Databases
Databases A-ZDatabases by SubjectDatabases by TypeTry First: Resources for ResearchTrial Databases
SEARCH FOR A DATABASE
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the
icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.
Results for: G
Gabbard's Treatments of Psychiatric Disorders
This eBook is a compilation of the opinions of 157 medical experts on the treatment of psychiatric disorders. This 5th edition focuses on updating the opinions based on the updates to the DSM, that occurred during the transition to DSM-5. The primary editor for this text is Glen O. Gabbard M.D. [more]
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Also Known as American Decades; galegroup; gale group; gvrl; Gale; Gale's; Gales'; Gales
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. [more]
GenderWatch
Also Known as gender watch
GenderWatch is a database of periodicals and newsletters that focus on women and women's issues. [more]
GENE-TOX Genetic Toxicology Data Bank
GENE-TOX provides genetic toxicology (mutagenicity) test data from expert peer review of open scientific literature for more than 3,000 chemicals from the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). GENE-TOX was established to select assay systems for evaluation, review data in the scientific literature, and recommend proper testing protocols and evaluation procedures for these systems. [more]
GeneTests
Also Known as gene tests
A NIH-funded clinical information resource relating genetic testing to the diagnosis,
management, and genetic counseling of individuals and families with specific inherited disorders. From the University of Washington - Seattle. Also available as part of the NCBI Bookshelf. [more]
A collection of databases relevant to the study of genetics. This resource contains a mixture of resources available only to MU affiliates and the general public. [more]
Genetics home Reference: Your Guide to Understanding Genetic Conditions
The National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes responsible for those conditions [more]
A collection of databases relevant to the study of geography. The majority of the databases in this resource are only available to MU affiliates. [more]
A collection of databases relevant to the study of geology. This resource contains a mixture of resources available only to MU affiliates and the general public. [more]
GEOREF
Also Known as American Geological Institute Database; geology; AGI Database; Geo Ref
The GeoRef database, established by the American Geological Institute in 1966, provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. The database contains over 2.9 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. [more]
GeoScienceWorld
Also Known as GSW; Geoscience World; geoscience; Geo Science World
GeoScienceWorld is a comprehensive Internet resource for research and communications in the geosciences, built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked and inter-operable with GeoRef. [more]
German Language and Literature Databases
Also Known as Language and Literature, German
A collection of databases relevant to the study of German language and literature . This resource contains a mixture of resources available only to MU affiliates and the general public. [more]
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full- text format.
[more]
Google Book Search
Also Known as Google books; googlebooks; googlebook; google book
Google Books contains the full text of books and magazines provided by libraries and publishers. Materials that are out of copyright (generally pre-1925) can be viewed online. For more recent books, Google Book Search functions as a detailed index. Books identified may be available at MU, via MOBIUS, or may be requested through ILL@MU. [more]
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Please see Google Scholar & Findit@MU for instructions on adding Findit@MU links to your Google Scholar page. [more]
Google Scholar Instructions are provided for setting up Findit@MU in your Google Scholar search. This will enable you to link from your Google search results to the full-text resources provided by the MU Libraries. [more]
Government of Canada Publications
Government of Canada Publications is the principle database for finding publications of the Canadian federal government. Includes links to full-text when available. [more]
govinfo
Also Known as FDsys; fedsys
Created by the Government Publishing Office, govinfo is the next iteration of FDsys. Its collections pertain to key documentation and records related to the functioning of the United States Government. Example include: Budget of the United States, Congressional Bills, Congressional Documents, Hearing, Senate Manual, Court Opinions, Supreme Court Decisions, Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States and more. Content organization and format file may vary. FDsys will be officially retired in December 2018, and fully replaced with govinfo. [more]
Free EBSCO database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment; Information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Includes Scholarly and general interest titles. [more]
Grey Literature Report - New York Academy of Medicine Library
Also Known as nyam grey literature; gray literature
Locate health policy documents from various health policy stakeholders, such as the Kaiser Foundation, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the RAND Corporation, the Guttmacher Institute, the World Health Organization, and many more. Compiled by the library of the New York Academy of Medicine. Bimonthly updates available. [more]
,
DATABASES BY SUBJECT
- Accounting
- Aging Studies
- Agricultural Economics
- Agriculture
- Agronomy
- Animal Sciences
- Anthropology
- Archaeology
- Architecture
- Art & Art History
- Atmospheric Sciences
- Biochemistry
- Biological Engineering
- Biology
- Black Studies
- Business
- Chemistry
- Children's Literature
- Classical Art & Archaeology
- Classics
- Communication
- Company Information
- Computer Science
- Curriculum & Instruction
- Data Sets
- Economics
- Education
- Engineering (general)
- Engineering, Chemical
- Engineering, Civil
- Engineering, Electrical & Computer
- Engineering, Environmental
- Engineering, Geological & Geotechnical
- Engineering, Industrial & Manufacturing Systems
- Engineering, Mechanical & Aerospace
- Engineering, Nuclear Science
- Entomology
- Entrepreneurship and Small Business
- Environmental Science
- Exercise physiology
- Film Studies
- Finance
- Fisheries
- Food Science & Nutrition
- Forestry
- Genetics
- Geography
- Geology
- Historical Newspapers
- History (general)
- History, 19th Century U.S.
- History, U.S. (recent)
- History of the British Empire
- Hospitality
- Industry Information
- International/Foreign Countries
- Journalism: General Databases
- Language and Literature, English
- Language and Literature, French
- Language and Literature, German
- Language and Literature, Italian
- Language and Literature, Portuguese
- Language and Literature, Russian
- Language and Literature, Spanish
- Languages and Linguistics
- Law
- Library Science
- Management
- Marketing
- Materials Science
- Mathematics
- Medicine
- Music
- Natural Resources
- Nursing
- Nutrition
- Occupational Therapy
- Parks, Recreation & Tourism
- Pharmacology
- Philosophy
- Physical Education
- Physical Therapy
- Physics
- Plant Sciences
- Political Science
- Psychology
- Public Policy
- Religious Studies
- Science (general)
- Social Work
- Sociology
- Soil Science
- Sports and Sport Venue Management
- Statistics
- Textile and Apparel Management
- Theatre
- Transportation
- Veterinary Medicine
- Wildlife
- Wine
- Women & Gender Studies
DATABASES BY TYPE
Resources grouped by type or format of information that they provide (e.g. primary sources, images)
- Audio
- Biographies
- Book Chapters
- Book Reviews
- Books
- Catalogs
- Chemical Substances
- Cited References
- Company Information
- Conference Proceedings
- Dictionaries and Thesauri
- Directories
- Disease Information
- Dissertations and Theses
- Drug Information
- Encyclopedias
- Government Documents
- Grants
- Guidelines/Critical Pathways
- Handbooks and Manuals
TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH
General and Multidisciplinary Databases
The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.
- Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
- Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals
- Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
- Find out who's citing particular articles
- Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
- Does not include the last five years of issues
- Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
- Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more
- Search for scholarly articles, books and theses
Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks
Current and Controversial Issues
Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies
|
News and Newspapers
- Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
- Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
- 1980's to date
- Company business and financial information
- Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
- 1980's to date
- Full-text newspapers and trade journals
- Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
- 1980's to date
Proquest Historical Newspapers
- Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
- Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times
Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources
- Create citations in APA and MLA format: Citation Builder
- Manage your references and automatically create bibliographies and in-text citations.
TRIAL DATABASES
The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.
ASME Standards - Trial
Also Known as American Society of Mechanical Engineers Standards
Contains full-text access to all active American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) standards, including the Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (BPVC). These codes and standards cover a breadth of topics, including pressure technology, nuclear plants, elevators/escalators, construction, engineering design, standardization, and performance testing. Trial ends June 1st, 2024. [more]
Please give feedback for the trial.
Please give feedback for the trial.
Conditions of Use
Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources.
You MUST
- Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
- Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
- Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration
- Comply with all applicable laws concerning copyright and intellectual property
You MUST NOT
- Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
- Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources