HSL Find Electronic Resources

Find Electronic Resources

Search by resource title and/or subject:
Resource Title:
(Optional)

Subject
Material Type

Databases for Articles

Databases are collections of journal articles. Many of these databases will give you the full text of an article. Mizzou purchases the databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon through subscriptions and access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Missouri. Resources with the Available only from within the Health Sciences Library. icon are only aviable from with the Health Sciences Library.

UK National Electronic Library for Health NeLH Guidelines FinderAnyone can use
From the United Kingdon National Health Service. Search over 600 UK national guidelines, often with links to the complete text. Developed in collaboration with SEEK, the Sheffield Evidence for Effectiveness and Knowledge. [more]


US Patent & Trademark Office Fulltext Patents DatabaseAnyone can use

The Full-Text Database now offers all US patents issued since 1790, in the form of searchable patent numbers and current US classifications hyperlinked to full-page images of each page of each patent. Searchable in five-year blocks back to 1976, and in one additional block covering the years 1790-1975. [more]


eBooks / Books

The books below does not include all the books available at the MU Library, rather a select few noted by Librarians as noteworthy in a particular subject field. To search for more books please visit MERLIN, the MU Libraries Catalog.

UCSF Hospitalist HandbookAnyone can use


Ultrasound: The RequisitesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Understanding Clinical ResearchRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Understanding Clinical Research addresses both the operational challenges of clinical trials and the needs of clinicians to comprehend the nuances of research methods to accurately analyze study results. This timely resource covers all aspects of clinical trials–from study design and statistics to regulatory oversight–and it delivers a detailed yet streamlined overview of must-know research topics. The text features an accessible three-part organization that traces the evolution of clinical research and explains the bedrock principles and unique challenges of clinical experimentation and observational research. Reinforcing this content are real-life case examples–drawn from the authors’ broad experience–that put chapter concepts into action and contribute to a working knowledge of integral research techniques. [more]


Understanding Global Health, 2eRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The phrase “global health” is frequently thrown around in political and medical debates. But what exactly is global health? The text Understanding Global Health answers this question eloquently in its comprehensive discussion of health, health care, and health systems from a universal perspective. Although this book is written with the medical student or public health student in mind, it can definitely be utilized by anyone who is interested in learning more about the subject. [more]


Understanding Health Policy: A Clinical ApproachRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Understanding Heart DiseaseAnyone can use


Understanding Medical ProfessionalismRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Medical Professionalism


Understanding Patient Safety, 3rd ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Understanding Teamwork in Health CareRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Teamwork in Health Care

Understanding Teamwork in Health Care is a book about how to work proficiently in and with teams, both in clinical care and management settings. The book’s purpose is to enable people working in health care to improve the performance of the teams they work in, lead, or manage so that the interests of patients are better served. The book aims to offset in some measure a deficiency in the education of almost all health care professionals in the United States, namely, the lack of training about working in teams composed of people from various professions. Nearly all professionals working in health care are obliged to puzzle out interprofessional teamwork on their own. This book is intended to help health care professionals in this effort [more]


UpToDateAvailable only from within the Health Sciences Library.

Search a drug in UpToDate to view the Lexi-Comp information on drug dosage, uses, interactions, side effects, and more. [more]


Users’ guides to the medical literature : a manual for evidence-based clinical practiceRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: users guide to the medical literature ; user guide to the medical literature

Access is limited to one user at a time. [more]


USP DI Advice for the PatientAnyone can use

Advice for the Patient, Volume II of USP DI, is written in lay language for use by consumers. Included in MedlinePlus Drug Information. [more]


Resources Online

U.S FDA Center for Food Safety & Applied NutritionAnyone can use
Information about nutrition and food safety regulations for the United States. includes special sections for kids, seniors, and health professionals. [more]


UCDavis Center for Animal AlternativesAnyone can use

Provides informaiton on the 3 R’s of animal alternatives: replacement, reduction, refinement. [more]


UMCHC FormularyAvailable only from within the Health Sciences Library.

The list of drugs and dosage forms approved for usage at the University of Missouri Columbia Hospitals and Clinics. [more]


Undiagnosed Diseases ProgramAnyone can use

A clinical research venture from several NIH institutes designed advance research and provide answers to patients with longstanding medical conditions that have eluded diagnosis. [more]


Uniform Requirements for Manuscripts Submitted to Biomedical JournalsAnyone can use

From the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors. Information on manuscript preparation. [more]


United States Department of Health and Human Services Directory of ResourcesAnyone can use

A compilation of information about virtually all major data collection systems sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) listed by agency and title. [more]


University of Missouri Health CareAnyone can use


University of Puget Sound OT PagesAnyone can use


University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center Reviews of TherapiesAnyone can use

Indications, dosages, side effects, and scientific reviews of alternative cancer treatments. [more]


Urbana Atlas of PathologyAnyone can use

Includes both pathologic and normal images, both gross and microscopic views. [more]


USMLE United States Medical Licensing ExaminationAnyone can use

Contains tutorials and practice sessions for the three testing areas, as well as information on application materials and testing accomodations and schedules. There are also downloads which simulate the computer-based testing format. [more]


Quick Links

Browse Resource Titles

ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ

Popular Resources


Databases by Subject

Electronic Books by Subject

Subject Guides

Subject Librarians

Subject Librarian Rebecca Graves

Rebecca Graves
(573) 882-0469
GravesR@health.missouri.edu


Subject Specialist for:
Health & Medicine
Health Related Professions
Nursing