Databases

Databases A-Z

 

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Databases by Subject


 

DATABASES BY SUBJECT


Databases by Type




Resources by Type: Newspaper Articles

FactivaRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
FactivaFactiva contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. It also provides access to current issues and an archive of over 8,000 publications from around the globe. License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty, and staff only. [more]



LexisNexis AcademicRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
LexisNexis AcademicLexis Nexis Academic offers access to the full-text of current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world and the full-text of legal materials, (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more). [more]



NewsBankRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
NewsBankNewsbank includes Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690-1876); U. S. Congressional Serial Set and Serial Set Maps (1817-1980); Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, (1639-1800); Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, (1801-1819); American State Papers, (1789-1838); World Newspaper Archive, which includes America’s Historical Newspapers and African Newspapers. [more]



Newspaper SourceRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Newspaper SourceNewspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided. Access provided by MOREnet. [more]



PressDisplayRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
PressDisplayPressDisplay provides the original format, layout and pagination for over 200 newspapers from over 50 countries. [more]



ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago TribuneRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago TribuneSearchable cover-to-cover full image of the Chicago Tribune from 1849-1990. [more]



ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York TimesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: New York Times;historical New York Times; NYT

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York TimesProQuest Historical Newspapers digitally reproduces every issue of the New York Times (1851-2010) from cover-to-cover. It provides full page-image and full-text searching of the newspaper. [more]



ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street JournalRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: WSJ

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street JournalSearchable cover-to-cover full image of the Wall Street Journal from 1889-1996. [more]



ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington PostRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington PostSearchable cover-to-cover full image of the Washington Post from 1877-1997. [more]



ProQuest NewsstandRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ProQuest NewsstandProQuest Newsstand contains over 850 newspapers with access to 575 full-text titles. With titles like the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and major regionals like the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post and the Boston Globe, users can also find access to international, national, and regional news. Coverage: 1980’s to present. [more]



Business Source PremierRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Business Source PremierBusiness Source Premier provides full-text for nearly 3,300 scholarly business journals, including full-text for more than 1000 peer-reviewed business publications. [more]



Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersAnyone can use
Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersChronicling America provides a directory listing American newspapers published from 1690 to the present and identifying libraries that hold these papers. Images of some newspaper pages from 1890 to 1910 are available as a prototype of the National Digital Newspaper Project, which will eventually provide digital access to significant newspapers from 1836 to 1922. [more]



Historic Missouri Newspaper ProjectAnyone can use
Historic Missouri Newspaper ProjectHistoric Missouri Newspaper Project is a database of searchable full-image of some years from 14 Missouri newspapers. [more]



Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and MagazinesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and MagazinesContains 65,000 pages with articles, illustrations, cartoons and maps drawn from 49 periodicals, including 15 campaign newspapers published from 1860 to 1865, from four viewpoints? Union, Confederate, Abolitionist, and British. Every page has been scanned to grayscale or color standards at up to 1200 dpi. The database also includes essays detailing the background and importance of each of the publications and on Civil War topics. [more]



Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General’s OfficeAnyone can use
Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon Generals OfficeIncludes more than 3.7 million references to books (250,000 items), dissertations (300,000 items), analytics [e.g., journal articles, newspaper articles, obituaries, and letters] (2.5 million items) and portraits (4,400 items) found in the 61 volume set of the same name. The Library of the Surgeon General’s Office was the precursor to today’s National Library of Medicine. Even though the series began publication in 1880, older items can be found here as well. [more]



Palmer’s Index to the TimesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Palmers Index to the TimesThis index covers the London Times newspaper from 1790-1905. Part of C19 database. The MU Libraries has the London Times on microfilm in the Special Collections department. [more]



ProQuest Historical NewspapersRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ProQuest Historical NewspapersSearchable full-image of the New York Times (1851-2010), The Wall Street Journal (1889-1996), The Washington Post (1877-1997), The Chicago Defender (1910-1975) and The Chicago Tribune (1849-1990). [more]



ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago DefenderRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago DefenderThe Chicago Defender (1910-1975) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. [more]



 

DATABASES BY TYPE

Resources grouped by type or format of information that they provide (e.g. primary sources, images)


Try First: Resources for Research

 

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

 

 

 

  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar
 
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


 

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

 

  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Press Display Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • 2200 newspapers from 97 countries
  • original format and layout
  • last 60 days only

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date

LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

Trial Databases


 

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

American Bibliography of Slavic and Eastern European Studies (ABSEES) – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: ABSEES

American Bibliography of Slavic and Eastern European Studies (ABSEES) - TrialABSEES provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. It indexes books, dissertations, journals, select government publications and online resources covering anthropology, culture, economics, education and geography. Trial ends December 15, 2014. [more]



Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: BTL

Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina - TrialSearchable full-text access to all editions of Latin texts published in the Bibliotheca Teubneriana. Trial ends November 21, 2014. [more]



Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection Seminar Talks – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: henry stewart talks

Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection Seminar Talks - TrialThis collection provides access to over 1,500 online seminar style talks containing the latest research developments as well as the fundamentals presented by leading world experts, including Nobel Laureates. Trial ends December 31, 2014. [more]



ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2010) with Index (1851-1993) – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2010) with Index (1851-1993) - TrialSearchable full-text of the New York Times from 1851-2010, with additional search capability (covering 1851-1993) using subject terms and topics for more focused and targeted results. Trial ends November 30, 2014. [more]



Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) with Online Archive – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: RIPM

Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) with Online Archive - TrialIndexes over 200 music periodicals, including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press releases and more. The Archive includes full-text for over 118 primary source journals indexed in RIPM. Trial ends June 30, 2015. [more]



Thesaurus Linguae Latinae – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: TLL

Thesaurus Linguae Latinae - TrialSearchable full-text of the largest Latin dictionary. TLL covers all Latin texts from the classical period up to about 600 A.D. Trial ends November 21, 2014. [more]



 

 

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources