Databases

Databases A-Z

 

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Databases by Subject


 

DATABASES BY SUBJECT


Databases by Type




Resources by Type: Statistics

American FactFinderAnyone can use
American FactFinderThis site will guide to to data on your community. Choose: -“Fact Sheet” for quick access to basic demographic, social and economic data on your city, town, county or state or ZIP Code. -“People” to find more popular tables on a variety of topics (age, education, income, race and more) for your area. -“Housing” to find popular tables on home values, ownership, housing characteristics and mortgage. -“Business and Government” for data on housing starts, government finances, foreign trade and more. [more]



Historical Statistics of the United StatesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Historical Statistics of the United StatesHistorical Statistics of the United States presents the numerical history of the United States. It contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history, all from the earliest times to the present. [more]



International Financial Statistics (IFS)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
International Financial Statistics (IFS)International Financial Statistics (IFS) is a database provided by the International Monetary Fund. It offers approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries, 1948 – present (data availability may vary by country and date). It includes exchange rates, fund accounts and main global and country economic indicators. [more]



Statistical Abstract of the United States 1878-2012Anyone can use
Also Known as: Statistical Abstracts of the United States

Statistical Abstract of the United States 1878-2012As the National Data Book it contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Free access provided by the United States Census Bureau ended in 2012; subsequent editions have been issued by Proquest. [more]



Statistical Abstract of the United States 2013Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Stat Abstract; statistical abstracts; statistical abstract of the US

Statistical Abstract of the United States 2013The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. [more]



Statistical Data SetsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: ProQuest Statistical Datasets; Pro quest; ProQuest Statistical Data Sets

Statistical Data SetsProvides data visualization for more than 500 datasets from government and private industry, both domestic and international. Emphasis is in 20th century U.S. economic data and includes diverse subjects such as health, politics, demographics, social services and environmental data. Time spans vary by topic. Charting, plotting and mapping options available. Export data into MS Excel, XML, PDF, or into shape files for GIS. [more]



Dartmouth AtlasAnyone can use
Dartmouth AtlasThe Dartmouth Atlas Project is run by the Center for Evaluative Clinical Sciences at Dartmouth Medical School. It’s goal is to “accurately describe how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States.” Using information compiled by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the data covers hospitalizations of people aged 65 to 99 in the traditional Medicare system who are free to select any participating physician or hospital. Data is available from 1994-2003. [more]



EuroStat Data ExplorerAnyone can use
EuroStat Data ExplorerEuroStat Data Explorer provides access to statistical tables, data series and publications from Eurostat, the Statistical Office of the European Communities. [more]



FAOSTATAnyone can use
FAOSTATSponsored by the Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations. Covers international statistics in agriculture, nutrition, fisheries, forestry, food quality, and more. [more]



Geolytics’ Neighborhood Change DatabaseCD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.
Geolytics Neighborhood Change Database Geolytics’ Neighborhood Change Database contains nation-wide tract-level data from the 1970, 1980, 1990 and 2000 decennial censuses. Combines U.S. Bureau of the Census data into one product with variables and tract boundaries that are consistently defined across census years. [more]



HCUPnetAnyone can use
HCUPnetAn interactive tool for identifying, analyzing and comparing statistics on hospital inpatient care. Uses the data from the Nationwide Inpatient Sample (NIS) of over 1000 hospitals. Also includes data from the State Inpatient Database (SID), representing inpatient care in community hospitals in 36 states (including Missouri), which represents more than half of all U.S. hospital discharges. Create and export tables on costs, demographics, mortality, length of stay, and insurance coverage for diseases or medical procedures. From the U.S. Agency for Health Care Research and Quality. [more]



HSRR – Health Service and Sciences Research ResourcesAnyone can use
HSRR -  Health Service and Sciences Research ResourcesContains information about research and statistical datasets, instruments/indices, and software used in Health Services Research and the Behavioral and Social Sciences . [more]



LexisNexis AcademicRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
LexisNexis AcademicLexis Nexis Academic offers access to the full-text of current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world and the full-text of legal materials, (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more). [more]



OECD Health StatisticsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: OECD ilibrary; OECD health data; SourceOECD; Source oecd

OECD Health StatisticsThe demand for health-related data is high. One of the main obstacles limiting meaningful analysis of health care systems has always been, and still is, the lack of sufficient coverage and availability of health care statistics. The need for internationally-comparable data is on the rise as national administrations seek to evaluate their health care systems against those of other countries. OECD Health Data 2010 aims to address a sizeable part of these needs for Member countries. The database is designed to further the knowledge of health services inputs and throughputs, highlight differences in common medical practices, help quantify key non-medical health-related factors and, in a world of financial constraints, to describe key features of each system’s financing and delivery mechanisms. [more]



PAISRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
PAISPAIS covers the range of the social sciences, with emphasis on national and international economic, political and public policy issues. [more]



Social Trends and IndicatorsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Social Trends and IndicatorsProvides in-depth statistics on social issues with expert analyses. Data is drawn from Federal agencies, newspapers and stock exchanges. Individual volumes are titled: 1. Work & Leisure; 2. Community & Education; 3. Health & Illness; and 4. Crime & Justice. [more]



 

DATABASES BY TYPE

Resources grouped by type or format of information that they provide (e.g. primary sources, images)


Try First: Resources for Research

 

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

 

 

 

  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar
 
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


 

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

 

  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Press Display Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • 2200 newspapers from 97 countries
  • original format and layout
  • last 60 days only

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date

LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

Trial Databases


 

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

American Bibliography of Slavic and Eastern European Studies (ABSEES) – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: ABSEES

American Bibliography of Slavic and Eastern European Studies (ABSEES) - TrialABSEES provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. It indexes books, dissertations, journals, select government publications and online resources covering anthropology, culture, economics, education and geography. Trial ends December 15, 2014. [more]



Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection Seminar Talks – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: henry stewart talks

Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection Seminar Talks - TrialThis collection provides access to over 1,500 online seminar style talks containing the latest research developments as well as the fundamentals presented by leading world experts, including Nobel Laureates. Trial ends December 31, 2014. [more]



CRCnetBASE – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
CRCnetBASE - TrialCRCnetBASE includes searchable access to more than 12,000 eBook titles, covering scientific, technical, business, engineering, medical and veterinary medical references. Trial ends Oct. 23, 2014. [more]



Digital Loeb Classical Library – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Digital Loeb Classical Library - TrialThe Digital Loeb Classical Library is a searchable collection of more than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek and English texts. Epic and lyric poetry, tragedy and comedy, history, travel, philosophy and oratory and others are included. Trial ends November 14, 2014. [more]



Digital Theatre Plus – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Digital Theatre Plus - TrialDigital Theatre Plus includes filmed theatre productions of classic texts from across the UK, the Broadway Digital Archive, filmed workshops with drama techniques and exercises, interviews with production teams and study guides. Trial ends November 15, 2014. [more]



Garland Encyclopedia of World Music – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music - TrialThe Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is an online reference resource devoted to music research about all of the world’s peoples. More than 9,000 pages of text material and 300 audio recordings come from 700 contributors worldwide. It providess an overview of the region, a survey of its musical heritage, traditions and themes; and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instrument, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies. Other images include drawings, maps, and musical examples for further study. Trial ends Nov. 7, 2014. [more]



Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) with Online Archive – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: RIPM

Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) with Online Archive - TrialIndexes over 200 music periodicals, including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press releases and more. The Archive includes full-text for over 118 primary source journals indexed in RIPM. Trial ends June 30, 2015. [more]



 

 

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources