HSL Find Electronic Resources

Find Electronic Resources

Search by resource title and/or subject:
Resource Title:
(Optional)

Subject
Material Type

Databases for Articles

Databases are collections of journal articles. Many of these databases will give you the full text of an article. Mizzou purchases the databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon through subscriptions and access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Missouri. Resources with the Available only from within the Health Sciences Library. icon are only aviable from with the Health Sciences Library.

CABDirectRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: CAB Abstracts; CABI

Coverage includes plant and animal sciences, forestry, human health and nutrition, veterinary medicine, agricultural biotechnology economics and engineering, rural sociology, recreation, tourism, and leisure. Includes access to CAB Archives. [more]


Canadian Medical Association CPG InfobaseAnyone can use

Over 300 Clinical Practice Guidelines designed to help physicians and patients make appropriate health care decisions in specific clinical circumstances. They have been developed or reviewed with a five-year rolling date, and produced or endorsed in Canada by a national, provincial or territorial medical or health organization, professional society, government agency or expert panel. [more]


Catalog of U.S. Government PublicationsAnyone can use
Also Known as: CGP

The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications is the primary catalog for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. [more]


CCRIS- Chemical Carcinogenesis Research InformationRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A scientifically evaluated and fully referenced databank developed and maintained by the National Cancer Institute (NCI). It contains carcinogenicity, tumor promotion, and utagenicity test results on over 7000 chemical compounds. To search, select CCRIS from the drop down search menu. [more]


CenterWatch Clinical TrialsAnyone can use

An international listing of over 80,000 active clinical trials. Search the database by therapeutic area, disease or geographic location. Also contains information on new drugs and devices approved by the FDA and the Department of Health and Human Services. [more]


CHEMIDAnyone can use

Chemical dictionary file for over 339,000 compounds of biomedical and regulatory interest. Includes chemical property and toxicity information. File locators lead users to additional information on other files such as HSDB, RTECS, TOXNET, and TOXLINE. In addition, SUPERLIST provides names and other data used to describe chemicals on over 30 key federal and state regulatory lists. Chemical structure searching is also supported. [more]


CINAHL (Ebsco)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Provides comprehensive coverage of the English language journal literature related to nursing and the allied health disciplines, from 1982 to the present. Material from over 650 journals are included in CINAHL, covering both the nursing literature and the allied health fields such as: Cardiopulmonary Technology, Emergency Services, Health Education, Med/Lab Technology, Medical Assistance, Medical Records, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Radiologic Technology, Respiratory Therapy, Social Science, Surgical Technology, and the Physician’s Assistant. Searches can be limited to research articles, nursing journals, etc. [more]


Citation Classics from the Institute of Scientific InformationAnyone can use

Authors of highly cited papers offer personal reflections on their research: how the project was initiated, obstacles encountered, and reflections on their success. Search for a specific article/author, or browse by date. A compilation of columns which originally appeared in Current Contents from 1977-1993. [more]


ClinicalKeyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: MDconsult ; md consult ; firstconsult ; first consult ; procedures consult ; clinical key

Contains all the of the content formerly found in MDConsult, plus: Over 1000 additional clinical books; Instructional videos for over 300 procedures, including Lumbar puncture, central line insertion, splinting, and much more; Concise, point-of-care information (formerly known as FirstConsult). [more]


ClinicalTrials.govAnyone can use

A Sponsored by NIH and the National Library of Medicine, this site allows patients and health care providers to search for clinical trials by name of trial location, disease or condition, age group and treatment. [more]


Cochrane Clinical AnswersRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCA) is part of Ovid’s Evidence Based Medicine Reviews collection, and are readable, digestible, clinically focus entry points to rigorous research from Cochrane systematic reviews. Each Cochrane Clinical Answer contains a clinical question, a short answer, and an opportunity to ‘drill down’ to the evidence from relevant Cochrane reviews. [more]


Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (EBM Reviews)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Cochrane

EBM Reviews — Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews includes the full-text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types: includes both completed reviews and protocols for reviews in progress. [more]


Cochrane Methodology RegisterRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

With over 9000 references, the register aims to include all published reports of empirical methodological studies to support the work of the Cochrane review groups as they conduct systematic reviews of healthcare interventions. [more]


Communication and Mass Media CompleteRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Communication and Mass Media Complete offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 620 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 820 titles, 500 of which are full text. [more]


Consultant: A Diagnostic Support System for Veterinary MedicineAnyone can use

Produced by Cornell University, College of Veterinary Medicine. Search by signs or disease. Provides brief synopses of diseases including general description; verterinary species affected; associated signs and symptoms. Includes references to articles and web sites on the clinical aspects of the disease. [more]


Consumer Health CompleteRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Consumer Health Complete is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. It includes the Clinical Reference System (including McKesson’s Health Advisor series), and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs. Access provided by MOREnet. [more]


CQ ResearcherRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

CQ Researcher is a resource for in-depth, analytical reporting on current and controversial issues. Focusing on one topic, each weekly CQ Researcher provides extensive background information and discussion of the pro’s and con’s. [more]


CRC Handbook of Chemistry and PhysicsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is a major source of chemical and physical property data. It includes information on elements, inorganic compounds, organic compounds, physical constants, units and conversion factors, symbols, and nomenclature. [more]


CSH ProtocolsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A searchable, interactive collection of over 700 laboratory protocols, methods, and kits outlining new and classic research techniques in molecular and cellular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. New submissions are welcomed. From the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratories. [more]


eBooks / Books

The books below does not include all the books available at the MU Library, rather a select few noted by Librarians as noteworthy in a particular subject field. To search for more books please visit MERLIN, the MU Libraries Catalog.

Cambridge Historical Dictionary of DiseaseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
A history and description of the world’s major diseases of yesterday and today, with chapters organized alphabetically. [more]


Campbell’s Operative OrthopaedicsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Campbell-Walsh Urology 11th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Campbell’s Urology


Cardiology ExplainedAnyone can use


Cardiovascular PhysiologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Recommended for School of Medicine PBL Block 2. [more]


Cell and Molecular Biology (Gupta), Revised editionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Recommended for PBL. [more]


Cell and Tissue Based Molecular PathologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Volume in the Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology Series


Cell Biology, 3rd edition (Pollard)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Pollard’s Cell Biology

Recommended for PBL [more]


Cell Biology: A Short CourseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A textbook of cell biology suitable for undergraduates. [more]


Cellular and Molecular Immunology, 8th editionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]

Trial access through R2 [more]


Cellular and Molecular Immunology, 9th editionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Abbas’ Immunology

Required for School of Medicine PBL Block 1. [more]


Cellular and Molecular Pathobiology of Cardiovascular DiseaseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Pathobiology of Cardiovascular Disease


Child DevelopmentRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Covers human development from conception through adolescence, summarizing the latest research on physical, cognitive, social and emotional development and behavior, including areas of law, medicine, psychiatry, and demography among others. [more]


Churchill’s Pocketbook of Differential DiagnosisRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Pocketbook of Differential Diagnosis; Differential Diagnosis


Citing Medicine: The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers.Anyone can use


Clinical Cases in Tropical MedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Clinical Decision Support: the Road to Broad Adoption, 2nd ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Clinical Dermatology: A Color Guide to Diagnosis and Therapy, 6th editionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Clinical Ethics: A Practical Approach to Ethical Decisions in Clinical MedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Clinical EvidenceRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A compendium of evidence on the effects of common clinical interventions in a variety of medical specialties, from the publishers of the British Medical Journal. Summarizes the current state of knowledge, ignorance, and uncertainty about the prevention and treatment of a wide range of clinical conditions based on thorough searches and appraisal of the literature. Updated monthly. [more]


Clinical Methods: The History, Physical, and Laboratory ExaminationsAnyone can use

3rd ed, 1990. A PDA version is also available. [more]


Clinical Neuroanatomy, 28th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Clinical NeurologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Clinical Pharmacology, 11th ed.Anyone can use

Browse or search by drug name to discover indications, dosage, side effects, chemical structure, interactions, contraindications, and precautions for prescription and OTC drugs and personal care products. Pictures are included to aid in drug identification. [more]


Clinician’s Pocket ReferenceRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Color Atlas of Family MedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Comprehensive Cytopathology, 4th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Comprehensive Gynecology, 6th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Conn’s Current Therapy 2017Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Cummings Otolaryngology–Head & Neck Surgery, 6th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Otolaryngology–Head & Neck Surgery; Head & Neck Surgery


Current Clinical MedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Cleveland Clinic: Current Clinical Medicine


Current Diagnosis & Treatment Emergency Medicine, 8th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Current Emergency Diagnosis and Treatment; Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Emergency Medicine


Current Diagnosis & Treatment Gastroenterology, Hepatology & EndoscopyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Gastroenterology, Hepatology & Endoscopy


Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Family MedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Current Diagnosis & Treatment in PsychiatryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Pulmonary MedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Current Diagnosis & Treatment Nephrology & HypertensionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Nephrology & Hypertension


Current Diagnosis & Treatment Obstetrics & GynecologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Current OB & GYN Diagnosis & Treatment

A wide range of topics, progressing from the basics of health care for women to complicated sub-specialty problems. [more]


Current Diagnosis & Treatment of Sexually Transmitted DiseasesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Cardiology 5th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Current Diagnosis & Treatment Cardiology

Current Diagnosis and Treatment in Cardiology is designed to be a concise, yet comprehensive discussion of the essential knowledge needed to diagnose and manage cardiac diseases. [more]


Current Diagnosis and Treatment Pediatrics, 22 ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Diagnosis and Treatment: Pediatrics; Pediatrics


Current Diagnosis and Treatment SurgeryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Current Surgical Diagnosis and Treatment


Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2018Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Current Consult: Medicine;Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment

The content of Papadakis & McPhee’s Current Consult: Medicine is included under the Quick Access Tab in AccessMedicine. [more]


Current Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2017Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Practice guidelines in Primary Care;Guidelines in primary care

Listed under the Guidelines tab in AccessMedicine. [more]


Resources Online

Cancer Genome Anatomy Project (CGAP)Anyone can use
Also Known as: CGAP

The Cancer Genome Anatomy Project (CGAP) aims to decipher the molecular anatomy of cancer cells. CGAP develops profiles of cancer cells by comparing gene expression in normal, precancerous, and malignant cells from a wide variety of tissues. [more]


Cancer Statistics – United StatesAnyone can use

Resource from the Centers for Disease Control – Statistical guide to cancer incidence and mortality in the United States from 1999 – 2008 [more]


Cancer.gov from the National Cancer InstituteAnyone can use

Information on cancer screening, staging and treatment for health care professionals and laypeople. Produced by the National Cancer Institute, this is a subset of what is found in PDQ. [more]


Cardiosource Plus for Institutions – American College of CardiologyAnyone can use
Also Known as: cardio source ; jacc

Guidelines and journals from the American College of Cardiology. Brought to you by MU Healthcare. [more]


CDC WonderAnyone can use

Search for statistics on mortality, natality, AIDS, injuries, occupational health, cancer, tuberculosis, and more. From the Center for Disease Control. Access is free, but registration is required. [more]


Center for Health Policy, University of MissouriAnyone can use

Researches and publishes information on health policy issues of interest to Missourians, including Medicaid, stem cell research, patient safety, insurance, and access issues. [more]


Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)Anyone can use

Homepage of the federal agency that administers the Medicare, Medicaid and Child Health insurance programs. [more]


City and County Data BookAnyone can use
Also Known as: City and County Databook

Includes statistics from all U.S. states, counties, and cities with a population of 25,000 or more. The most comprehensive source of information on cities and counties, including vital statistics, health services, demography, agriculture, business establishments, climate, construction, crime, earnings, education, elections, employment, finance, government, households, housing, income, labor force, population, poverty, race and Hispanic origin, social services, and water use. From the U.S. Census Bureau. [more]


Clinical Cases and Images: A Case-Based Curriculum of Clinical MedicineAnyone can use

Presents clinical cases, procedure videos, diagnostic images, and answers to clinical questions, all designed to bridge the gap between textbooks and real life in the clinic and on the ward. Created by Cleveland Clinic and Case Western Reserve University. Presented in blog/RSS format. Site content can be translated into 9 languages, including Arabic, Russian, and Chinese. [more]


Clinical Knowledge Summaries from the U.K. National Health ServiceAnyone can use
Also Known as: PRODIGY ; CKS

Practical advice on managing common conditions in primary care from the United Kingdom National Health Service. Alongside practical, specific suggestions on patient management are links to evidence from Cochrane and NICE guidelines and systematic reviews. Emphasizes practical clinical “pearls” with links to evidence. Notes when there is a paucity of good quality evidence. [more]


CMA InfobaseAnyone can use

Over 300 Clinical Practice Guidelines designed to help physicians and patients make appropriate health care decisions in specific clinical circumstances. They have been developed or reviewed with a five-year rolling date, and produced or endorsed in Canada by a national, provincial or territorial medical or health organization, professional society, government agency or expert panel. [more]


CMS Hospital Violations DatabaseAnyone can use
Also Known as: Hospital inspections; hospitalinspections ; medicare hospital violations

View reports of federal safety rule violations for over 1000 acute care hospitals since January 2011. A joint venture of the Center for Medicare Services and the Association of Health Care Journalists. [more]


CN3DAnyone can use

Cn3D is a helper application for your web browser that allows you to view 3-dimensional structures from NCBI’s Entrez retrieval service. Cn3D runs on Windows, Macintosh, and Unix. [more]


Cochrane Collaboration Consumer NetworkAnyone can use

Includes summaries of Cochrane reviews written for patients. [more]


Cognitive Science Branch, National Library of MedicineAnyone can use

This web page contains databases of courseware, audiovisuals and authoring tools, along with other aids for those developing software for health professions education. [more]


Columbia Daily TribuneAnyone can use


Congress Resource Centre (CRC): Doctor’s Guide Global EditionAnyone can use

Access information about medical conferences and meeting events in 83 countries searchable by medical specialty, location, and date. [more]


Consumer’s Checkbook: Guide to Health CareAnyone can use

A listing of top doctors and hospitals is available through this service. Online inforrmation is only available to subscribers. A print edition of the title is available at the library, HSL Ref W22.AA1.C758. [more]


Controlled Trials from HistoryAnyone can use

A chronological listing of early clinical trials published from biblical times through the mid-twentieth century, often with commentaries. Links to complete text or key passages, portraits, biographical information, and teaching materials are included for some of the trials. From the James Lind Library, Royal College of Physicians, Edinburgh. [more]


County Health DepartmentsAnyone can use

Contact information for county health departments in Missouri. [more]


CPDB – Carcinogenic Potency Data BaseAnyone can use
Also Known as: Carcinogenic Potency Database

Provides standardized analyses of the results of 6540 chronic, long-term animal cancer tests that have been conducted since the 1950’s and reported in the general published literature or by the National Cancer Institute and the National Toxicology Program. Developed at the University of California, Berkeley, and Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory. On the ToxNet system. [more]


Cultural Competence Resources for Health Care ProvidersAnyone can use

Links to cultural competency resources for ethnic, homeless, migrant, and other special populations. From the U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration. [more]


Current Bibliographies in MedicineAnyone can use

Provided by the National Library of Medicine. Each bibliography covers a distinct subject area of biomedicine of current popular interest. Available online back to 1992. [more]


Quick Links

Browse Resource Titles

ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ

Popular Resources


Databases by Subject

Electronic Books by Subject

Subject Guides

Subject Librarians

Subject Librarian Diane Johnson

Diane Johnson
(573) 882-6142
JohnsonE@health.missouri.edu


Subject Specialist for:
Health & Medicine
Health Related Professions Nursing