Databases
Databases A-ZDatabases by SubjectDatabases by TypeTry First: Resources for ResearchTrial Databases
SEARCH FOR A DATABASE
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the
icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.
Results for: P
Palmer's Index to the Times
This index covers the London Times newspaper from 1790-1905. Part of C19 database. The MU Libraries has the London Times on microfilm in the Special Collections department. [more]
Search by active ingredient, (including CAS Registry Numbers) product name, or product category to discover uses, toxicity, and regulatory status of pesticides. From the Pesticides Action Network of North America. [more]
PapersFirst
Also Known as PapersFirst
PapersFirst contains citations to papers presented at congresses worldwide. [more]
A collection of databases relevant to the study of parks,recreation and tourism. The majority of databases in this collection are available only to MU affiliates. [more]
PDQ Clinical Trial Search Form
Provides a search of the web site for cancer clinical trials by diagnosis, phase, trial type, sponsorship, modality, drug and facility location. [more]
PDR: Physician's Desk Reference
Also Known as Physician's Desk Reference
This resource is meant to serve as an aid to doctor to help them not only know what to prescribe to patients, but to help them maintain the patients dedication to the regimen. The database has resources "for e-prescribing, electronic medical record (EMR), Electronic health record (EHR) applications, chain and independent pharmacies, and sponsors of healthcare education" [more]
PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database
Clinical trials and systematic reviews on the effectiveness of physical therapy interventions published in peer reviewed journals. All items are scored on methodological quality, and search results are ranked by methodological score. From the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at the University of Sydney. [more]
Performance Improvement Initiative Inventory (PI-3)
Also Known as PI-3, PI3
PI-3 is a database for long-term storage and sharing detailed information about specific UMHS improvement projects. The site allows users to enter project data, create reports and posters, and search existing projects for ideas and best practices. [more]
Formerly known as Periodical Contents Index, Periodicals Index Online covers magazines and journals published worldwide from 1790 to 1919. Part of C19 database. [more]
PERSEE is similar to JSTOR in providing full text in pdf format to back issues of hundreds of prestigious journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences (including a moving wall of three to five years depending on the journal.) Although the masthead identifies these as "scientific journals", they are French language academic journals in all subject areas. Database is primarily in french, though labels can be set to be displayed in English. [more]
Pharmacology Databases
Also Known as pharmacy
A collection of databases relevant to pharmacology. This collection contains a mixture of freely available resources and those only available to MU affiliates. [more]
PharmacyChecker.com
Also Known as pharmacy checker
Compare unit and total (including shipping) costs for drugs in the United States and Canada from pharmacies that sell online, via mail order or fax. [more]
Philosopher's Index
Also Known as Philosophers Index
This database is an index to articles on philosophy and related fields. [more]
A collection of databases relevant to the study of philosophy. This collection contains a mixture of resources freely available to the general public and those only available to MU affiliates. [more]
PhilPapers
Also Known as Phil Papers
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by philosophers. PhilPapers monitors all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. [more]
Physical Education Databases
Also Known as pe; P.E.; phys ed
A collection of databases relevant to the study of physical education. The databases in this collection are only available to MU affiliates. [more]
Physical Education Index includes physical education, sports, dance, recreation, health education, physical therapy, and related subject areas. Coverage includes peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, articles from the popular press, and many other publications. [more]
A collection of databases relevant to the study of psychical therapy. The majority of databases in this collection are available only to MU affiliates. [more]
A collection of databases relevant to physics. The majority of databases in this collection are available to MU affiliates only. [more]
PIVOT Funding Opportunities Database
Also Known as Community of Science; COS ; grants; Grant ForwardCommunity of Science; COS ; grants; Grants Forward
Formerly Community of Science Funding Opportunities. Similar to Grant Forward, Pivot Funding lists currently available grants for researchers in all disciplines. Both public and private funding sources are included. Also includes scholarships and fellowships for students. Provided by the MU Office of Research. [more]
Plant Management Network provides access to fact sheets, newsletters, product listings, training resources and related information. [more]
A collection of databases relevant to the study of the plant sciences. The databases in this collection are only available to MU affiliates. [more]
PMC - PubMed Central
Also Known as pub med central ; pmc ; pubmedcentral
The National Library of Medicine's digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature, providing free access to the full text of articles. Includes a growing number of final, peer-reviewed author manuscripts by scientists who receive research funding from NIH and other funding agencies, in addition to articles from journals that deposit their content in the archive. Frequently confused with PubMed, a much larger database of close to 20 million journal article citations (some of which have full text links). [more]
The POISINDEX System identifies ingredients for over 1 million household, cosmetic, commercial, harmaceutical and biological products and chemicals. Each substance is linked to one or more management documents providing informationon clinical effects, range of toxicity and treatment protocals for exposures involving the substances. Only accessible at University of Missouri Health Care facilities. [more]
Poisonous Plants Informational Database
Botany, chemistry, toxicology, diagnosis, and prevention of poisoning of animals by plants and other natural flora. Includes plant images and images of affected animals. Permits searches by common, scientific name and common poison. Allows users to search based on animal most commonly affected including Human (adults) Human (Children) Cats, Dogs and Others. From Cornell University. [more]
Political Science Databases
Also Known as pol sci; poly sci; poli sci; politics
A collection of databases relevant to the study of political science. The majority of databases in this collection are available only to MU affiliates. [more]
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature indexes British and American periodicals from 1824-1900. Matches pseudonyms to actual authors. Part of the C19 databases. No full-text. [more]
Provides a searchable index to the entire Population Index database for 1986-2000 (Volumes 52-66), plus annual Geographic Indexes. This bibliography is designed to cover the world's demographic and population literature. [more]
Portuguese Language and Literature Databases
Also Known as Language and Literature, Portuguese
A collection of database relevant to the study of the Portuguese language and literature. The majority of these databases are only available to MU affiliates. [more]
PreMEDLINE
Also Known as MEDLINE In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations; premedlineMEDLINE In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations; pre medline
PreMEDLINE provides basic citation information of articles currently being indexed for MEDLINE. [more]
Primary Search provides searchable full-text of nearly 70 of the most popular K-12 magazines. Access provided by MOREnet. [more]
Search for information on nonhuman primates in journal articles, books, meeting abstracts, technical reports, dissertations and book chapters. Covers a variety of subject areas, including behavior, colony management, ecology, reproduction, field studies, disease models, veterinary science, psychology, physiology, pharmacology, evolution, taxonomy, developmental and molecular biology, genetics and zoogeography. Part of the University of Wisconsin's Primate Info Net (PIN). [more]
ProceedingsFirst
Also Known as ProceedingsFirst
ProceedingsFirst is an index of worldwide conference proceedings, as well as a list of papers presented at various meetings. [more]
Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Access provided by MOREnet. [more]
Project Muse provides full-text access to more than 100 scholarly journal titles from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics. [more]
ProQuest Congressional
Also Known as Lexis Nexis Congressional; lexisnexisLexis Nexis Congressional; lexusLexis Nexis Congressional; lexus nexusLexis Nexis Congressional; lexis-nexisLexis Nexis Congressional; lexisLexis Nexis Congressional; lexiLexis Nexis Congressional; lexusnexusLexis Nexis Congressional; Pro QuestLexis Nexis Congressional; lexis nexisLexis Nexis Congressional; lexus-nexus
The ProQuest Congressional database indexes and provides full text access to government information dating to 1789. Content is sourced mainly from Congress and its committees, but some executive branch reports to Congress are also included. Document types include hearings (1824-2003), congressional committee prints and miscellaneous publications (1830-current), House and Senate documents and reports (1980-2003), the Congressional record and its predecessors (1789-1999), the Congressional Serial Set (1980-2003), and Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports(1916-2003). Some Government Accountability Office (GAO) reports from 2004 forward have been added to the database, though they are also freely available on GAO.gov. For a complete description of ProQuest Congressional contents, coverage, and update frequency, consult the Content Coverage Chart on the database's main search screen. [more]
Free basic searching of the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database [more]
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Also Known as Proquest Dissertations & Theses Database; Proquest Dissertations and Theses; ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Comprehensive curated collection of multi-disciplinary dissertations and theses from around the world, offering over 5 million citations and 3 million full-text works from thousands of universities. Access provided by the University of Missouri Graduate School [more]
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Searchable full-image of the Chicago Defender (1909-2010), Chicago Tribune (1849-1996), Los Angeles Times (1881-1995), St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003), New York Times (1851-2015), Wall Street Journal (1889-2002) and the Washington Post (1877-2002). [more]
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender
The Chicago Defender (1909-2010) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. [more]
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune
Searchable cover-to-cover full image of the Chicago Tribune from 1849-1990. [more]
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times
Also Known as LA Times
Full-text, searchable access to the Los Angeles Times from 1881-1995. [more]
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times
Also Known as New York Times;historical New York Times; NYT; proquestNew York Times;historical New York Times; NYT; pro quest
ProQuest Historical Newspapers digitally reproduces every issue of the New York Times (1851-2010) from cover-to-cover. It provides full page-image and full-text searching of the newspaper. [more]
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: St. Louis Post-Dispatch
Full-text, searchable access to the St. Louis Post-Dispatch from 1874-2003, including news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons and more. [more]
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal
Also Known as WSJ
Searchable cover-to-cover full image of the Wall Street Journal from 1889-2002. [more]
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington Post
Searchable cover-to-cover full image of the Washington Post from 1877-1997. [more]
ProQuest Legislative Insight
Also Known as proquest; pro quest
A legislative history reveals the intent behind a specific law. Legislative histories are helpful to students preparing for careers in public health, education, business, or any other discipline subject to Federal regulation. This database provides searchable full text PDFs for Public Laws and for all versions of bills leading up to those laws. In addition, it presents just the relevant portions of the Congressional Record along with committee hearings, reports, and prints. Also included are Presidential signing statements, Congressional Research Service reports, and other congressional publications related to the law. [more]
ProQuest Technology Collection
Also Known as CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX, CSA High Technology Research Database with Aerospace, and the CSA Engineering Research Database, TRD, Technology Research Database, ProQuest Technology Collection
ProQuest Technology Collection indexes over 16 million abstracts, over 7.7 million tables and figures, and includes over 2,700 full text journals. It is comprised of ProQuest Advanced Technologies with Aerospace Collection; ProQuest Materials Science Collection; ProQuest Engineering Collection; ProQuest Computer Science Collection; and ProQuest Illustrata: Technology. Coverage starts from 1962. [more]
Search more than 50,000 chains of 3-D protein structures by ID or query by example to identify similar structures. [more]
psychiatryonline
Also Known as Psychiatry Online ; pol
Books, journals, guidelines, patient education materials, and DSM from the American Psychiatric Association. Book content provided with the assistance of the Department of Psychiatry. [more]
A collection of databases relevant to psychology. This collection contains a mixture of databases freely available to the general public and those available only to MU affiliates. [more]
PsycINFO
Also Known as Psychological Abstracts; psychinfoPsychological Abstracts; psychoinfoPsychological Abstracts; psyc infoPsychological Abstracts; psychology
Locate articles in articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. From the American Psychological Association. Includes a feature to suggest productive search terms to guide users to relevant results. [more]
PsycINFO with PsycARTICLES
Also Known as psychological abstracts; psycharticlespsychological abstracts; psychological abstractspsychological abstracts; psyc articlespsychological abstracts; psyc infopsychological abstracts; psyc inforpsychological abstracts; psycarticlespsychological abstracts; psych articlespsychological abstracts; psych infopsychological abstracts; psychinfopsychological abstracts; pyschpsychological abstracts; pyscho
PsycINFO contains references to articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. With the inclusion of PsycARTICLES, over 149,000 full-text articles from more than 70 journals published by the American Psychological Association and participating publishers are provided. [more]
PTSDpubs
Also Known as Formerly known as PILOTS - Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress.
Indexes world literature on traumatic stress disorder. Although it's created/maintained by the US Department of Veterans Affairs, it covers all types of traumatic stress, not just post-combat stress syndromes. [more]
Locate information on structure and biological activity of over 800,000 small organic molecules. Search by substance, bioassay or compound. Information is imported from 14 public sources, including ChemID plus. Structure and similarity searching are also supported. From the National Center for Biotechnology Information, it includes links to other Pubmed Entrez databases. [more]
A collection of databases relevant to the study of public policy. The majority of these databases are available only to MU affiliates. [more]
PubMed
Also Known as MEDLARS; Index Medicus; PMID; pub med; pumed
The National Library of Medicine free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier
here. [more]
,
DATABASES BY SUBJECT
- Accounting
- Aging Studies
- Agricultural Economics
- Agriculture
- Agronomy
- Animal Sciences
- Anthropology
- Archaeology
- Architecture
- Art & Art History
- Atmospheric Sciences
- Biochemistry
- Biological Engineering
- Biology
- Black Studies
- Business
- Chemistry
- Children's Literature
- Classical Art & Archaeology
- Classics
- Communication
- Company Information
- Computer Science
- Curriculum & Instruction
- Data Sets
- Economics
- Education
- Engineering (general)
- Engineering, Chemical
- Engineering, Civil
- Engineering, Electrical & Computer
- Engineering, Environmental
- Engineering, Geological & Geotechnical
- Engineering, Industrial & Manufacturing Systems
- Engineering, Mechanical & Aerospace
- Engineering, Nuclear Science
- Entomology
- Entrepreneurship and Small Business
- Environmental Science
- Exercise physiology
- Film Studies
- Finance
- Fisheries
- Food Science & Nutrition
- Forestry
- Genetics
- Geography
- Geology
- Historical Newspapers
- History (general)
- History, 19th Century U.S.
- History, U.S. (recent)
- History of the British Empire
- Hospitality
- Industry Information
- International/Foreign Countries
- Journalism: General Databases
- Language and Literature, English
- Language and Literature, French
- Language and Literature, German
- Language and Literature, Italian
- Language and Literature, Portuguese
- Language and Literature, Russian
- Language and Literature, Spanish
- Languages and Linguistics
- Law
- Library Science
- Management
- Marketing
- Materials Science
- Mathematics
- Medicine
- Music
- Natural Resources
- Nursing
- Nutrition
- Occupational Therapy
- Parks, Recreation & Tourism
- Pharmacology
- Philosophy
- Physical Education
- Physical Therapy
- Physics
- Plant Sciences
- Political Science
- Psychology
- Public Policy
- Religious Studies
- Science (general)
- Social Work
- Sociology
- Soil Science
- Sports and Sport Venue Management
- Statistics
- Textile and Apparel Management
- Theatre
- Transportation
- Veterinary Medicine
- Wildlife
- Wine
- Women & Gender Studies
DATABASES BY TYPE
Resources grouped by type or format of information that they provide (e.g. primary sources, images)
- Audio
- Biographies
- Book Chapters
- Book Reviews
- Books
- Catalogs
- Chemical Substances
- Cited References
- Company Information
- Conference Proceedings
- Dictionaries and Thesauri
- Directories
- Disease Information
- Dissertations and Theses
- Drug Information
- Encyclopedias
- Government Documents
- Grants
- Guidelines/Critical Pathways
- Handbooks and Manuals
TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH
General and Multidisciplinary Databases
The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.
- Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
- Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals
- Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
- Find out who's citing particular articles
- Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
- Does not include the last five years of issues
- Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
- Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more
- Search for scholarly articles, books and theses
Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks
Current and Controversial Issues
Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies
|
News and Newspapers
- Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
- Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
- 1980's to date
- Company business and financial information
- Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
- 1980's to date
- Full-text newspapers and trade journals
- Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
- 1980's to date
Proquest Historical Newspapers
- Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
- Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times
Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources
- Create citations in APA and MLA format: Citation Builder
- Manage your references and automatically create bibliographies and in-text citations.
TRIAL DATABASES
The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.
Music and Dance Online - Trial
Includes over 1 million audio tracks, 2,500 hours of video, 1.4 million pages of scores, and 500,000+ pages of reference, archival primary sources, and periodicals. Broad-ranging materials include video of live performances, audio recordings, instructional films, previously unpublished works from acclaimed playwrights, performance posters and playbills, video interviews, and choreography not seen since the time of its original performance. Trial ends April 17, 2023. [more]
Please give feedback for the trial.
Please give feedback for the trial.
Conditions of Use
Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources.
You MUST
- Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
- Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
- Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration
- Comply with all applicable laws concerning copyright and intellectual property
You MUST NOT
- Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
- Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources