Databases // Libraries // Mizzou // University of Missouri

Databases

Databases A-ZDatabases by SubjectDatabases by TypeTry First: Resources for ResearchTrial Databases

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the MU logo icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

DATABASES BY SUBJECT

Resources by Type: Government Documents

Purchased databases with the stackedlogo-bg-verysmall

icon are accessible only to MU users.

Agencywide Documents Access and Management System (ADAMS) Anyone can use

Also Known as ADAMS; NCR ADAMS; NCR ADAMS database; NCR: Web-Based Access to ADAMS

ADAMS indexes the regulatory and technical documents of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), its contractors and licensees. Includes full-text from November 1, 1999, with bibliographic records going back to 1981. These earlier materials are available in the NUDOCS microfiche collection housed in the Engineering Library & Technology Commons. [more]

AHRQ Innovations Exchange Anyone can use
Also Known as Innovations Exchange; ARHQInnovations Exchange; Innovation

The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) Innovations Exchange is a web-based resource designed to support health care professionals in sharing and adopting innovations that improve health care quality. The website includes a clearinghouse of innovative ideas and opportunities to learn and share ideas with others. Submissions of innovative approaches to patient care delivery are welcomed. [more]

Air Force History Index Anyone can use

The United States Air Force Historical Research Agency maintains hundreds of thousands of historically significant U.S. Air Force documents representing some 70 million pages. These include unit histories, special studies, personal papers, end-of-tour reports, oral histories, interview transcripts, and more. This databases is an index only, and thus does not have full text articles available for download. [more]

American Law Institute Library Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as American Law Institute Library; HeinOnline American Law Institute

The archives of the American Law Institute (ALI) include editions of the Uniform Commercial Code, restatements of the law on a variety of topics, and special publications of the ALI including the ALI Reporter. Access provided to the campus by the MU Law Library. [more]

American State Papers, 1789-1838 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as American State Papers

American State Papers, 1789-1838, features not only new bibliographic records for every one of its 6,354 publications, but also superior images created by digitizing every page of every publication from the print volumes issued between 1832 and 1861. Unlike the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, the publications in the American State Papers are not divided into reports and documents and do not include House and Senate journals. Approximately two-thirds of the publications cover the first 14 Congresses (1789-1817), whereas the remaining third chronologically overlap with the Serial Set from 1817-1838. [more]

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications Anyone can use
Also Known as CGP

The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications is the primary catalog for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. [more]

CQ Weekly Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

CQ Weekly provides the CQ Weekly Congressional Quarterly's magazine on government, commerce and politics. Contains information on the U.S. Congress, including status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering. [more]

Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) - Public Technical Reports Collection Anyone can use

DTIC Online searches publicly accessible information sources. It includes report citations and many full-text reports. [more]

Digital National Security Archive Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as national security archive

The Digital National Security Archive is a comprehensive collection of significant primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. The Archive is organized into dozens of topical collections, each containing government documents declassified under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). [more]

ECLAS (European Commission Libraries Catalogue) Anyone can use
Also Known as European library catalog; ECLAS

ECLAS is the European Commission union catalog, representing the holdings of both the Central Library of the European Commission and some 25 smaller specialized libraries and documentation centers. Provides broad coverage of European Union official publications from 1978 to date, as well as publications about the Union from other intergovernmental organizations, commercial, academic and government presses. ECLAS also indexes selected periodical articles of lasting interest. [more]

Energy Citations Database Anyone can use
Also Known as Energy; ECD; DOE Energy citations; DOE ECD

Energy Citations Database contains citations to energy and energy related technical reports, conference papers, and journal articles from U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessors ERDA and AEC. The microfiche collection is housed at the Engineering Library & Technology Commons. [more]

Enviro-Health Links Hurricane Resource Page Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Links to information on environmental cleanup, drinking water, mold, hazardous materials and more created to assist relief workers. Created by Specialized Information Services at the National Library of Medicine . [more]

ETHXWeb Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as bioethicsline; ETHX Web

Journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, and news articles relating to bioethics and professional ethics. Can search for literature which emphasizes a legal, religious, empirical, or popular approach. Contains some links to fulltext. From the Kennedy Institute of Ethics, which formerly produced Bioethicsline. [more]

Government of Canada Publications Anyone can use

Government of Canada Publications is the principle database for finding publications of the Canadian federal government. Includes links to full-text when available. [more]

govinfo Anyone can use
Also Known as FDsys; fedsys

Created by the Government Publishing Office, govinfo is the next iteration of FDsys. Its collections pertain to key documentation and records related to the functioning of the United States Government. Example include: Budget of the United States, Congressional Bills, Congressional Documents, Hearing, Senate Manual, Court Opinions, Supreme Court Decisions, Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States and more. Content organization and format file may vary. FDsys will be officially retired in December 2018, and fully replaced with govinfo. [more]

Grey Literature Report - New York Academy of Medicine Library Anyone can use
Also Known as nyam grey literature; gray literature

Locate health policy documents from various health policy stakeholders, such as the Kaiser Foundation, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the RAND Corporation, the Guttmacher Institute, the World Health Organization, and many more. Compiled by the library of the New York Academy of Medicine. Bimonthly updates available. [more]

HeinOnline Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

HeinOnline contains a number of components or "libraries," including the LAW JOURNAL LIBRARY containing more than 1,400 law and law-related periodicals, the FEDERAL REGISTER LIBRARY containing proposed regulations back to 1936, the CODE OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS LIBRARY dating to 1938, and the UNITED STATE CODE LIBRARY which is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. Also included are the U.S. STATUTES AT LARGE LIBRARY showing all federal legislation as it appeared when originally passed, and the TREATIES AND AGREEMENTS LIBRARY which contains all U.S. treaties whether currently in-force, expired, or not-yet officially published. [more]

Historical Statistics of the United States Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as historical statistics

Historical Statistics of the United States presents the numerical history of the United States. It contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history, all from the earliest times to the present. [more]

Homeland Security Digital Library Anyone can use
Also Known as homeland security index

Homeland Security Digital Library contains access to homeland security strategy, policy and research published by Federal, state and local government agencies, international governments and institutions, universities, and think tanks. [more]

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers covers 1801-1919. Covers social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how British laws were created. [more]

Making of Modern Law - Legal Treatises 1800-1926 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Making of Modern Law - Legal Treatises 1800-1926 provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Access provided to the campus by the MU Law Library. [more]

NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS) Anyone can use

NTRS provides access to approximately 500K aerospace related citations, 90K full-text online documents, and 111K images and videos. The type of information found in NTRS include: conference papers, images, journal articles, photos, meeting papers, movies, patents, research reports, and technical videos. [more]

National Criminal Justice Reference Service Anyone can use
Also Known as NCJRS

(NCJRS) contains summaries of over 180,000 criminal justice publications, including federal, state and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles and unpublished research. This is a good source for statistics and it links to the full-text NCJRS Virtual Library. [more]

National Human Genome Research Institute Policy and Legislation Database Anyone can use

Locate federal and state laws/statutes, and federal legislative, administrative and executive materials related to genetic testing and its public policy implications. [more]

Native Health Research Database Anyone can use

Indexes health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. Can search by tribe, state, region/province in addition to MeSH subject searches. Older literature (back to 1652) can be found in the Native Health History Database. [more]

NCJRS National Criminal Justice Reference Service Database Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as ncjrs

Covers over 189,000 criminal justice publications dating back to the 1970s. Subject areas include corrections, courts, drug abuse, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, domestic preparedness, and victims. In addition to journal articles, federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, and unpublished research are also included. From the U.S. Department of Justice. [more]

ProQuest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as Lexis Nexis Congressional; lexisnexisLexis Nexis Congressional; lexus-nexusLexis Nexis Congressional; lexis nexisLexis Nexis Congressional; Pro QuestLexis Nexis Congressional; lexusnexusLexis Nexis Congressional; lexiLexis Nexis Congressional; lexisLexis Nexis Congressional; lexis-nexisLexis Nexis Congressional; lexus nexusLexis Nexis Congressional; lexus

The ProQuest Congressional database indexes and provides full text access to government information dating to 1789. Content is sourced mainly from Congress and its committees, but some executive branch reports to Congress are also included. Document types include hearings (1824-2003), congressional committee prints and miscellaneous publications (1830-current), House and Senate documents and reports (1980-2003), the Congressional record and its predecessors (1789-1999), the Congressional Serial Set (1980-2003), and Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports(1916-2003). Some Government Accountability Office (GAO) reports from 2004 forward have been added to the database, though they are also freely available on GAO.gov. For a complete description of ProQuest Congressional contents, coverage, and update frequency, consult the Content Coverage Chart on the database's main search screen. [more]

ProQuest Legislative Insight Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as proquest; pro quest

A legislative history reveals the intent behind a specific law. Legislative histories are helpful to students preparing for careers in public health, education, business, or any other discipline subject to Federal regulation. This database provides searchable full text PDFs for Public Laws and for all versions of bills leading up to those laws. In addition, it presents just the relevant portions of the Congressional Record along with committee hearings, reports, and prints. Also included are Presidential signing statements, Congressional Research Service reports, and other congressional publications related to the law. [more]

PTSDpubs Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as Formerly known as PILOTS - Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress.

Indexes world literature on traumatic stress disorder. Although it's created/maintained by the US Department of Veterans Affairs, it covers all types of traumatic stress, not just post-combat stress syndromes. [more]

U.S. Congressional Serial Set Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 is a vast primary source collection for U.S. political, social, cultural, military and ethnic history, as well as international relations, explorations, genealogy, commerce, industrial development and more. [more]

U.S. Statutes at Large Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

U.S. Statutes at Large provides full-text access to the laws of the United States from 1789 to the present. Includes public laws, private laws, concurrent resolutions, presidential proclamations, treaties with foreign nations (through 1849), and all treaties with Native American tribes. [more]

U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs 1832-1978 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs 1832-1978 contains nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978. Access provided thanks to MU Law. [more]

UNBISnet(United Nations Bibliographic Information System) Anyone can use

UNBISnet is the catalog for United Nations documents and publications. Also included are commercial publications and other non-UN sources held in the collection of the Dag Hammarskjold Library. The coverage of UNBISnet is from 1979 onward, however, older documents are being added to the catalog on a regular basis. UNBISnet also provides instant access to a growing number of full text resources in the six official languages of the UN (Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish), including resolutions adopted by the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and the Security Council from 1946 onward. [more]

United Nations Official Document System (ODS) Anyone can use

The United Nations Official Document System (ODS) provides full-text access to all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards. [more]

DATABASES BY TYPE

Resources grouped by type or format of information that they provide (e.g. primary sources, images)

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
Find out who's citing particular articles

Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
Does not include the last five years of issues

Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Current and Controversial Issues

1991 to date
Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

Pros and cons of controversial issues

News and Newspapers

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
1980's to date
Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
1980's to date

Full-text newspapers and trade journals
Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

Create citations in APA and MLA format: Citation Builder
Manage your references and automatically create bibliographies and in-text citations.
- Endnote
- Zotero
- Mendeley

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

ASME Standards - Trial Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Also Known as American Society of Mechanical Engineers Standards

Contains full-text access to all active American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) standards, including the Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (BPVC). These codes and standards cover a breadth of topics, including pressure technology, nuclear plants, elevators/escalators, construction, engineering design, standardization, and performance testing. Trial ends June 1st, 2024. [more]
Please give feedback for the trial.

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources.

You MUST

Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration
Comply with all applicable laws concerning copyright and intellectual property

You MUST NOT

Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources