Databases

D

 

Databases A-Z

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the stackedlogo-bg-verysmall icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Results for: D

Daniel Boone Regional Library CatalogAnyone can use
Search library materials in the public libraries in Columbia, Fulton, and Ashland. Those with borrowers cards can place holds and renew material online. [more]



DARE – Database of Abstracts of Reviews of EffectivenessRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
DARE provides access to systematic research reviews of the effectiveness of health care interventions in the areas of diagnosis, prevention, rehabilitation, screening and treatment. This database is fully integrated with MEDLINE. Limit MEDLINE results to articles chosen for DARE reviews by checking the box labelled “Article Reviews (DARE)”. File closed as of December 2014 – no plans to add new material. [more]



DART Developmental and Reproductive ToxicologyAnyone can use
Contains over 37,000 references to literature on agents that may cause birth defects. For references prior to 1989, search ETICBACK. [more]



Dartmouth AtlasAnyone can use
The Dartmouth Atlas Project is run by the Center for Evaluative Clinical Sciences at Dartmouth Medical School. It’s goal is to “accurately describe how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States.” Using information compiled by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the data covers hospitalizations of people aged 65 to 99 in the traditional Medicare system who are free to select any participating physician or hospital. Data is available from 1994-2003. [more]



Data Citation IndexRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Data Citation Index indexes data sets from selected repositories around the world, and also enables the user to find data sets which cite a particular work. [more]



Data Sets for Quantitative ResearchAnyone can use
Also Known as: Data Archives; Data Library; Data Services; Research Data Directory; Data and Statistical Services; Statistical Datasets; Research Data Management

[more]



Data-Planet Statistical Data SetsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: ProQuest Statistical Datasets; Pro quest; ProQuest Statistical Data Sets; Data Planet; DataPlanet

Provides data visualization for more than 500 datasets from government and private industry, both domestic and international. Emphasis is in 20th century U.S. economic data and includes diverse subjects such as health, politics, demographics, social services and environmental data. Time spans vary by topic. Charting, plotting and mapping options available. Export data into MS Excel, XML, PDF, or into shape files for GIS. [more]



DbGaP Genotype and PhenotypeAnyone can use
Archives and distributes data from genome wide association (GWA) studies. GWA studies explore the association between specific genes (genotype information) and observable traits, such as blood pressure and weight, or the presence or absence of a disease or condition (phenotype information). Connecting phenotype and genotype data provides information about the genes that may be involved in a disease process or condition, which can be critical for better understanding the disease and for developing new diagnostic methods and treatments. From NCBI. [more]



Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) – Public Technical Reports CollectionAnyone can use
DTIC Online searches publicly accessible information sources. It includes report citations and many full-text reports. [more]



Department of Defense Biomedical Research DatabaseAnyone can use
Indexes Department of Defense funded research, testing and training programs in infectious diseases, biohazards, toxicology, medical chemical defense and related topics. [more]



Derwent Innovations IndexRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Provides worldwide patent information and can be searched by text or chemical structures. [more]



dialnetAnyone can use
Dialnet searches for articles, books, and theses in all subject areas. It provides access to some articles in full text. [more]



Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: DARE

The Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE) is viewed as the American equivalent of the Oxford English Dictionary, documenting regional American vocabulary. The online edition allows users to browse by region, create their own maps based on DARE survey data, listen to audio clips, and search within definitions, etymologies, usage and regional labels. [more]



Dictionary of Old English CorpusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Dictionary of Old English Corpus is a complete record of surviving old English except for some variant manuscripts of individual texts. [more]



Dietary Supplements Labels DatabaseAnyone can use
This database contains information on the ingredients of over 2,000 brands of dietary supplements sold in the U.S. and is designed to help not only researchers, but the large audience of supplement consumers as well. [more]



Digital National Security ArchiveRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
The Digital National Security Archive is a comprehensive collection of significant primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. The Archive is organized into dozens of topical collections, each containing government documents declassified under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). [more]



DigiZeitschriftenAnyone can use
Also Known as: Das Deutsche Digitale Zeitschriftenarchiv

[more]



Distribution Maps of Plant DiseasesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
The authoritative source for accurate data on the worldwide distribution of plant diseases of economic or quarantine importance. Access to these maps is also available through the database CABDirect. [more]



DOE Information BridgeAnyone can use
DOE Scientific and Technical Information provides free public access to full-text documents and bibliographic citations of Department of Energy (DOE) research report literature. Documents are primarily from 1991 forward and were produced by DOE, the DOE contractor community, and/or DOE grantees. Contains documents and citations in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics of interest related to DOE’s mission. [more]



DRUGDEX SystemAvailable only from within the Health Sciences Library.
Drug information gathered and reviewed by Micromedex. Information provided includes dosing, pharmacokinetics, clinical applications and comparative drug efficacy. To search, enter the Micromedex system and click on box next to DrugDex System. Only accessible at University of Missouri Health Care facilities. [more]



DyabolaRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Dyabola is an index to classical archaeology. It is an electronic version of Archaologische Bibliographe. Coverage is 1956 to date. [more]



 

Databases by Subject

DATABASES BY SUBJECT

Databases by Type

Try First: Resources for Research

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

Research databases
  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar  
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks


Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri  
  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date
  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

 

Trial Databases

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

Brill’s Medieval Reference Library Online – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Brill’s Medieval Reference Library Online consists of four reference resources. Brill’s Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages covers European medieval history from c.500-c.1500 over a broad range of topics. The Encyclopedia of Medieval Dress and Textiles provides articles on medieval dress and textiles of the British Isles c. 450-1450. The Encyclopedia of Medieval Pilgrimage deals with the role of travel in medieval religious life and covers the period from c.300-c.1500. Finally, The Encyclopedia of the Medieval Chronicle presents the latest research into the chronicles written and studied in the Middle Ages. Trial ends April 6, 2017. [more]



Europa Sacra – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
The most comprehensive tool for researching ecclesiastical figures in the Middle Ages. Entries provide basic biographical information on the individual person. Publication is in Latin. Trial ends and includes April 5th, 2017. [more]



Lexikon des Mittelalters & International Encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
This database combines the contents of two prominent research tools covering the Middle Ages. The Lexikon des Mittelalters is a German publication from 1977-1999. Its geographical scope covers the whole of Europe, part of the Middle East, and parts of North Africa to document the roots of Western culture and those of its neighbours in the Byzantine, Arab and Jewish worlds. The International Encyclopedia for the Middle Ages is a new supplement that covers gaps in the Lexikon des Mittelalters. Trial ends and includes April 5th, 2017. [more]



 

 

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher’s license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources.

You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration
  • Comply with all applicable laws concerning copyright and intellectual property

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources
Research databases