Databases

X

 

Databases A-Z

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the stackedlogo-bg-verysmall icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Results for: X

No results found

 

Databases by Subject

DATABASES BY SUBJECT

Databases by Type

Try First: Resources for Research

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

Research databases
  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar  
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks


Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri  
  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date
  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

 

Trial Databases

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

Brill’s Medieval Reference Library Online – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Brill’s Medieval Reference Library Online consists of four reference resources. Brill’s Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages covers European medieval history from c.500-c.1500 over a broad range of topics. The Encyclopedia of Medieval Dress and Textiles provides articles on medieval dress and textiles of the British Isles c. 450-1450. The Encyclopedia of Medieval Pilgrimage deals with the role of travel in medieval religious life and covers the period from c.300-c.1500. Finally, The Encyclopedia of the Medieval Chronicle presents the latest research into the chronicles written and studied in the Middle Ages. Trial ends April 6, 2017. [more]



Europa Sacra – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
The most comprehensive tool for researching ecclesiastical figures in the Middle Ages. Entries provide basic biographical information on the individual person. Publication is in Latin. Trial ends and includes April 5th, 2017. [more]



Lexikon des Mittelalters & International Encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
This database combines the contents of two prominent research tools covering the Middle Ages. The Lexikon des Mittelalters is a German publication from 1977-1999. Its geographical scope covers the whole of Europe, part of the Middle East, and parts of North Africa to document the roots of Western culture and those of its neighbours in the Byzantine, Arab and Jewish worlds. The International Encyclopedia for the Middle Ages is a new supplement that covers gaps in the Lexikon des Mittelalters. Trial ends and includes April 5th, 2017. [more]



 

 

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher’s license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources.

You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration
  • Comply with all applicable laws concerning copyright and intellectual property

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources
Research databases