Databases


Databases A-Z

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Results for: C

C19: The Nineteenth Century IndexRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
C19 Index provides access to nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. [more]



CABDirectRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: CAB Abstracts; CABI

Coverage includes plant and animal sciences, forestry, human health and nutrition, veterinary medicine, agricultural biotechnology economics and engineering, rural sociology, recreation, tourism, and leisure. Includes access to CAB Archives. [more]



Cabell’s Business, Computer Science and Education DirectoriesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Cabell’s Business College Set (covers accounting, economics, finance, management, and marketing), Cabell’s Computer Science and Business Information,and Cabell’s Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Education,, provide information on publication guidelines, type of review, number of external reviews, acceptance rates, ISSN, submission process, and more for over 2,700 journals. We do not have access to any of the blacklist journals. [more]



CAMIORestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Catalog of Art Museum Images Online

CAMIO offers art images that are rights-cleared for educational use. There are about 95,000 art images-photographs, paintings, sculpture, decorative and utilitarian objects, prints, drawings and watercolors, jewelry and costumes, textiles and architecture- plus audio, video and mixed media. [more]



Canadian Medical Association CPG InfobaseAnyone can use

Over 300 Clinical Practice Guidelines designed to help physicians and patients make appropriate health care decisions in specific clinical circumstances. They have been developed or reviewed with a five-year rolling date, and produced or endorsed in Canada by a national, provincial or territorial medical or health organization, professional society, government agency or expert panel. [more]



Catalog of U.S. Government PublicationsAnyone can use
Also Known as: CGP

The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications is the primary catalog for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. [more]



CCRIS- Chemical Carcinogenesis Research InformationRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A scientifically evaluated and fully referenced databank developed and maintained by the National Cancer Institute (NCI). It contains carcinogenicity, tumor promotion, and utagenicity test results on over 7000 chemical compounds. To search, select CCRIS from the drop down search menu. [more]



CenterWatch Clinical TrialsAnyone can use

An international listing of over 80,000 active clinical trials. Search the database by therapeutic area, disease or geographic location. Also contains information on new drugs and devices approved by the FDA and the Department of Health and Human Services. [more]



CHEMIDAnyone can use

Chemical dictionary file for over 339,000 compounds of biomedical and regulatory interest. Includes chemical property and toxicity information. File locators lead users to additional information on other files such as HSDB, RTECS, TOXNET, and TOXLINE. In addition, SUPERLIST provides names and other data used to describe chemicals on over 30 key federal and state regulatory lists. Chemical structure searching is also supported. [more]



Chemistry DatabasesAnyone can use

A collection of databases relevant to chemistry. This collection contains a mixture of freely available resources and those available only to MU affiliates. [more]



Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersAnyone can use

Chronicling America provides a directory listing American newspapers published from 1690 to the present and identifying libraries that hold these papers. Images of some newspaper pages from 1890 to 1910 are available as a prototype of the National Digital Newspaper Project, which will eventually provide digital access to significant newspapers from 1836 to 1922. [more]



CINAHL (Ebsco)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Provides comprehensive coverage of the English language journal literature related to nursing and the allied health disciplines, from 1982 to the present. Material from over 650 journals are included in CINAHL, covering both the nursing literature and the allied health fields such as: Cardiopulmonary Technology, Emergency Services, Health Education, Med/Lab Technology, Medical Assistance, Medical Records, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Radiologic Technology, Respiratory Therapy, Social Science, Surgical Technology, and the Physician’s Assistant. Searches can be limited to research articles, nursing journals, etc. [more]



Citation Classics from the Institute of Scientific InformationAnyone can use

Authors of highly cited papers offer personal reflections on their research: how the project was initiated, obstacles encountered, and reflections on their success. Search for a specific article/author, or browse by date. A compilation of columns which originally appeared in Current Contents from 1977-1993. [more]



Clase and PeriodicaRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Index of 2,600 Latin American journals published in Spanish, Portuguese, French and English language and covering sciences, social sciences and humanities. Contains information from articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports, interviews and brief notes published in journals edited in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as from publications that focus on Pan-American issues. [more]



Classics DatabasesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A collection of databases relevant to the study of the classics These databases are available only to MU affiliates. [more]



ClinicalKeyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: MDconsult ; md consult ; firstconsult ; first consult ; procedures consult ; clinical key

Contains all the of the content formerly found in MDConsult, plus: Over 1000 additional clinical books; Instructional videos for over 300 procedures, including Lumbar puncture, central line insertion, splinting, and much more; Concise, point-of-care information (formerly known as FirstConsult). [more]



ClinicalTrials.govAnyone can use

A Sponsored by NIH and the National Library of Medicine, this site allows patients and health care providers to search for clinical trials by name of trial location, disease or condition, age group and treatment. [more]



Cochrane Clinical AnswersRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCA) is part of Ovid’s Evidence Based Medicine Reviews collection, and are readable, digestible, clinically focus entry points to rigorous research from Cochrane systematic reviews. Each Cochrane Clinical Answer contains a clinical question, a short answer, and an opportunity to ‘drill down’ to the evidence from relevant Cochrane reviews. [more]



Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (EBM Reviews)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Cochrane

EBM Reviews — Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews includes the full-text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types: includes both completed reviews and protocols for reviews in progress. [more]



Cochrane Methodology RegisterRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

With over 9000 references, the register aims to include all published reports of empirical methodological studies to support the work of the Cochrane review groups as they conduct systematic reviews of healthcare interventions. [more]



Communication and Mass Media CompleteRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Communication and Mass Media Complete offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 620 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 820 titles, 500 of which are full text. [more]



Communication DatabasesAnyone can use

A collection of databases relevant to the study of communication. The majority of these databases are only available to MU affiliates. [more]



Company Information DatabasesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A collection of databases relevant to the collection of company information. These databases are available only to MU affiliates [more]



CompludocAnyone can use

Produced by the University Complutense Madrid, this database searches over 4000 journals in all subject areas. The database’s primary language is in Spanish. [more]



Computer Science DatabasesAnyone can use

A collection of databases relevant to computer science. This collection contains a mixture of freely available resources and those available only to MU affiliates. [more]



Consultant: A Diagnostic Support System for Veterinary MedicineAnyone can use

Produced by Cornell University, College of Veterinary Medicine. Search by signs or disease. Provides brief synopses of diseases including general description; verterinary species affected; associated signs and symptoms. Includes references to articles and web sites on the clinical aspects of the disease. [more]



Consumer Health CompleteRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Consumer Health Complete is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. It includes the Clinical Reference System (including McKesson’s Health Advisor series), and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs. Access provided by MOREnet. [more]



Consumer Health DatabasesAnyone can use

A collection of database relevant to the study of consumer health. This collection contains a mixture of freely available resources and those available only to MU affiliates [more]



CQ AlmanacRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

This resource is designed to help patrons study the United States Congress. It provides information on the full year of Congress and its national politics since 1945. It also contains information on the people, elections, legislation and controversies of the U.S Congress, the roll call votes for all major legislation, and an analysis of the key issues in a given year. [more]



CQ ResearcherRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

CQ Researcher is a resource for in-depth, analytical reporting on current and controversial issues. Focusing on one topic, each weekly CQ Researcher provides extensive background information and discussion of the pro’s and con’s. [more]



CQ WeeklyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

CQ Weekly provides the CQ Weekly Congressional Quarterly’s magazine on government, commerce and politics. Contains information on the U.S. Congress, including status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering. [more]



CRC Handbook of Chemistry and PhysicsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is a major source of chemical and physical property data. It includes information on elements, inorganic compounds, organic compounds, physical constants, units and conversion factors, symbols, and nomenclature. [more]



CSH ProtocolsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A searchable, interactive collection of over 700 laboratory protocols, methods, and kits outlining new and classic research techniques in molecular and cellular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. New submissions are welcomed. From the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratories. [more]



Current Contents ConnectRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Current Contents Connect is a current awareness database that provides easy access to complete tables of contents, abstracts, bibliographic information, and abstracts from the most recently published issues of leading scholarly journals, as well as from more than 7,000 relevant, evaluated websites. [more]



Current Index to StatisticsAnyone can use

Current Index to Statistics is a bibliographic index to publications in statistics and related fields. [more]



Current Research@MURestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Dissertations@MU

Current Research@MU indexes MU dissertations from 1899 to present. Provides full-text of MU dissertations from 1995 to present. Print copies of pre-1995 MU dissertations are held at the UM Depository and can be requested using MERLIN. [more]



Databases by Subject

DATABASES BY SUBJECT

Databases by Type

Try First: Resources for Research

 

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

.choose-db-list{ list-style-type:none;padding:0;margin:10px 0 0 0;font-family:Verdana,Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif;font-size:9pt;width:340px; }
.choose-db-check{ width:20px;float:left;padding-left:5px;padding-top:5px; }
.choose-db-detail{ margin-left:30px;border-left:solid 1px #E7E7E7;padding:5px 11px 7px 11px;line-height:1.4em; }
.summary { background-color:#1D5DA7;color:#FFFFFF;border:solid 1px #1D5DA7; }
.one { background-color: #FFFFFF;border:solid 1px #E7E7E7;border-top:solid 1px #FFFFFF; }
.two { background-color: #F5F5F5;border:solid 1px #E7E7E7;border-top:solid 1px #FFFFFF; }
.selected { background-color: #E0EFF7;border:solid 1px #E7E7E7;border-top:solid 1px #FFFFFF; }
#ebscohostCustomSearchBox #disciplineBlock { width:auto; }
#ebscohostCustomSearchBox .limiter { float:left;margin:0;padding:0;width:50%; }

#ebscohostsearchtext { width: 144px; }
#ebscohostsearchtext.edspub { width: 245px; }

.ebscohost-search-button.edspub {
border: 1px solid #156619;
padding: 5px 10px !important;
border-radius: 3px;
color: #fff;http://ejournals.ebsco.com/admin/login.asp
font-weight: bold;
background-color: #156619;
}

.ebscohost-title.edspub {
color: #1c7020;
font-weight: bold;
}

 

Research databases

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar  
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks


Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
 

 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri  
  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date
  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

 

Trial Databases

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

PolicyMap – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: Policy Map

A resource designed to synthesize data sets from various authoritative sources for the purposes of illustrating data based on demographics and the geographic location. This service will automatically create a data graphical map based on the specified data, which can include multiple data sets or “layers” on the same map. Trial ends December 31, 2018. [more]



The Literary Encyclopedia – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]

The Literary Encyclopedia publishes biographies of major and minor writers; scholarly descriptions of all interesting texts written by these authors, including those often neglected; and a variety of descriptive and critical essays on literary, cultural and historical matters, which provide a finer understanding of the social contexts in which this writing was produced. Trial ends December 31, 2018. [more]



Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources.

You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration
  • Comply with all applicable laws concerning copyright and intellectual property

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources
Research databases