Databases


Databases A-Z

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Results for: R

RACO : Revistes Catalanes amb Acces ObertAnyone can use
Also Known as: RACO; Catalan Journals in Open Access

RACO is an open access cooperative repository of full-text articles from scientific, cultural and scholar Catalan journals. Default language is Catalan. [more]



Reader’s Guide Retrospective 1890-1982Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Reader’s Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. [more]



RECOLECTA (Recolector de ciencia abierta)Anyone can use

RECOLECTA is a repository of open access publications from Spanish universities. [more]



Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y El CaribeAnyone can use
Also Known as: Redalyc; Network of Scientific Journals from Latin America and the Caribbean

Redalyc is a directory of Latin American journals covering a wide range of subject areas. It allows full text searching within open access e-journals.Text language in Spanish, Portuguese and English. Default interface language is in Spanish. [more]



RedBooks.comRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: RedBooks Academic Edition; Advertising RedBooks.com

RedBooks provides competitive intelligence and prospecting data on agencies and advertisers. Includes detailed profiles of US and international advertising agencies as well as information and adspend on US and international advertisers, personnel and brands. [more]



Regional Business NewsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Regional Business News provides full-text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canada. Topics include; presidential candidates, franchise restaurants, the retail industry, business planning, political participation and more. [more]



REHABDATAAnyone can use

Literature on physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. Produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center. [more]



Religious Studies DatabasesAnyone can use

A collection of databases relevant to religious studies. This collection contains a mixture of databases available to the general public and those only available to MU affiliates. [more]



REMM – Radiation Emergency Medical ManagementAvailable only from within the Health Sciences Library.
Also Known as: Radiation Event Medical Management

This NIH database assists health care professionals with easy to follow algorithms for diagnosis and management of radiation contamination and exposure. The site provides just-in-time, evidence-based, usable information for those without formal radiation medicine expertise. [more]



Research GuidesAnyone can use

A research guide is a quick way to obtain authoritative and reliable information about a chosen topic. The MU Libraries feature general subject guides as well as course guides which are created at the request of faculty. Our guides are composed of core databases, selected books available from the MU Libraries, and links to relevant websites. [more]



Revues.orgAnyone can use

Revues.org is an open source repository of French journals in the humanities and social sciences. In addition to searching the collection of journals, the site provides background information on each journal listed. Site language options are French and English. [more]



RILMRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: RILM Abstracts of Music Literature

RILM, published by Repertoire International de Literature Musicale, indexes articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, conference proceedings, discographies, dissertations, film, and videos. [more]



Roper Center for Public Opinion Research Dataset SearchRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Roper Center, iPoll, Roper Center for Public Opinion Research

This searchable archive of downloadable social science data specializes in public opinion surveys from news media, commercial polling firms, and academic sources. Time period coverage extends to the 1930s, when public polling was just starting to come into use, up to the present day. The Roper archive includes over 22,000 datasets containing responses from millions of individuals on a vast range of topics. Most of the surveys in the Roper Center were conducted on national population samples, but there are also some state and local surveys, as well as a number of surveys of special populations of interest. Emphasis is on the United States, but over 100 nations are represented. [more]



Royal Society of Chemistry JournalsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Royal Society of Chemistry Journals provides full-text coverage (including archives) of many of the Royal Society of Chemistry journals. [more]



RTECS – Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical SubstancesAnyone can use

Toxic effects data on some 140,000 chemicals. Retrieve data on skin/eye irritation, carcinogenicity, mutagenicity and reproductive consequences on over 140,000 chemicals. From the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH). Formerly available free as part of TOXNET, this file is now only available via fee-based, expert search [more]



Russian Language and Literature DatabasesAnyone can use
Also Known as: Language and Literature, Russian

A collection of resources relevant to the study of the Russian language and literature. This collection features a mixture of resources that are available to the general public and those only available to MU affiliates. [more]



RxNormAnyone can use
Also Known as: RxNAV

RxNorm is a normalized naming system for generic and branded drugs; and a tool for supporting semantic interoperation between drug terminologies and pharmacy knowledge base systems. The National Library of Medicine (NLM) produces RxNorm. [more]



Databases by Subject

DATABASES BY SUBJECT

Databases by Type

Try First: Resources for Research

 

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

.choose-db-list{ list-style-type:none;padding:0;margin:10px 0 0 0;font-family:Verdana,Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif;font-size:9pt;width:340px; }
.choose-db-check{ width:20px;float:left;padding-left:5px;padding-top:5px; }
.choose-db-detail{ margin-left:30px;border-left:solid 1px #E7E7E7;padding:5px 11px 7px 11px;line-height:1.4em; }
.summary { background-color:#1D5DA7;color:#FFFFFF;border:solid 1px #1D5DA7; }
.one { background-color: #FFFFFF;border:solid 1px #E7E7E7;border-top:solid 1px #FFFFFF; }
.two { background-color: #F5F5F5;border:solid 1px #E7E7E7;border-top:solid 1px #FFFFFF; }
.selected { background-color: #E0EFF7;border:solid 1px #E7E7E7;border-top:solid 1px #FFFFFF; }
#ebscohostCustomSearchBox #disciplineBlock { width:auto; }
#ebscohostCustomSearchBox .limiter { float:left;margin:0;padding:0;width:50%; }

#ebscohostsearchtext { width: 144px; }
#ebscohostsearchtext.edspub { width: 245px; }

.ebscohost-search-button.edspub {
border: 1px solid #156619;
padding: 5px 10px !important;
border-radius: 3px;
color: #fff;http://ejournals.ebsco.com/admin/login.asp
font-weight: bold;
background-color: #156619;
}

.ebscohost-title.edspub {
color: #1c7020;
font-weight: bold;
}

 

Research databases

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar  
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks


Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
 

 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri  
  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date
  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

 

Trial Databases

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

PolicyMap – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: Policy Map

A resource designed to synthesize data sets from various authoritative sources for the purposes of illustrating data based on demographics and the geographic location. This service will automatically create a data graphical map based on the specified data, which can include multiple data sets or “layers” on the same map. Trial ends December 31, 2018. [more]



The Literary Encyclopedia – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]

The Literary Encyclopedia publishes biographies of major and minor writers; scholarly descriptions of all interesting texts written by these authors, including those often neglected; and a variety of descriptive and critical essays on literary, cultural and historical matters, which provide a finer understanding of the social contexts in which this writing was produced. Trial ends December 31, 2018. [more]



Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources.

You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration
  • Comply with all applicable laws concerning copyright and intellectual property

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources
Research databases