Databases

 

Databases A-Z

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the stackedlogo-bg-verysmall icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

 

Databases by Subject

DATABASES BY SUBJECT

Databases by Type



Return to Databases by Type menu

Resources by Type: Primary Sources

American Civil War: Letters and DiariesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
American Civil War: Letters and DiariesAmerican Civil War: Letters and Diaries offers full-text searchable letters and diaries of soldiers and noncombatants on both sides of the U.S. Civil War. The database can be searched and browsed in many ways, including by U.S. state, topics described, year of writers death, Union or Confederate loyalty, and other variables. [more]



American Periodical Series OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
American Periodical Series OnlineAmerican Periodical Series Online is full-text collection of over 1,100 magazines and journals published between 1741 and 1900. [more]



Archives USARestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Archives USAArchives USA is a current directory of 5,596 repositories and 154,678 collections of primary source material across the United States. Using Archives USA, researchers can read descriptions of holdings of repositories to determine whether a collection contains material relevant to their work as well as find the information they need to contact the repository directly. C19 Index contains 61,647 records detailing the collections and repositories in the United States that hold 19th century research materials. Part of C19 database. No full text. [more]



C19: The Nineteenth Century IndexRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
C19: The Nineteenth Century IndexC19 Index provides access to nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. [more]



Early American Imprints Series I Evans (1639-1800)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Early American Imprints Series I  Evans (1639-1800)Searchable pdf’s of material published in Colonial America and the early U.S. In addition to searching, the collection may be browsed by topic (e.g., Genre: Songs, Economics: Liquor Traffic, History: Louisiana Purchase) [more]



Early American Imprints Series II Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Early American Imprints Series II Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)Searchable pdf’s of material published in the U.S. in the early 19th Century. In addition to searching, the collection may be browsed by topic (e.g., Genre: Satires, Peoples: Illinois Indians, Government: Church and State) [more]



ECCO – Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ECCO - Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineBased on the English Short Title Catalogue, nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 will be made available online over the course of the next two years. [more]



North American Women’s Letters and DiariesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
North American Womens Letters and DiariesNorth American Women’s Letters and Diaries provides access to full-text letters & diaries by 687 North American women from colonial times to 1950. [more]



ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago TribuneRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago TribuneSearchable cover-to-cover full image of the Chicago Tribune from 1849-1990. [more]



ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York TimesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: New York Times;historical New York Times; NYT

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York TimesProQuest Historical Newspapers digitally reproduces every issue of the New York Times (1851-2010) from cover-to-cover. It provides full page-image and full-text searching of the newspaper. [more]



ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street JournalRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: WSJ

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street JournalSearchable cover-to-cover full image of the Wall Street Journal from 1889-1996. [more]



ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington PostRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington PostSearchable cover-to-cover full image of the Washington Post from 1877-1997. [more]



Reader’s Guide Retrospective 1890-1982Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Readers Guide Retrospective 1890-1982Readers Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. [more]



Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice - TrialThis resource provides access to many thousands of original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings and maps in high quality greyscale and colour. All printed items are fully text-searchable and manuscripts have document-level indexing. Themes covered include: Slavery in the Early Americas, African Coast, Middle Passage, Slavery and Agriculture, Urban and Domestic Slavery, Slave Testimony, Spiritualism and Religion, Resistance and Revolts, Underground Railroad, The Abolition Movement and the Slavery Debate, Legislation and Politics, Freed Slaves, Freedmen and Free Black Settlements, Education, Slavery and the Islamic World, Varieties of Slave Experience and The Legacy of Slavery and Slavery Today. PDF download options are not available during trials. Trial ends August 12, 2015. [more]



British Records on the Atlantic WorldRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
British Records on the Atlantic WorldArchival materials such as journals, correspondence, trading documents and missionary papers (1700-1900), all related to British involvement in the Atlantic region, including both Africa and the Americas. [more]



Electronic EnlightenmentRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Electronic EnlightenmentElectronic Enlightenment is a digital collection of over 58,000 letters and documents from over 7000 people, both “great men” and common people, from the 17th to mid-19th centuries from Europe, the Americas, and Asia. Biographical notes, annotations, and cross-reference links facilitate research on the exchange of information in this period. [more]



HathiTrustAnyone can use
Also Known as: Hathi Trust Hathi

HathiTrustThe Hathi Trust Digital Library contains digital copies of more than 10 million volumes in over 400 languages, printed from 1500-present. Over 3 million volumes are in the public domain and can be viewed/printed/downloaded. Other volumes can be searched, but viewing is restricted. The Digital Library combines full-text searching with the traditional library catalog to facilitate sophisticated queries and easy browsing. MU users can also build private or shared collections within the Digital Library. [more]



House of Commons Parliamentary PapersRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
House of Commons Parliamentary PapersHouse of Commons Parliamentary Papers covers 1801-1919. Covers social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how British laws were created. [more]



Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and MagazinesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and MagazinesContains 65,000 pages with articles, illustrations, cartoons and maps drawn from 49 periodicals, including 15 campaign newspapers published from 1860 to 1865, from four viewpoints? Union, Confederate, Abolitionist, and British. Every page has been scanned to grayscale or color standards at up to 1200 dpi. The database also includes essays detailing the background and importance of each of the publications and on Civil War topics. [more]



iPOLLRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
iPOLLThe iPOLL database provides access to nearly half a million public opinion survey questions on a wide range of topics. [more]



Luther’s SermonsCD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.
Luthers SermonsLuther’s Sermons offers searchable full-text of a collection of sermons of Martin Luther (1483-1546). Edited and translated by John Nicholas Lenker. CD-ROM only accessible within Ellis Library. [more]



Luther’s WorksCD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.
Luthers WorksLuther’s Works contains the translated works of Martin Luther in searchable, online full-text. CD-ROM only accessible within Ellis Library. [more]



Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources 1600-1926Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources 1600-1926Based primarily on holdings of the Lillian Goldman Law Library at Yale University, including early state codes, city charters, and documents relating to constitutional conventions. Missouri resources include state constitutional conventions, adopted Constitutions, and historical Revised Statutes, among other resources. Access provided by the MU Law Library. [more]



Middle English CompendiumRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: MED

Middle English CompendiumThe Middle English Compendium provides interlinked access to several resources: the online Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, with links to associated online resources. [more]



Palmer’s Index to the TimesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Palmers Index to the TimesThis index covers the London Times newspaper from 1790-1905. Part of C19 database. The MU Libraries has the London Times on microfilm in the Special Collections department. [more]



Periodicals Index OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Periodicals Index OnlineFormerly known as Periodical Contents Index, Periodicals Index Online covers magazines and journals published worldwide from 1790 to 1919. Part of C19 database. [more]



Poole’s Index to Periodical LiteratureRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Pooles Index to Periodical LiteraturePoole’s Index to Periodical Literature indexes British and American periodicals from 1824-1900. Matches pseudonyms to actual authors. Part of the C19 databases. No full-text. [more]



ProQuest Historical NewspapersRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ProQuest Historical NewspapersSearchable full-image of the New York Times (1851-2010), The Wall Street Journal (1889-1996), The Washington Post (1877-1997), The Chicago Defender (1910-1975) and The Chicago Tribune (1849-1990). [more]



ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago DefenderRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago DefenderThe Chicago Defender (1910-1975) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. [more]



ProQuest NewsstandRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: News stand

ProQuest NewsstandProQuest Newsstand contains over 1169 newspapers, 134 trade journals, 62 general interest periodicals, 134 blogs, podcasts, and websites. With titles like the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and major regionals like the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post and the Boston Globe, users can also find access to international, national, and regional news. [more]



Romantic Age, TheCD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.
Romantic Age, TheThe Romantic Age includes 18 volumes of correspondence of significant British writers of the romantic era, such as Blake, Burns, Shelley, Maria Edgeworth, Jane Austen, Samuel Wesley. This CD-ROM is available at the Ellis Library Reference Workstation, in the SW corner of the Information Commons. [more]



U.S. Congressional Serial SetRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
U.S. Congressional Serial SetThe U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 is a vast primary source collection for U.S. political, social, cultural, military and ethnic history, as well as international relations, explorations, genealogy, commerce, industrial development and more. [more]



U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs 1832-1978Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs 1832-1978U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs 1832-1978 contains nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978. [more]



DATABASES BY TYPE

Resources grouped by type or format of information that they provide (e.g. primary sources, images)

Try First: Resources for Research

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar  
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks


Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri  
  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Press Display Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • 2200 newspapers from 97 countries
  • original format and layout
  • last 60 days only

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date

LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

  • Create citations in APA and MLA format: Citation Builder
  • Manage your references and automatically create bibliographies and in-text citations.

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

 

Trial Databases

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

Kanopy – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Kanopy - TrialKanopy is a “Netflix-like” solution for college campuses offering over 28,000 films – documentaries, feature films and training videos – from thousands of producers with many new releases launched daily. The trial will provide access to 1,000’s of films from more than 800 filmmakers, including Criterion Collection, PBS, New Day Films, First Run Features, Kino Lorber, California Newsreel, Media Education Foundation, Psychotherapy.net, Green Planet Films, The Great Courses, Seventh Art Releasing, BBC and more. You will also find a wide selection of independent film, including many that are exclusively available on Kanopy. Trial ends August 31, 2015. [more]



Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice - TrialThis resource provides access to many thousands of original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings and maps in high quality greyscale and colour. All printed items are fully text-searchable and manuscripts have document-level indexing. Themes covered include: Slavery in the Early Americas, African Coast, Middle Passage, Slavery and Agriculture, Urban and Domestic Slavery, Slave Testimony, Spiritualism and Religion, Resistance and Revolts, Underground Railroad, The Abolition Movement and the Slavery Debate, Legislation and Politics, Freed Slaves, Freedmen and Free Black Settlements, Education, Slavery and the Islamic World, Varieties of Slave Experience and The Legacy of Slavery and Slavery Today. PDF download options are not available during trials. Trial ends August 12, 2015. [more]



 

 

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher’s license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources.

You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration
You MUST NOT
  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources