HSL Find Electronic Resources

Find Electronic Resources

Search by resource title and/or subject:
Resource Title:
(Optional)

Subject
Material Type

Databases for Articles

Databases are collections of journal articles. Many of these databases will give you the full text of an article. Mizzou purchases the databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon through subscriptions and access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Missouri. Resources with the Available only from within the Health Sciences Library. icon are only aviable from with the Health Sciences Library.

PAN Pesticides DatabaseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Search by active ingredient, (including CAS Registry Numbers) product name, or product category to discover uses, toxicity, and regulatory status of pesticides. From the Pesticides Action Network of North America. [more]


PapersFirstRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

PapersFirst contains citations to papers presented at congresses worldwide. [more]


PDQ Clinical Trial Search FormAnyone can use

Provides a search of the web site for cancer clinical trials by diagnosis, phase, trial type, sponsorship, modality, drug and facility location. [more]


PDR: Physician’s Desk ReferenceRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Physician’s Desk Reference

This resource is meant to serve as an aid to doctor to help them not only know what to prescribe to patients, but to help them maintain the patients dedication to the regimen. The database has resources “for e-prescribing, electronic medical record (EMR), Electronic health record (EHR) applications, chain and independent pharmacies, and sponsors of healthcare education” [more]


PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence DatabaseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Clinical trials and systematic reviews on the effectiveness of physical therapy interventions published in peer reviewed journals. All items are scored on methodological quality, and search results are ranked by methodological score. From the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at the University of Sydney. [more]


Performance Improvement Initiative Inventory (PI-3)Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.
Also Known as: PI-3, PI3

PI-3 is a database for long-term storage and sharing detailed information about specific UMHS improvement projects. The site allows users to enter project data, create reports and posters, and search existing projects for ideas and best practices. [more]


PharmacyChecker.comAnyone can use

Compare unit and total (including shipping) costs for drugs in the United States and Canada from pharmacies that sell online, via mail order or fax. [more]


Philosopher’s IndexRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

This database is an index to articles on philosophy and related fields. [more]


Physical Education IndexRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Physical Education Index includes physical education, sports, dance, recreation, health education, physical therapy, and related subject areas. Coverage includes peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, articles from the popular press, and many other publications. [more]


PIVOT Funding Opportunities DatabaseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Community of Science; COS ; grants

Formerly Community of Science Funding Opportunities. Similar to Grant Forward, Pivot Funding lists currently available grants for researchers in all disciplines. Both public and private funding sources are included. Also includes scholarships and fellowships for students. Provided by the MU Office of Research. [more]


PMC – PubMed CentralAnyone can use
Also Known as: pub med central ; pmc ; pubmedcentral

The National Library of Medicine’s digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature, providing free access to the full text of articles. Includes a growing number of final, peer-reviewed author manuscripts by scientists who receive research funding from NIH and other funding agencies, in addition to articles from journals that deposit their content in the archive. Frequently confused with PubMed, a much larger database of close to 20 million journal article citations (some of which have full text links). [more]


POISINDEXAvailable only from within the Health Sciences Library.

The POISINDEX System identifies ingredients for over 1 million household, cosmetic, commercial, harmaceutical and biological products and chemicals. Each substance is linked to one or more management documents providing informationon clinical effects, range of toxicity and treatment protocals for exposures involving the substances. Only accessible at University of Missouri Health Care facilities. [more]


Poisonous Plants Informational DatabaseAnyone can use

Botany, chemistry, toxicology, diagnosis, and prevention of poisoning of animals by plants and other natural flora. Includes plant images and images of affected animals. Permits searches by common, scientific name and common poison. Allows users to search based on animal most commonly affected including Human (adults) Human (Children) Cats, Dogs and Others. From Cornell University. [more]


PreMEDLINERestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: MEDLINE In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations

PreMEDLINE provides basic citation information of articles currently being indexed for MEDLINE. [more]


PrimateLitAnyone can use

Search for information on nonhuman primates in journal articles, books, meeting abstracts, technical reports, dissertations and book chapters. Covers a variety of subject areas, including behavior, colony management, ecology, reproduction, field studies, disease models, veterinary science, psychology, physiology, pharmacology, evolution, taxonomy, developmental and molecular biology, genetics and zoogeography. Part of the University of Wisconsin’s Primate Info Net (PIN). [more]


ProceedingsFirstRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

ProceedingsFirst is an index of worldwide conference proceedings, as well as a list of papers presented at various meetings. [more]


Project MuseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Project Muse provides full-text access to more than 100 scholarly journal titles from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics. [more]


ProQuest Dissertations & ThesesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Proquest Dissertations & Theses Database; Proquest Dissertations and Theses; ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global

Contains more than 1.2 million citations, with abstracts (since 1980) to dissertations accepted for doctoral degrees by accredited North American educational institutions and more than 200 institutions elsewhere. It corresponds to Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI), American Doctoral Dissertations (ADD), and Comprehensive Dissertation Index (CDI), as well as to the online Dissertation Abstracts database. Dissertation Abstracts also contains citations, with abstracts (since 1988), to masters’ theses corresponding to the coverage in Masters Abstracts (MA) Dissertation coverage includes approximately 3,000 subject areas, as well as masters theses and some dissertations from Canadian and overseas institutions. [more]


ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York TimesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: New York Times;historical New York Times; NYT

ProQuest Historical Newspapers digitally reproduces every issue of the New York Times (1851-2010) from cover-to-cover. It provides full page-image and full-text searching of the newspaper. [more]


ProQuest Technology CollectionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX, CSA High Technology Research Database with Aerospace, and the CSA Engineering Research Database, TRD, Technology Research Database, ProQuest Technology Collection

ProQuest Technology Collection indexes over 16 million abstracts, over 7.7 million tables and figures, and includes over 2,700 full text journals. It is comprised of ProQuest Advanced Technologies with Aerospace Collection; ProQuest Materials Science Collection; ProQuest Engineering Collection; ProQuest Computer Science Collection; and ProQuest Illustrata: Technology. Coverage starts from 1962. [more]


psychiatryonlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Psychiatry Online ; pol

Books, journals, guidelines, patient education materials, and DSM from the American Psychiatric Association. Book content provided with the assistance of the Department of Psychiatry. [more]


PsycINFORestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Psychological Abstracts

Locate articles in articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. From the American Psychological Association. Includes a feature to suggest productive search terms to guide users to relevant results. [more]


PsycINFO with PsycARTICLESRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: psychological abstracts

PsycINFO contains references to articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. With the inclusion of PsycARTICLES, over 149,000 full-text articles from more than 70 journals published by the American Psychological Association and participating publishers are provided. [more]


PTSDpubsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Formerly known as PILOTS – Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress.

Indexes world literature on traumatic stress disorder. Although it’s created/maintained by the US Department of Veterans Affairs, it covers all types of traumatic stress, not just post-combat stress syndromes. [more]


PubChemAnyone can use

Locate information on structure and biological activity of over 800,000 small organic molecules. Search by substance, bioassay or compound. Information is imported from 14 public sources, including ChemID plus. Structure and similarity searching are also supported. From the National Center for Biotechnology Information, it includes links to other Pubmed Entrez databases. [more]


PubMedRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The National Library of Medicine free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]


eBooks / Books

The books below does not include all the books available at the MU Library, rather a select few noted by Librarians as noteworthy in a particular subject field. To search for more books please visit MERLIN, the MU Libraries Catalog.

Palliative medicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Pathology: the big pictureRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Pathophysiology of Blood DisordersRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A concise full color review of the mechanisms of blood diseases and disorders based on a Harvard Medical School hematology course. Hematological Pathophysiology is a well illustrated, easy to absorb introduction to the physiological principles underlying the regulation and function of blood cells and hemostasis, as well as the pathophysiologic mechanisms responsible for the development of blood disorders. Featuring a strong emphasis on key principles, the book covers diagnosis and management primarily within a framework of pathogenesis. Authored by world renowned clinician educators at Harvard Medical School, Hematological Pathophysiology features content and organization based on a hematology course offered to second year students at that schoo.l The book is logically divided into four sections: Anemias and Disorders of the Red Blood Cell; Disorders of Hemostasis and Thrombosis; Disorders of Leukocytes; and Transfusion Medicine. [more]


Pathophysiology of Disease, 7th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Patient History: an Evidence-Based Approach to Differential DiagnosisRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Evidence-Based Approach to Differential Diagnosis

For medical students and other health professions students, an accurate differential diagnosis starts with The Patient History. The ideal companion to major textbooks on the physical examination, this trusted guide is widely acclaimed for its skill-building, and evidence based approach to the medical history. Now in full color, The Patient History defines best practices for the patient interview, explaining how to effectively elicit information from the patient in order to generate an accurate differential diagnosis. The second edition features all-new chapters, case scenarios, and a wealth of diagnostic algorithms. Introductory chapters articulate the fundamental principles of medical interviewing. The book employs a rigorous evidenced-based approach, reviewing and highlighting relevant citations from the literature throughout each chapter. [more]


Pediatric Injectable Drugs, 10th editionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Teddy Bear Book


Pfenninger and Fowler’s Procedures for Primary CareRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Procedures for Primary Care; Pfenninger’s Procedures for Primary Care


Pharmacology and Physiology for AnesthesiaRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Pharmacology and Therapeutics: Principles to PracticeRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Pharmacology, 4th ed. (Brenner)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Brenner’s Pharmacology


Physiology of the Gastrointestinal TractRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Physiology, 5th ed. (Constanzo)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Costanzo’s Physiology; Physiology


Point of Care UltrasoundRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Poisoning and Drug OverdoseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Practice of GeriatricsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Primary Care Medicine ( Goroll )Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Primer of Diagnostic ImagingRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Diagnostic Imaging


Principles and Practice of Hospital MedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Principles and Practice of Pediatric Infectious Diseases, 5th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Principles of Critical CareRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Principles of Medical Biochemistry, 4th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Medical Biochemistry


Problem-Based PhysiologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Physiology


Pulmonary PhysiologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Recommended for School of Medicine PBL Block 2. [more]


Resources Online

Partnership for Prescription AssistanceRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
A list of pharmaceutical companies which provide free or discounted drugs to needy patients. From the Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association. [more]


Pathology Online Case StudiesAnyone can use
Also Known as: pittsburgh pathology cases

From the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine. Search cases by diagnosis or by patient history. [more]


Patient Education Materials DatabaseAnyone can use
Also Known as: PEIMM ; patient education index

The site is intended for use by physicians and patients of University of Missouri Health Care as a source of patient education materials and information resources. [more]


Patient UKAnyone can use

Consumer health information from Great Britain. The site contains almost 700 leaflets on health and disease. Other notable features include information about medicine, tests, and more in depth articles written for health professionals [more]


PEIR – Pathology Education Instructional ResourceRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Search and browse over 16,000 pathology and histology images from From the University of Alabama at Birmingham. Part of HEAL, the Health Education Assets Library. Many of the images can be reused for educational purposes. [more]


PeriStatsAnyone can use

Aggregating data from 11 government agencies and organizations, PeriStats provides access to the most current maternal and infant health statistics on topics such as preterm birth, infant mortality, tobacco use, cesarean section rates, and health insurance coverage. Detailed information by race, ethnicity, and maternal age for many indicators is also available. From the March of Dimes. View information by state, or for a given metro area. [more]


PharmGKBAnyone can use
Also Known as: Pharmacogenomics Knowledge Base

PharmGKB collects, encodes, and disseminates knowledge about the impact of human genetic variations on drug response. It curates primary genotype and phenotype data, annotates gene variants and gene-drug-disease relationships via literature review, and summarizes important PGx genes and drug pathways. [more]


Physical Therapy, the Web SpaceAnyone can use


Physiology in Medicine – review articles from the American Physiological SocietyAnyone can use
Also Known as: APS physiology in medicine

A series of review articles from the American Physiological Society designed to promote physiological understanding of disease with the proper application of new molecular models and tools. Use CTRL-F (Find in Page) to search the titles and abstracts of all articles in the series from 1998-2011 and link to the complete articles. From 1998-2001, the reviews were published in the American Journal of Medicine. From 2001-2011, these articles were published in the Annals of Internal Medicine. Note: as of 2011, the APS Publications Committee has launched an initiative to continue the series. Future PIM articles will be published in the various APS journals, with each journal soliciting PIM articles in their area of focus. [more]


Pill Identifier from drugs.comAnyone can use

Identify prescription and OTC drugs by shape, color and/or text imprint. The content comes from Micromedex and the Physician’s Desk Reference. Drugs.com is funded through advertising support. [more]


Pillbox – Prototype Pill Identification SystemAnyone can use

Identify a pill by color, shape, size, score or ingredients in a visual database. Brought to you and funded by a joint effort of National Libraries of Medicine (NLM) and the FDA. Drug information on every pill links to NLM’s Drug Information Portal, Drug Label data links to DailyMed. [more]


PMID to PMCID ConverterAnyone can use
Also Known as: Pubmed ID to Pubmed Central ID Converter

Enter PubMed ID (PMID) to find the PubMed Central ID (PMCID) required as part of the NIH grant submission process. Or, enter a PMCID to locate a PMID. [more]


POEMsAnyone can use

Collected reviews from the Journal of Family Practice Journal Club. Each month, the JFP Journal Club applies the principles of evidence-based medicine to select 8 of the most clinically applicable articles from over 90 journals in every clinical specialty. [more]


Polyglot 3.0Anyone can use

Polyglot 3.0 is a “Multimedia Medical Spanish & English Translator” brought to you by the North Carolina Area Health Education Center in cooperation with Topsail Technologies, Inc. Arranged in practical categories, this tool offers phrases in English & Spanish useful for medical & law enforcement personnel. Also includes audio translations. [more]


Practice Guidelines: American Association for the Study of Liver DiseasesAnyone can use
Also Known as: aasld guidelines ; liver guidelines

Recommended for PBL Block 7. [more]


Practice Guidelines: American College of GastroenterologyAnyone can use
Also Known as: ACG guidelines

Recommended for PBL Block 7 [more]


Practice Guidelines: American Gastroenterological AssociationAnyone can use
Also Known as: AGA guidelines

Recommended for PBL Block 7 [more]


PracticingSpanish.com – Medical Spanish for Healthcare ProvidersAnyone can use
Also Known as: practicing;spanish;health care providers

Word lists, cultural information, and practice dialogs to assist health professionals in communicating with Latino patients. [more]


Professional Registration Licensee Search – Missouri State Board for the Healing ArtsAnyone can use

Searchable directory of licensed professionals including medical physicians & surgeons, physical therapists and occupational therapists among others. Search by county, profession, name and/or license number. Includes information on license and discplinary status. [more]


PROSPERO Intenational Prospective Register of Systematic ReviewsAnyone can use
Also Known as: meta analyis registry

An international registry of systematic reviews of health interventions. Systematic reviews are registered at inception to enable comparison of reported review findings with what was planned in the protocol. [more]


Protocols.ioAnyone can use
Also Known as: protocolsio ; protocols io

A freely available, open access repository of scientific methods. [more]


PT World LinksAnyone can use


Public Health Image Library (PHIL)Anyone can use

Search and display images & multimedia files on public health topics. Most are in the public domain and may be freely used. From the Center for Disease Control. [more]


Public Health Toolkit – University of WashingtonAnyone can use

Developed by the University of Washington, this resource points to major resources of interest in public health. [more]


Public Library Geographic DatabaseAnyone can use

Offers map plots of selected census data for a chosen area of the U.S. Choose a public library and discover the ethnicity, income, education, race, age of residents nearby. Funded by the Institute of Museum and Library Services and created for use by libraries, but it can also be useful for other groups doing needs assessment. [more]


PubMed Clinical Q&AAnyone can use
Also Known as: Pubmed Clinical Q & A; Pubmed clinical questions & answers

Provides evidence based answers to common clinical questions. Currently the focus is on comparing classes of drugs in the treatment of common conditions such as hypertension, ADHD, asthma, hyperlipidemia, Alzheimer’s, pain, and more. [more]


PubMed HealthAnyone can use

A collection of clinical effectiveness reviews and other resources to help consumers and clinicians use and understand clinical research results. These are drawn from the NCBI Bookshelf and PubMed, including published systematic reviews from organizations such as the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality, the UK National Institute for Clinical Effectiveness, and the Cochrane Collaboration. Think of it as an “executive summary” of PubMed studies/findings. [more]


Quick Links

Browse Resource Titles

ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ

Popular Resources


Databases by Subject

Electronic Books by Subject

Subject Guides

Subject Librarians

Subject Librarian Diane Johnson

Diane Johnson
(573) 882-6142
JohnsonE@health.missouri.edu


Subject Specialist for:
Health & Medicine
Health Related Professions Nursing