre
- Transportation
- Veterinary Medicine
- Wildlife
- Wine
- Women & Gender Studies
DATABASES BY TYPE
Resources grouped by type or format of information that they provide (e.g. primary sources, images)
- Audio
- Biographies
- Book Chapters
- Book Reviews
- Books
- Catalogs
- Chemical Substances
- Cited References
- Company Information
- Conference Proceedings
- Dictionaries and Thesauri
- Directories
- Disease Information
- Dissertations and Theses
- Drug Information
- Encyclopedias
- Government Documents
- Grants
- Guidelines/Critical Pathways
- Handbooks and Manuals
TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH
General and Multidisciplinary Databases
The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.
- Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
- Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals
- Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
- Find out who's citing particular articles
- Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
- Does not include the last five years of issues
- Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
- Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more
- Search for scholarly articles, books and theses
Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks
Current and Controversial Issues
Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies
|
News and Newspapers
- Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
- Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
- 1980's to date
- Company business and financial information
- Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
- 1980's to date
- Full-text newspapers and trade journals
- Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
- 1980's to date
Proquest Historical Newspapers
- Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
- Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times
Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources
- Create citations in APA and MLA format: Citation Builder
- Manage your references and automatically create bibliographies and in-text citations.
TRIAL DATABASES
The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.
ASME Standards - Trial
Also Known as American Society of Mechanical Engineers Standards
Contains full-text access to all active American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) standards, including the Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (BPVC). These codes and standards cover a breadth of topics, including pressure technology, nuclear plants, elevators/escalators, construction, engineering design, standardization, and performance testing. Trial ends June 1st, 2024. [more]
Please give feedback for the trial.
Please give feedback for the trial.
Conditions of Use
Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources.
You MUST
- Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
- Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
- Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration
- Comply with all applicable laws concerning copyright and intellectual property
You MUST NOT
- Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
- Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources