Databases

Databases A-Z

 

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases index magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Databases by Subject


 

DATABASES BY SUBJECT


Databases by Type




Resources by Type: Disease Information

AccessMedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
AccessMedicineSearch a collection of over 50 books in clinical medicine and the basic sciences, including Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine, Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, Hurst’s The Heart, and many more. Click on My AccessMedicine to register for a free password which entitles you to use the Lange self-assessment tool for board preparation, PDA chapter downloads, and podcasts. MyNCBI account holders can link to articles and ordering options via Findit@MU. Please logout when finished searching. To locate more recent articles which cite a referenced article, enter the PMID article Identifier here. [more]



DynaMedRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
DynaMedProvides basic information and summarizes current developments on over 2000 diseases. Designed for use at the point of care. Includes ICD9 codes. MyNCBI account holders can link to articles and ordering options via Findit@MU. [more]



UpToDateAvailable only from within the Health Sciences Library.
UpToDateAims to provide instantaneous, evidence-based answers to the most commonly asked clinical questions. Over 270 journals and other sources are regularly scanned and synthesized into topic reviews designed to provide current answers to clinical questions. Overall, these original topic reviews consist of over 40,000 pages of text and over 10,000 graphics covering the following areas: Internal Medicine, Adult Primary Care, Cardiology, Drug Information, Endocrinology & Diabetes, Family Practice, Gastroenterology & Hepatology, Gynecology, Hematology, Infectious Diseases, Nephrology & Hypertension, Neurology, Obstetrics, Oncology, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine, Rheumatology, Emergency Medicine, Women’s Health, and Psychiatry. To locate more recent articles which cite a referenced article, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]



askHERMESAnyone can use
Also Known as: ask hermes ; medQA ; med Q A ; MedQ@A

askHERMESAn experimental search engine to mine PubMed/MEDLINE, eMedicine, and the National Guideline Clearinghouse for answers to clinical questions. Type in a specific question for best results. [more]



PIER – Physicians’ Information and Education ResourceRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: physican information and education resource ; physican’s information & education resource

PIER  - Physicians Information and Education ResourceSynthesizes and summarizes the best evidence on over 400 diseases, procedures, and more. From the American College of Physicians. Access provided by the MAHEC Digital Library. Please logout when finished. [more]



 

DATABASES BY TYPE

Resources grouped by type or format of information that they provide (e.g. primary sources, images)


Try First: Resources for Research

 

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

 

  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar
 
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Press Display Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • 2200 newspapers from 97 countries
  • original format and layout
  • last 60 days only

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date

LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

Trial Databases


 

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

ACLS Humanities E-Book – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: HEB

ACLS Humanities E-Book - TrialThe HEB is an online, fully searchable collection of approximately 4,000 books of high quality in the humanities. Titles include monographs, critical studies, primary sources, reference works and volumes of essays. Trial ends April 30, 2014. [more]



Communication Source – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Communication Source - TrialDeveloped from a merger of EBSCO’s Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communications Abstracts, this resource offers worldwide full-text content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields. Content includes full-text from over 800 titles and indexing for more than 1000 titles, including academic journals, conference papers, conference proceedings, trade publications, magazines and periodicals. Trial ends May 27, 2014. [more]



Gannett Newsstand – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Gannett Newsstand - TrialGannett Newsstand offers exclusive access to over 85 local and regional U.S. newspapers from Gannett including the Detroit Free Press, The Indianapolis Star and The Tennessean. The Gannett newspapers are available in full text and include all articles of substance written by staff writers, death notices, birth notices, editorials, reviews, letters to the editor, and selected online content. Trial ends April 25, 2014. [more]



Lecture Notes in Mathematics – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Lecture Notes in Mathematics - TrialThis series reports on new developments in all areas of mathematics and their applications. Date coverage is 2005-2014. Trial ends May 6, 2014. [more]



 

 

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources