Databases

Databases A-Z

 

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Databases by Subject


 

DATABASES BY SUBJECT


Databases by Type




Resources by Type: Conference Proceedings

ACM Digital LibraryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ACM Digital LibraryACM Digital Library provides bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews and the full-text for articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since its founding in 1947. Also provides selected works published by affiliated organizations. [more]



ASCE Civil Engineering DatabaseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: ASCE CE Database

ASCE Civil Engineering DatabaseThe Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) is designed to provide easy bibliographic access to all ASCE publications. The database covers all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, and magazines, [more]



ASCE Research LibraryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ASCE Research LibraryThe ASCE Research Library is a comprehensive online tool for locating articles of interest across all disciplines of civil engineering. The Research Library provides you with unprecedented access to more than 40,000 full-text papers from ASCE Journals and Proceedings published since 1995. That is over 400,000 pages. Approximately 4,000 new papers will be added each year. [more]



IEEE XploreRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
IEEE XploreFull-text access to IET/IEE (Institution of Engineering and Technology) Journals and IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards. [more]



PapersFirstRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
PapersFirstPapersFirst contains citations to papers presented at congresses worldwide. [more]



ProceedingsFirstRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ProceedingsFirstProceedingsFirst is an index of worldwide conference proceedings, as well as a list of papers presented at various meetings. [more]



ASABE Technical LibraryAnyone can use
ASABE Technical LibrarySearch all recent technical documents published by the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. Anyone can view the abstracts. Access to the full text is via ASABE membership or site license. [more]



BMC ProceedingsAnyone can use
BMC ProceedingsDevoted specifically to conference publications in medicine and biology, BioMed Central aims to provide open access to both abstracts and complete articles presented at conferences. [more]



CABDirectRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: CAB Abstracts; CABI

CABDirectCoverage includes plant and animal sciences, forestry, human health and nutrition, veterinary medicine, agricultural biotechnology economics and engineering, rural sociology, recreation, tourism, and leisure. Includes access to CAB Archives. [more]



Cochrane Methodology RegisterAnyone can use
Cochrane Methodology RegisterWith over 9000 references, the register aims to include all published reports of empirical methodological studies to support the work of the Cochrane review groups as they conduct systematic reviews of healthcare interventions. [more]



CompendexRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
CompendexCompendex indexes technical and engineering journals, conference proceedings and papers, technical reports, and monographs. Subjects include all areas of engineering; transportation; management, mathematics, and physics; electronics and communications; computers and data processing, and instruments and measurements. [more]



Food Science and Technology AbstractsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: FSTA

Food Science and Technology AbstractsFood Science and Technology Abstracts provides coverage of all scientific and technological aspects of the processing and manufacturing of human food products. [more]



Grey Literature Report – New York Academy of Medicine LibraryAnyone can use
Also Known as: nyam grey literature

Grey Literature Report  - New York Academy of Medicine LibraryLocate health policy documents from various health policy stakeholders, such as the Kaiser Foundation, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the RAND Corporation, the Guttmacher Institute, the World Health Organization, and many more. Compiled by the library of the New York Academy of Medicine. Bimonthly updates available. [more]



International Veterinary Information Services (IVIS)Anyone can use
International Veterinary Information Services (IVIS)Provides access to electronic books, veterinary meeting proceedings, continuing education, international calendar of veterinary events, and image collections. Free registration required. [more]



Library Literature and Information Science Full TextRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Library Literature and Information Science Full TextLibrary Literature and Information Science Full Text is an index of library and information science periodicals. [more]



LILACSRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
LILACSThe Latin American equivalent of MEDLINE, covering 669 journals in Portuguese, Spanish & English. Although the majority of articles indexed are in Portuguese or Spanish, it’s possible to search using English keywords. [more]



LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior AbstractsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior AbstractsLLBA indexes over 1,500 journals and additional books, dissertations and other media covering all aspects of linguistics, speech, language and hearing pathology. [more]



Materials Research Database with METADEXRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Materials Science

Materials Research Database with METADEXBrings together materials science databases, covering materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications, including the use of materials in orthopedics and dentistry. Everything from raw materials and refining through processing, welding, and fabrication to end use, corrosion, performance, and recycling is covered in for all metals, polymers, ceramics, and composites. The collection comprises several databases which may be searched individually or all together. The databases included in the collection are: Aluminum Industry Abstracts, Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts, Copper Data Center Database, Corrosion Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Materials Business File, Mechanical Engineering Abstracts, METADEX, MicroPatent Materials Patents, and WELDASEARCH. [more]



NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)Anyone can use
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)NTRS provides access to approximately 500K aerospace related citations, 90K full-text online documents, and 111K images and videos. The type of information found in NTRS include: conference papers, images, journal articles, photos, meeting papers, movies, patents, research reports, and technical videos. [more]



Native Health Research DatabaseAnyone can use
Native Health Research DatabaseIndexes health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. Can search by tribe, state, region/province in addition to MeSH subject searches. Older literature (back to 1652) can be found in the Native Health History Database. [more]



OTSearchRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
OTSearchMaintained by the AOTA, this is the premier source for access to the literature of occupational therapy. Formerly known as OTBibSys. [more]



PAISRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
PAISPAIS covers the range of the social sciences, with emphasis on national and international economic, political and public policy issues. [more]



PrimateLitAnyone can use
PrimateLitSearch for information on nonhuman primates in journal articles, books, meeting abstracts, technical reports, dissertations and book chapters. Covers a variety of subject areas, including behavior, colony management, ecology, reproduction, field studies, disease models, veterinary science, psychology, physiology, pharmacology, evolution, taxonomy, developmental and molecular biology, genetics and zoogeography. Part of the University of Wisconsin’s Primate Info Net (PIN). [more]



ProQuest Technology CollectionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX, CSA High Technology Research Database with Aerospace, and the CSA Engineering Research Database, TRD, Technology Research Database, ProQuest Technology Collection

ProQuest Technology CollectionProQuest Technology Collection indexes over 16 million abstracts, over 7.7 million tables and figures, and includes over 2,700 full text journals. It is comprised of ProQuest Advanced Technologies with Aerospace Collection; ProQuest Materials Science Collection; ProQuest Engineering Collection; ProQuest Computer Science Collection; and ProQuest Illustrata: Technology. Coverage starts from 1962. [more]



Science AcceleratorAnyone can use
Science AcceleratorThe Science Accelerator searches simultaneously across key Department of Energy resources, including the OSTI full-text DOE Information Bridge (1991), the E-Print Network, the EnergyFiles, and DOE Patents. Provided by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information. [more]



SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Chemical Abstracts

SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)SciFinder Scholar contains a comprehensive database of chemical and chemical engineering literature including patents (1907 – date, with selected coverage back to 1878) and the CAS Registry with information on 18 million substances. Also useful for biotechnology, toxicology, environmental science, medicine, food science and nuclear science. Available via the web which requires registration using your MU e-mail address. [more]



ScopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ScopusScopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources, including open access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. [more]



Smoking and Health DatabasesAvailable only from within the Health Sciences Library.
Smoking and Health DatabasesLiterature on the scientific, medical, technical, policy, behavioral, legal, and historical aspects of smoking and tobacco use and its health effects. Includes abstracts of hard to find conference proceedings and government documents, many with historical significance. Although most items have been published since 1965, several records date back to the 1800s. From the Office of Smoking and Health, Centers for Disease Control. [more]



Sociological AbstractsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: sociology

Sociological AbstractsCSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. [more]



VetMed ResourceRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
VetMed ResourceContains the Veterinary Science Database, a subset of CAB Abstracts covering all aspects of veterinary medicine. Coverage includes companion animals, equines, food animals, aquaculture species, zoo animals, and wild animals. Also contains CAB Reviews; In Brief and In Depth articles; the Animal Health and Production Compendium; and a Calendar focused on veterinary conferences and other events worldwide. Geared toward those working in the field of veterinary medicine and animal health. [more]



Zoological Record/Biological Abstracts Archive CombinedRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Zoological Record/Biological Abstracts Archive CombinedBiological Abstracts Archive indexes and abstracts journal literature in the life sciences from 1980-2013. Zoological Record indexes and abstracts zoological literature including journals, conference proceedings and books. See the entries for each individual database for more information. [more]



 

DATABASES BY TYPE

Resources grouped by type or format of information that they provide (e.g. primary sources, images)


Try First: Resources for Research

 

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

 

 

 

  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar
 
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


 

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

 

  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Press Display Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • 2200 newspapers from 97 countries
  • original format and layout
  • last 60 days only

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date

LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

Trial Databases


 

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

American Bibliography of Slavic and Eastern European Studies (ABSEES) – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: ABSEES

American Bibliography of Slavic and Eastern European Studies (ABSEES) - TrialABSEES provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. It indexes books, dissertations, journals, select government publications and online resources covering anthropology, culture, economics, education and geography. Trial ends December 15, 2014. [more]



Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection Seminar Talks – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: henry stewart talks

Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection Seminar Talks - TrialThis collection provides access to over 1,500 online seminar style talks containing the latest research developments as well as the fundamentals presented by leading world experts, including Nobel Laureates. Trial ends December 31, 2014. [more]



CRCnetBASE – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
CRCnetBASE - TrialCRCnetBASE includes searchable access to more than 12,000 eBook titles, covering scientific, technical, business, engineering, medical and veterinary medical references. Trial ends Oct. 23, 2014. [more]



Digital Loeb Classical Library – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Digital Loeb Classical Library - TrialThe Digital Loeb Classical Library is a searchable collection of more than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek and English texts. Epic and lyric poetry, tragedy and comedy, history, travel, philosophy and oratory and others are included. Trial ends November 14, 2014. [more]



Digital Theatre Plus – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Digital Theatre Plus - TrialDigital Theatre Plus includes filmed theatre productions of classic texts from across the UK, the Broadway Digital Archive, filmed workshops with drama techniques and exercises, interviews with production teams and study guides. Trial ends November 15, 2014. [more]



Garland Encyclopedia of World Music – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music - TrialThe Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is an online reference resource devoted to music research about all of the world’s peoples. More than 9,000 pages of text material and 300 audio recordings come from 700 contributors worldwide. It providess an overview of the region, a survey of its musical heritage, traditions and themes; and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instrument, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies. Other images include drawings, maps, and musical examples for further study. Trial ends Nov. 7, 2014. [more]



Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) with Online Archive – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: RIPM

Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) with Online Archive - TrialIndexes over 200 music periodicals, including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press releases and more. The Archive includes full-text for over 118 primary source journals indexed in RIPM. Trial ends June 30, 2015. [more]



 

 

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources