HSL Find Electronic Resources

Find Electronic Resources

Search by resource title and/or subject:
Resource Title:
(Optional)

Subject
Material Type

Databases for Articles

Databases are collections of journal articles. Many of these databases will give you the full text of an article. Mizzou purchases the databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon through subscriptions and access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Missouri. Resources with the Available only from within the Health Sciences Library. icon are only aviable from with the Health Sciences Library.

Web of Science Core CollectionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: WoS

This collection indexes thousands of scholarly journals, books, reports, conferences and more. Citation information and analysis with cited reference searching available. The collection includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Social Sciences Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present) and Index Chemicus (1993-present). [more]


Wildlife and Ecology Studies WorldwideRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide indexes literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. All aspects of wildlife and wildlife management are covered. [more]


WIPO World Intelllectual Property Organization PCT Patents DatabaseAnyone can use

Part of the WIPO Intellectual Property Digital Library. Search and retrieve fulltext for WIPO PCT patent applications published as PCT pamphlets since January 1997, and where applicable, republished since April 1998. Bibliographic data, abstracts, drawings and images of PCT pamphlets are provided for all published and republished international applications in the collection. To search the entire collection rather than only the current week, be sure and select ALL weeks To retrieve a patent by number, search the PUBLICATION NUMBER (e.g. WO 2004/019554). search only the number with punctuation and spaces removed (e.g. 2004019954). [more]


Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders (WISER)Anyone can use
Also Known as: webwiser ; WISER

Designed to assist first responders in hazardous material incidents, WISER provides a wide range of information on hazardous substances, including substance identification support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression advice. Contains information on 390 of the substances included in the HSDB Hazardous Substances Databank. [more]


World Health Organization Library Database (WHOLIS)Anyone can use

Indexes all World Health Organization publications from 1948 to date, plus articles from WHO-produced journals and technical documents since 1985. [more]


WorldCatRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: WorldCat OCLC Catalog

WorldCat is the OCLC Online Union Catalog containing over 95 million records catalogued by OCLC member libraries covering books and other materials held in libraries worldwide. [more]


WorldCat.orgAnyone can use
Also Known as: WorldCat

A free to use index of a wide variety of resources, and the tools to help find which libraries hold them. [more]


eBooks / Books

The books below does not include all the books available at the MU Library, rather a select few noted by Librarians as noteworthy in a particular subject field. To search for more books please visit MERLIN, the MU Libraries Catalog.

Webster’s New World Medical DictionaryAnyone can use
Also Known as: websters medical dictionary


Wheater’s Basic Pathology: A Text, Atlas and Review of HistopathologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Basic Pathology; Wheater’s Text, Atlas and Review of Histopathology Text, Atlas and Review of Histopathology;


Wheater’s Functional HistologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Functional Histology; Wheater’s Histology


Wheater’s Review of Histology & Basic PathologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Review of Histology & Basic Pathology; Histology & Basic Pathology; Wheater’s Histology & Basic Pathology


Wheeless’ Textbook of OrthopaedicsAnyone can use

Browse or search nerves, bones, muscles, joints or body regions for information on normal anatomy, radiology, fractures, diseases, and trauma. Also includes some information on laboratory values of musculoskeletal significance. [more]


Wilderness MedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Williams’ GynecologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Williams Hematology, 9th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Williams Obstetrics, 24 ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Obstetrics


Williams Textbook of EndocrinologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Textbook of Endocrinology; Endocrinology


Resources Online

WebMDAnyone can use
Features include a medical library with A-Z list of diseases and conditions, medical tests and more. [more]


WebPathAnyone can use

Contains over 1500 archived images demonstrating gross and microscopic pathologic findings that are used in the University of Utah School of Medicine pathology course. [more]


Wellcome ImagesAnyone can use


Who Named It?Anyone can use

An encyclopedic dictionary of eponyms. Aims to ultimately provide biographical information on over 15,000 diseases and medical phenomena named after a person; currently contains over 6000 eponyms. Search by eponym, or by name, gender or national origin of the person. [more]


Whole Brain AtlasAnyone can use

Contains atlas of normal structure and blood flow of the brain, top 100 brain structures, abnormal diseases of the brain, and provides tours through some diseases of the brain. This web page is provided by the Harvard Medical School. [more]


Whole Health MDAnyone can use

A commercial site that offers information on particular alternative therapies. A special “healing centers” section offers strategies for treating certain diseases and conditions. [more]


WHOSISAnyone can use

The World Health Organization Statistical Information System. [more]


WinkingSkull.comAnyone can use
Also Known as: Winking Skull

A free anatomy study guide. Turn the labels off to test your knowledge. [more]


World Association for the History of Veterinary Medicine (WAHVM)Anyone can use

Encourages research in the field of veterinary history. Provides a common forum for National Societies for the History of Veterinary Medicine and all other interested individuals and organizations. [more]


Quick Links

Browse Resource Titles

ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ

Popular Resources


Databases by Subject

Electronic Books by Subject

Subject Guides

Subject Librarians

Subject Librarian Rebecca Graves

Rebecca Graves
(573) 882-0469
GravesR@health.missouri.edu


Subject Specialist for:
Health & Medicine
Health Related Professions
Nursing