HSL Find Electronic Resources

Find Electronic Resources

Search by resource title and/or subject:
Resource Title:
(Optional)

Subject
Material Type

Databases for Articles

Databases are collections of journal articles. Many of these databases will give you the full text of an article. Mizzou purchases the databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon through subscriptions and access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Missouri. Resources with the Available only from within the Health Sciences Library. icon are only aviable from with the Health Sciences Library.

Safari Books OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: O’Reilly

Provides full-text access to thousands of online books covering technology, digital media, business, health, travel, personal and professional development and many other areas. Also includes learning tutorials and videos. Requires your MU email address to access the materials and registration with Safari for a personal account. [more]


Science of SynthesisRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Science of Synthesis provides comprehensive information on synthetic methods for all classes of organic compounds. It includes the complete backfiles of Houben Weyl Methods of Organic Chemistry with references dating back to 1835. [more]


ScienceDirectRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: ScienceDirect Freedom Collection

Search through journals, books, reference works, and images for the Physical Silences, Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities. [more]


SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Chemical Abstracts

SciFinder Scholar contains a comprehensive database of chemical and chemical engineering literature including patents (1907 – date, with selected coverage back to 1878) and the CAS Registry with information on 18 million substances. Also useful for biotechnology, toxicology, environmental science, medicine, food science and nuclear science. Available via the web which requires registration using your MU e-mail address. [more]


ScopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources , including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. It is a multidisciplinary resource covering materials from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Scopus allows you to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them. [more]


Social Services AbstractsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

CSA Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. [more]


Social Work AbstractsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Social Work Abstracts contains more than 45,000 records from approximately 300 social work and other related journals, and social work dissertations. [more]


Sociological AbstractsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: sociology

Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. [more]


SPORTDiscus with Full TextRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: sport ; sport discus ; sport database

SPORTDiscus is a full-text database covering sports and sports medicine journals. Subjects covered include biomechanics, drugs, exercise, kinesiology, movement science, nutrition, occupational health and therapy, physical fitness, physical therapy, rehabilitation, sports and exercise psychology, coaching and education and sports medicine. [more]


Springer ProtocolsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: SpringerProtocols ; methods in molecular biology ; methods in molecular medicine ; methods in biotechnology ; neuromethods ; methods in pharmacology and toxicology

SpringerProtocols is an online database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the biomedical and life sciences. Compiling protocols from the book series Methods in Molecular Biology and other sources, SpringerProtocols offers researchers access to nearly thirty years of tested, trusted, step-by-step protocols for immediate use in the lab. [more]


Statistical Abstract of the United States 1878-2012Anyone can use
Also Known as: Statistical Abstracts of the United States

As the National Data Book it contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Free access provided by the United States Census Bureau ended in 2012; subsequent editions have been issued by Proquest. [more]


eBooks / Books

The books below does not include all the books available at the MU Library, rather a select few noted by Librarians as noteworthy in a particular subject field. To search for more books please visit MERLIN, the MU Libraries Catalog.

Sabiston Textbook of Surgery, 19th editionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Textbook of Surgery


Sage Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research MethodsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: encyclopedia of qualitative research methods; Sage knowledge

An interdisciplinary approach to the field of qualitative research, providing background information on concepts that inform qualitative research practices. [more]


Sanford Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy 2016Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Schwartz’s Principles of Surgery, 10th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Principles of Surgery; Schwartz’s Surgery


Seidel’s Guide to Physical ExaminationRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Mosby Guide to Physical Examination ; Mosby’s guide to physical examination ; Seidels


Seidel’s Guide to Physical ExaminationRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]

Trial access via R2 [more]


Sherris Medical MicrobiologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Medical Microbiology


Signs and Symptoms in Family MedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Skeletal Trauma: Basic Science, Management, and Reconstruction, 5th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Sleisenger & Fordtran’s Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease, 10th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease


Smith’s Patient-Centered Interviewing: an Evidence-Based MethodRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Patient-Centered Interviewing: an Evidence-Based Method


Smith’s Recognizable Patterns of Human DeformationRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Recognizable Patterns of Human Deformation; Human Deformation


Smith’s Recognizable Patterns of Human Malformation, 4th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Recognizable Patterns of Human Malformation; Human Malformation


Sobotta Atlas of Human Anatomy , Vol. 1Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Atlas of Human Anatomy; Sobotta’s Atlas of Human Anatomy


Sobotta Atlas of Human Anatomy, Vol. 2Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Atlas of Human Anatomy; Sobotta’s Atlas of Human Anatomy


Sobotta Atlas of Human Anatomy, Vol. 3Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Atlas of Human Anatomy; Sobotta’s Atlas of Human Anatomy


STAT!-REFRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: statref; stat!ref; stat ref

STAT!-REF is a library of textbooks and drug compendia. Drug information, psychiatry, and obstetrics are especially well represented. [more]


Stedman’s Medical DictionaryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Browse words and search & display definitions from one of the standard medical dictionaries. Link will take you to STAT!-Ref; then click on “Resources” near the top of the page. [more]


Surgery: A Competency-Based CompanionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Surgical Treatment: Evidence-Based and Problem OrientedAnyone can use


Symptom to Diagnosis: An Evidence-Based Guide, 3rd ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Systematic Musculoskeletal ExaminationsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A thorough introductory guide to the techniques of the musculoskeletal examination Systematic Musculoskeletal Examinations is a clear, step-by-step learning text and atlas designed to teach essential and foundational skills of musculoskeletal physical assessment. Utilizing concise, easy-to-follow text and hundreds of outstanding photographs, this is an important resource for students, residents in training, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and practicing physicians seeking an organized approach to performing practical, problem-focused musculoskeletal physical examinations.Systematic Musculoskeletal Examinations presents a 3-part learning system: 1. Screening Musculoskeletal Examination (SMSE): rapid assessment of structure and function 2. General Musculoskeletal Examination (GMSE): comprehensive assessment of joint inflammation and arthritis 3. Regional Musculoskeletal Examination (RMSE): focused assessments of structure and function combined with special testing of the shoul [more]


Resources Online

ScanGrantsAnyone can use
Also Known as: scan grants

Search for grants for health services research and programs. Emphasizes private foundations, corporations, businesses, not-for profit organizations, and other nontraditional funding sources not found in grants.gov. A free service of Samaritan Health Services Center for Health Research and Quality. [more]


Science Gateway RankingsAnyone can use

Although there’s a 2+ year time lag, this site provides a snapshot of rankings of top journals, institutions, authors, and countries in various disciplines. Rankings are based on ISI’s journal impact factor. [more]


science.gov image searchAnyone can use
Also Known as: science dot gov images; nasa images; noaa images; nbii images

Search 3 million images from 3 government agencies: the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), the National Oceanic Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), and the National Biological Information Infrastructure (NBII). [more]


Self Care FlowchartsAnyone can use

These flowcharts from the American Academy of Family Physicians guide patients and healthcare consumers through common medical problems such as headache, fever, nausea etc. [more]


SHERPA/RoMEO publisher copyright and self-archiving policiesAnyone can use

Details the copyright transfer conditions of a cross-section of academic publishers. The list is intended for use by academic authors or service staff who are archiving eprints, as a guide to what a publisher’s copyright transfer agreement (CTA) form allows. [more]


Skin Deep Cosmetic DatabaseAnyone can use

Rates brand name beauty products on a scale of 0-10 for hazards, toxins, and animal testing. A project of the Environmental Working Group.. [more]


Society for Nuclear MedicineAvailable only from within the Health Sciences Library.

Its 16,000 members are physicians, technologists and scientists specializing in the research and practice of nuclear medicine. [more]


Solucient Top HospitalsAvailable only from within the Health Sciences Library.

Studies by this group rank hospitals according to topical area such as cardiovascular, stroke or orthopaedic service. The unranked lists are free online and are available in complete form in the periodical Modern HealthCare or with a fee on the site. [more]


Springer ImagesAnyone can use

Links to image sites in various clinical and preclinical specialties. [more]


SPSS and SAS via Software AnywhereRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

SPSS and SAS are available to students and faculty using the software as part of their curricula as part of the DoIT Software Anywhere service. On campus users need only follow the links and enter their pawprint to connect. Off campus users need to install the VPN software. [more]


St. Louis Post-DispatchAvailable only from within the Health Sciences Library.

(1989-Current) Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded. Available through NewsBank courtesy of MORENET. [more]


Stanford Medicine 25Anyone can use

Outline notes and review of 25 bedside diagnosis procedures from Stanford University School of Medicine’s course on physical examination and diagnosis. [more]


State Health Facts OnlineAnyone can use
Also Known as: statehealthfacts;statehealthfacts.org

Contains latest state-level data on demographics, health, and health policy. Includes information on health coverage, access, financing and state legislation. Site allows comparison of data for all states. From the Kaiser Family Foundation. [more]


StateMasterAnyone can use

Search, compare, and graph statistics for a state or region of the United States. Statistics are compiled from many sources, such as the US Census Bureau, the FBI, and the National Center for Educational Statistics. Many health statistics are included. [more]


SupportPath.comAnyone can use

This page has many links to information about support groups on numerous diseases and disorders. [more]


Surgery Video Library – Society for Biomedical MaterialsAnyone can use
Also Known as: surgery videos

A collection of surgical videos designed to help bridge the gap between classroom theory and clinical application. Though designed for the engineer, this resource can benefit any clinician. [more]


Quick Links

Browse Resource Titles

ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ

Popular Resources


Databases by Subject

Electronic Books by Subject

Subject Guides

Subject Librarians

Subject Librarian Rebecca Graves

Rebecca Graves
(573) 882-0469
GravesR@health.missouri.edu


Subject Specialist for:
Health & Medicine
Health Related Professions
Nursing