Databases

Databases A-Z

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the stackedlogo-bg-verysmall icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Results for: O

OAIsterAnyone can use
OAIster is a collection of freely available academically-oriented digital resources. [more]



Occupational Therapy DatabasesAnyone can use



Older Americans : a changing marketRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Provides the latest statistics on the health, living arrangements, incomes, spending, and wealth of the 55-or-older age group. [more]



OLDMEDLINEAnyone can use

Citations from the back volumes of Cumulated Index Medicus prior to 1966; older items are gradually being added. [more]



OMIA: Online Mendelian Inheritance in AnimalsAnyone can use

Database of genes, inherited disorders, and traits in more than 135 animal species other than human and mourse. Produced by University of Sydney. [more]



Online Dissertations: Veterinary MedicineAnyone can use

Access to international Veterinary dissertations. From University of Hanover, Germany. [more]



Online Medieval Sources BibliographyAnyone can use

This database provides a searchable bibliography of texts that were written in the Middle Ages and are now available in printed or online editions and translations. [more]



Ornithological Worldwide LiteratureAnyone can use
Also Known as: Recent Ornithological Literature; ROL; Recent Ornithological Literature Online, ROLO, OWL

Citations and abstracts from the worldwide scientific literature that pertain to the science of ornithology. Includes journals, conference proceedings, reports and doctoral dissertations. Excludes domestic and pet birds. [more]



OrphanetAvailable only from within the Health Sciences Library.

Lists information on orphan drugs in Europe, Japan, Australia, or the United States. Also includes descriptions of rare diseases, including current research projects. A diagnostic tool for 2300 dysmorphic syndromes allows searching by clinical findings. Maintained by a consortium of European partners. [more]



OT CATS: Occupational Therapy Critically Appraised TopicsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Each CAT represents an attempt to marshal the available research evidence on occupational therapy interventions. CATS, or Critically Appraised Topics, are shorter and less rigorous versions of systematic reviews which have not undergone peer review. From the University of Western Sydney, New South Wales. [more]



OTSeekerRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Search for randomized controlled trials and systematic reviews relevant to occupational therapy. Studies are ranked using the same PEDro scale used in the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. [more]



OVID DatabasesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Gateway to OVID databases such as MEDLINE, EBM Reviews, etc. [more]



OVID TrainingAnyone can use

OVID Training is library training access to OVID databases. To be used only for library instruction sessions. [more]



OvidSP Medical SearchRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Type in a question or topic to see the most relevant results in MEDLINE, Evidence-Based Medicine Reviews, and Journals@Ovid. [more]



Oxford Art OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Oxford Art Online includes Grove Art Online, Oxford companion to Western art, Concise Oxford dictionary of art terms, and Encyclopedia of aesthetics. Grove Art Online provides access to over 45,000 signed articles, 21,000 biographies, and 5000 searchable and embedded images. [more]



Oxford Dictionary of IslamRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri



Oxford Dictionary of National BiographyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: ODNB

The ODNB provides concise, illustrated biographies of over 57,000 people associated with the British Isles, from the 4th century BC to the 21st century. This is the first place to go for British biographical information and bibliographies of additional biographical sources. It is updated 3 times each year. Our subscription allows one user at a time. The print version is available in the Ellis Library reference section at DA28 .O95 2004. The original 19th century edition is freely available online through the Hathi Trust Digital Library at http://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/001598808. [more]



Oxford Dictionary of NursingRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri



Oxford English Dictionary OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: OED

Contains etymologies, definitions and usage of English worldwide, from 1150 to the present. [more]



Oxford Reference Online PremiumRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Oxford Reference Online Premium is a searchable database of over 100 reference works covering history, literature, art, religion, philosophy, law, science and many other areas. [more]



Oxford University Press JournalsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: OUP

over 230 academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas, two-thirds of which are published in collaboration with learned societies and other international organizations [more]



Databases by Subject

DATABASES BY SUBJECT

Databases by Type

Try First: Resources for Research

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

Research databases
  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar  
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks


Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri  
  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date
  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

 

Trial Databases

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

African American Biographical Database – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]

The African-American Biographical Database (AABD) brings together biographies, rare books, and historical information on thousands of African-Americans. Trial ends October 19, 2018. [more]



African American Periodicals 1825-1995 – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations’ bulletins, annual reports and other genres. Trial ends October 18, 2018. [more]



Black Studies Center – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]

Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable database, including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more. It combines essential resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975. Trial ends October 19, 2018. [more]



IBISWorld – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: IBIS World

Global Industry Reports includes 75 Global Industry Reports that offer up-to-date forecasts on industry performance in key regions like Europe, Asia, the Middle East and more. State Industry Reports offer forecasts and analysis of a multitude of industries in 16 states. Note: Missouri isn’t one of the states covered. Trial ends November 16, 2018. [more]



Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher’s license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources.

You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration
  • Comply with all applicable laws concerning copyright and intellectual property

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources
Research databases