Databases

 

Databases A-Z

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the stackedlogo-bg-verysmall icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

 

Databases by Subject

DATABASES BY SUBJECT

Databases by Type



Return to Databases by Type menu

Resources by Type: Grants

Model Grant Funding Proposals – MU Office of ResearchAvailable only from within the Health Sciences Library.
Model Grant Funding Proposals  - MU Office of ResearchView funded internal and external grant proposals by MU researchers as models to assist in preparing successful grant applications. Search/browse by type of funding, investigator, department, title, and more. Restricted to MU affiliates. PawPrint required for access. [more]



National Institutes of Health Office of Extramural ResearchAnyone can use
National Institutes of Health Office of Extramural ResearchInformation about federally funded research. Annual statistics showing amounts of NIH grant money received at higher education institutions, medical schools, and other health professional schools and nonprofits. Includes lists ranked by grant monies received. [more]



NIH RePORTER (Formerly CRISP)Anyone can use
Also Known as: National Institutes of Health reporter ; crisp ; current review of scientific projects ; Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tool

NIH RePORTER (Formerly CRISP)Search federally funded biomedical research projects funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services (SAMSHA), Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDCP), Agency for Health Care Policy Research (AHCPR), and Office of Assistant Secretary of Health (OASH). Results can be exported to an Excel spreadsheet. View the amount of research funding for a given disease, or the success rates for different types of grants. In addition to project descriptions, NIH RePORTER now includes links to publications and patents arising from NIH funded research, with links to PubMed Central, PubMed, and the US Patent & Trademark Office databases. [more]



USDA CRIS – Current Research Information SystemAnyone can use
USDA CRIS - Current Research Information SystemSearch for ongoing and recently completed research projects sponsored or conducted primarily within the USDA and State university agricultural research system. The NIH HNRIM (Human Nutrition Research and Information Management) and the ICAR (Inventory of Canadian Agri-Food Research) are also included. [more]



DATABASES BY TYPE

Resources grouped by type or format of information that they provide (e.g. primary sources, images)

Try First: Resources for Research

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar  
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks


Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri  
  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Press Display Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • 2200 newspapers from 97 countries
  • original format and layout
  • last 60 days only

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date

LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

  • Create citations in APA and MLA format: Citation Builder
  • Manage your references and automatically create bibliographies and in-text citations.

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

 

Trial Databases

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) with Online Archive – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: RIPM

Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) with Online Archive - TrialIndexes over 200 music periodicals, including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press releases and more. The Archive includes full-text for over 118 primary source journals indexed in RIPM. Trial ends June 30, 2015. [more]



Routledge Handbooks Online – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Routledge Handbooks Online - TrialRoutledge Handbooks Online provide an overview of classic and current research and future trends in the Social Sciences and Humanities. Areas covered include: Archaeology & Classics, Asian Studies, Business & Economics, Communication, Journalism, Media & Culture, Criminal Justice & Criminology, Education, Environment & Sustainability, Health & Social Care, History, Law, Linguistics, Philosophy, Politics, Psychology, Security Studies, Sociology, Sports & Leisure and Tourism, Hospitality & Events Management. Trial ends March 12, 2015. [more]



Statista – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Statista - TrialStatista is a statistics portal integrating data on over 80,000 topics from 18,000 sources. Quantitative data covers market and industry reports, statistics, forecasting, studies, dossiers and infographics. Trial ends March 27, 2015. [more]



 

 

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources