Databases

 

Databases A-Z

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the stackedlogo-bg-verysmall icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

 

Databases by Subject

DATABASES BY SUBJECT

Databases by Type



Return to Databases by Type menu

Resources by Type: Technical Reports

Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) – Public Technical Reports CollectionAnyone can use
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) - Public Technical Reports CollectionDTIC Online searches publicly accessible information sources. It includes report citations and many full-text reports. [more]



NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)Anyone can use
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)NTRS provides access to approximately 500K aerospace related citations, 90K full-text online documents, and 111K images and videos. The type of information found in NTRS include: conference papers, images, journal articles, photos, meeting papers, movies, patents, research reports, and technical videos. [more]



PILOTS – Published International Literature on Traumatic StressAnyone can use
PILOTS - Published International Literature on Traumatic StressIndexes world literature on traumatic stress disorder. Although it’s created/maintained by the US Department of Veterans Affairs, it covers all types of traumatic stress, not just post-combat stress syndromes. [more]



Science AcceleratorAnyone can use
Science AcceleratorThe Science Accelerator searches simultaneously across key Department of Energy resources, including the OSTI full-text DOE Information Bridge (1991), the E-Print Network, the EnergyFiles, and DOE Patents. Provided by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information. [more]



SciTech ConnectAnyone can use
Also Known as: Information Bridge; Energy Citations Database

SciTech ConnectDatabase of free, publicly-available DOE-sponsored R&D results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data information. SciTech Connect is a consolidation of two core DOE search engines, the Information Bridge and the Energy Citations Database. [more]



Grey Literature Report – New York Academy of Medicine LibraryAnyone can use
Also Known as: nyam grey literature

Grey Literature Report  - New York Academy of Medicine LibraryLocate health policy documents from various health policy stakeholders, such as the Kaiser Foundation, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the RAND Corporation, the Guttmacher Institute, the World Health Organization, and many more. Compiled by the library of the New York Academy of Medicine. Bimonthly updates available. [more]



PsycINFORestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Psychological Abstracts

PsycINFOLocate articles in articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. From the American Psychological Association. Includes a feature to suggest productive search terms to guide users to relevant results. [more]



DATABASES BY TYPE

Resources grouped by type or format of information that they provide (e.g. primary sources, images)

Try First: Resources for Research

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar  
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks


Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri  
  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Press Display Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • 2200 newspapers from 97 countries
  • original format and layout
  • last 60 days only

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date

LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

  • Create citations in APA and MLA format: Citation Builder
  • Manage your references and automatically create bibliographies and in-text citations.

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

 

Trial Databases

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice - TrialThis resource provides access to many thousands of original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings and maps in high quality greyscale and colour. All printed items are fully text-searchable and manuscripts have document-level indexing. Themes covered include: Slavery in the Early Americas, African Coast, Middle Passage, Slavery and Agriculture, Urban and Domestic Slavery, Slave Testimony, Spiritualism and Religion, Resistance and Revolts, Underground Railroad, The Abolition Movement and the Slavery Debate, Legislation and Politics, Freed Slaves, Freedmen and Free Black Settlements, Education, Slavery and the Islamic World, Varieties of Slave Experience and The Legacy of Slavery and Slavery Today. PDF download options are not available during trials. Trial ends August 12, 2015. [more]



 

 

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher’s license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources.

You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration
You MUST NOT
  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources