Databases

Databases A-Z

 

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Databases by Subject


 

DATABASES BY SUBJECT


Databases by Type




Resources by Type: Handbooks and Manuals

ASCE Civil Engineering DatabaseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: ASCE CE Database

ASCE Civil Engineering DatabaseThe Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) is designed to provide easy bibliographic access to all ASCE publications. The database covers all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, and magazines, [more]



CRC Handbook of Chemistry and PhysicsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and PhysicsCRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is a major source of chemical and physical property data. It includes information on elements, inorganic compounds, organic compounds, physical constants, units and conversion factors, symbols, and nomenclature. [more]



Gale Virtual Reference LibraryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Gale Virtual Reference LibraryGale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. [more]



ACP SmartMedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: physican information and education resource ; physican’s information & education resource

ACP SmartMedicineSynthesizes and summarizes the best evidence on over 400 diseases, procedures, and more. From the American College of Physicians. Access provided by the MAHEC Digital Library. Please logout when finished. [more]



Consumer Health CompleteRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Consumer Health CompleteConsumer Health Complete is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. It includes the Clinical Reference System (including McKesson’s Health Advisor series), and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs. Access provided by MOREnet. [more]



Mergent Web Reports/Digitized Archive ManualsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Mergent Web Reports/Digitized Archive ManualsMergent WebReports/Digitized Archive Manuals: provides electronic access to all Moody’s/Mergent manuals ever published dating back to 1909. (Municipal and Govt manual currently not available.) WebReports contain more than 180,000 documents covering over 100 countries and industries using an easy-to-navigate and reliable system. [more]



PILOTS – Published International Literature on Traumatic StressAnyone can use
PILOTS - Published International Literature on Traumatic StressIndexes world literature on traumatic stress disorder. Although it’s created/maintained by the US Department of Veterans Affairs, it covers all types of traumatic stress, not just post-combat stress syndromes. [more]



Social Trends and IndicatorsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Social Trends and IndicatorsProvides in-depth statistics on social issues with expert analyses. Data is drawn from Federal agencies, newspapers and stock exchanges. Individual volumes are titled: 1. Work & Leisure; 2. Community & Education; 3. Health & Illness; and 4. Crime & Justice. [more]



 

DATABASES BY TYPE

Resources grouped by type or format of information that they provide (e.g. primary sources, images)


Try First: Resources for Research

 

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

 

 

 

  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar
 
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


 

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

 

  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Press Display Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • 2200 newspapers from 97 countries
  • original format and layout
  • last 60 days only

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date

LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

Trial Databases


 

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

American Bibliography of Slavic and Eastern European Studies (ABSEES) – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: ABSEES

American Bibliography of Slavic and Eastern European Studies (ABSEES) - TrialABSEES provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. It indexes books, dissertations, journals, select government publications and online resources covering anthropology, culture, economics, education and geography. Trial ends December 15, 2014. [more]



Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: BTL

Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina - TrialSearchable full-text access to all editions of Latin texts published in the Bibliotheca Teubneriana. Trial ends November 21, 2014. [more]



Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection Seminar Talks – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: henry stewart talks

Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection Seminar Talks - TrialThis collection provides access to over 1,500 online seminar style talks containing the latest research developments as well as the fundamentals presented by leading world experts, including Nobel Laureates. Trial ends December 31, 2014. [more]



ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2010) with Index (1851-1993) – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2010) with Index (1851-1993) - TrialSearchable full-text of the New York Times from 1851-2010, with additional search capability (covering 1851-1993) using subject terms and topics for more focused and targeted results. Trial ends November 30, 2014. [more]



Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) with Online Archive – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: RIPM

Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) with Online Archive - TrialIndexes over 200 music periodicals, including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press releases and more. The Archive includes full-text for over 118 primary source journals indexed in RIPM. Trial ends June 30, 2015. [more]



Thesaurus Linguae Latinae – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: TLL

Thesaurus Linguae Latinae - TrialSearchable full-text of the largest Latin dictionary. TLL covers all Latin texts from the classical period up to about 600 A.D. Trial ends November 21, 2014. [more]



 

 

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources