Databases
Databases A-ZDatabases by SubjectDatabases by TypeTry First: Resources for ResearchTrial Databases
SEARCH FOR A DATABASE
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the
icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.
Results for: M
Making of Modern Law - Legal Treatises 1800-1926
Making of Modern Law - Legal Treatises 1800-1926 provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Access provided to the campus by the MU Law Library. [more]
Making of Modern Law - Trials 1600-1926
Making of Modern Law - Trials 1600-1926 contains over 7,000 trial transcripts from Harvard, Yale, and the Library of the Bar of the City of New York give scholars insight on class structure and the making of modern law. Access provided to the campus by the MU Law Library. [more]
Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law, 1600-1926
This database includes pre-1926 treatises and similar monographs in the following areas: International, Comparative, Foreign, Roman, Islamic, Jewish, and Ancient Law. 50% of the texts are in English; 50% in the following Western European languages:French, Spanish, German, Latin, and Italian. Access provided to the campus by the MU Law Library. [more]
Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources 1600-1926
Based primarily on holdings of the Lillian Goldman Law Library at Yale University, including early state codes, city charters, and documents relating to constitutional conventions. Missouri resources include state constitutional conventions, adopted Constitutions, and historical Revised Statutes, among other resources. Access provided by the MU Law Library. [more]
This is a link to a subject guide listing all the Management Subject Databases offered by Ellis library at University of Missouri. [more]
This is a link to a subject guide listing all the Marketing databases provided by Ellis Library at the University of Missouri. [more]
MAS Ultra - School Edition is a searchable full-text index K-12 magazines, biographies, primary source documents, reference books and an image collection containing photos and maps. Access provided by MOREnet. [more]
MasterFile Premier provides searchable full-text for nearly 1,750 general interest, business, health, and multi-cultural magazines and journals. Access provided by MOREnet. [more]
MasterPlots Complete contains plot summaries, brief critical essays, author biographies for fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama worldwide. CD-ROM only accessible within Ellis Library. [more]
Materials Research Database with METADEX
Also Known as Materials Science; AIAMaterials Science; Advanced Polymers AbstractsMaterials Science; World Ceramic AbstractsMaterials Science; World Aluminum AbstractsMaterials Science; WELDASEARCHMaterials Science; WAAMaterials Science; Metals Abstracts IndexMaterials Science; METADEXMaterials Science; Alloys IndexMaterials Science; Ceramic AbstractsMaterials Science; Ceramics SubfileMaterials Science; Composites Industry AbstractsMaterials Science; Copper Data Center DatabaseMaterials Science; Corrosion AbstractsMaterials Science; CSA MaterialsMaterials Science; CSA Materials Research DatabaseMaterials Science; EMAMaterials Science; Engineered Materials AbstractsMaterials Science; Material ScienceMaterials Science; Materials Business FileMaterials Science; Metals Abstracts
Brings together materials science databases, covering materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications, including the use of materials in orthopedics and dentistry. Everything from raw materials and refining through processing, welding, and fabrication to end use, corrosion, performance, and recycling is covered in for all metals, polymers, ceramics, and composites. The collection comprises several databases which may be searched individually or all together. The databases included in the collection are: Aluminum Industry Abstracts, Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts, Copper Data Center Database, Corrosion Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Materials Business File, Mechanical Engineering Abstracts, METADEX, MicroPatent Materials Patents, and WELDASEARCH. [more]
Product identification, manufacturer, emergency and safety information for over 180,000 products manufactured in the U.S. and Canada. Search by product name, company, CAS registry number, or NSN. [more]
Materials Science Databases
Also Known as material science; material sci
This is a link to a subject guide listing all the Material Science databases offered by Ellis Library at the University of Missouri. [more]
This is a link to a subject guide listing all the Mathematics databases that are offered by Ellis Library at the University of Missouri. [more]
MathSciNet
Also Known as AMS Database; American Mathematical Society Database; MR; Math-Sci Net; Mathmatical Reviews; Mathematical Reviews; Math/Sci/Net; Math/Sci Net; Math Sci Net
MathSciNet is an index of articles related to pure and applied mathematics. It is based on the data in the Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. [more]
MAUDE - Manufacturer and User Facility Device Experience Database
MAUDE data represents reports of adverse events involving medical devices. The data consists of all voluntary reports since June, 1993, user facility reports since 1991, distributor reports since 1993, and manufacturer reports since August, 1996. From the FDA Center for Devices & Radiological Health. [more]
MDConsult
Also Known as MD Consult ; md-consult; md consult
MDConsult has been replaced by a new product called ClinicalKey. ClinicalKey contains all of the MDConsult content plus much more: over 1,000 additional clinical e-books and over 20,000 videos. In addition, FirstConsult and Vitals, point-of-care information for medicine and surgery, are included. [more]
MDR Medical Device Reporting Database
This database allows you to search the CDRH's database information on medical devices which may have malfunctioned or caused a death or serious injury during the years 1992 through 1996. From the FDA Center for Devices & Radiological Health. [more]
This is a link to a subject guide listing several databases provided by the J. Otto Lottes Health Sciences Library at the University of Missouri. [more]
MEDLINE (Ovid)
Also Known as Index Medicus; medline; Cancer lit
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier
here. [more]
Premier life sciences database from the National Library of Medicine, covering biomedicine and life sciences, bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science. Search by topic, MeSH terms, and CAS registry numbers; link to NCBI databases and PubMed Related Articles. Includes times cited information from the Web of Science Core Collection. [more]
A google-like search box to pull only the 5 most relevant results from MEDLINE, plus background information on diseases and drugs from DynaMed. [more]
MedlinePlus
Also Known as medline plus
The premier consumer health gateway from the National Library Medicine. Contents include a medical encyclopedia, drug information and links to evaluated health information. [more]
The Mental Measurements Yearbook series, produced since 1938 by the Buros Institute, provides critical evaluations for over 2,000 commercial tests within a wide variety of areas that include education, psychology, business, aptitude, achievement, and intelligence. [more]
Updated weekly. Provides immediate access to data on more than 10,000 NYSE, AMEX, Nasdaq and other select regional exchange companies. Coverage includes: history, business description, properties, subsidiaries, officers, directors, long-term debt, Moody's rating, capital stock, income statement, balance sheet, statements of cash flow, auditors, exchange and ticker symbol, number of employees, number of shareholders, address, telephone number, annual stock price ranges, trustee, registrar, transfer agent, stock splits, annual meeting date, Moody's news reports, and direct, real-time access to the EDGAR, the SEC website which includes are annual, quarterly, and special corporation records. [more]
Mergent Web Reports/Digitized Archive Manuals
Mergent WebReports/Digitized Archive Manuals: provides electronic access to all Moody's/Mergent manuals ever published dating back to 1909. (Municipal and Govt manual currently not available.) WebReports contain more than 180,000 documents covering over 100 countries and industries using an easy-to-navigate and reliable system. [more]
MERLIN
Also Known as Library Catalog
Locate books, journals, magazines, newspapers, sound recordings, videos, etc. owned by the MU Libraries [more]
MERLIN Dissertation and Theses Search
Theses and dissertations completed at MU are listed in the MERLIN Catalog. Browse the list of departments or search by author or title. Most MU dissertations written before 1995 will be in the UM Library Depository. Use the Request button to have it delivered to the library to check out. Many dissertations written since 1995 are available online. Click on the link in the MERLIN record to access it. [more]
MICROMEDEX
Also Known as micromedix
A variety of databases covering topics such as medicine, drugs, alternative and complementary medicine, patient education and occupational health. Search multiple Micromedex databases via the Integrated Index (http://micromedex.umh.edu ) feature or search individual databases. Brought to you by University of Missouri Health Care. [more]
Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies
The Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies database is no longer accessible. This link will provide information on similar resources. [more]
Middle English Compendium
Also Known as MED; Middle English DictionaryMED; Hyperbibliography of Middle English prose and verseMED; Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse
The Middle English Compendium provides interlinked access to several resources: the online Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, with links to associated online resources. [more]
Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. It also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags. Access provided by MOREnet. [more]
Includes market research reports for the US. Reports cover a variety of sectors including consumer goods, travel and tourism, financial industry, internet industry, retail, and food & drink. Reports discuss market drivers, market size & trends, market segmentation, supply structure, advertising and promotion, retail distribution, consumer characteristics, and market forecasts. Also included are management and company reports for companies mentioned in the reports. In order to use Mintel, you must first agree to the terms of Mintel Academic Access. [more]
MLA Directory of Periodicals is a directory of over 3,700 periodicals in literature, language, linguistics, folklore. [more]
MLA International Bibliography Full Text
MLA indexes critical scholarship in the modern languages, literatures, linguistics and folklore. [more]
MOBIUS - Missouri Bibliographic Information User System
Also Known as mobias; moibus; moebius
Search the collections of over 70 college and university libraries throughout Missouri. Books can be ordered at no cost using your employee or student ID, and can picked up at a nearby MOBIUS library of your choice. [more]
Molecular Imaging and Contrast Agent Database
Also Known as MICAD
Information on structure, synthesis and uses of in vivo molecular agents developed for positron emission tomography (PET), single photon emission computed tomography (SPECT), magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), ultrasound (US), computed tomography (CT), optical imaging, and planar radiography, gamma imaging and other methods. Includes links to MEDLINE and other NIH and NCBI resources. [more]
Monumenta Germaniae Historica Digital (MGH)
MGH is a comprehensive collection of medieval sources for the study of German history from the end of the Roman Empire to 1500. The digital version includes volumes in print for more than five years. Print volumes are available in the MU Libraries. The default language of this website is German. [more]
MOspace: Institutional Repository
Also Known as mo space; mu digital institutional repository
MOspace is the digital institutional repository of the University of Missouri System, and is a joint initiative of the University Libraries, the Office of Library Systems, and the Division of Information Technology. It is a permanent digital storehouse of research and knowledge, focusing on works created by those connected with the University of Missouri. MOspace is place where faculty, staff and students can store their intellectual output, and depend upon a permanent URL. Authors can submit works directly to mospace@missouri.edu; most electronic formats are accepted for submission.
[more]
Movie Review Query Engine
Also Known as MRQE
This website primarily functions as a review aggregate similar to Rotten Tomatoes. It assigns a grade based on the average of the critical reviews it receives with A=100 B=75 C=50 D=25 F=0 . The website also collects information based on interviews, blogs, news and other material. The website partners with Gowatchit.com and thus can help users find either where a movie can be seen, or notify them when it becomes available. [more]
A collection of databases relevant to the study of music. This guide contains a mixture of resources available to the general public and those only available to MU affiliates. [more]
Music Index covers more than 40 international music periodicals, listing articles dealing with every aspect of classical and popular music. [more]
,
DATABASES BY SUBJECT
- Accounting
- Aging Studies
- Agricultural Economics
- Agriculture
- Agronomy
- Animal Sciences
- Anthropology
- Archaeology
- Architecture
- Art & Art History
- Atmospheric Sciences
- Biochemistry
- Biological Engineering
- Biology
- Black Studies
- Business
- Chemistry
- Children's Literature
- Classical Art & Archaeology
- Classics
- Communication
- Company Information
- Computer Science
- Curriculum & Instruction
- Data Sets
- Economics
- Education
- Engineering (general)
- Engineering, Chemical
- Engineering, Civil
- Engineering, Electrical & Computer
- Engineering, Environmental
- Engineering, Geological & Geotechnical
- Engineering, Industrial & Manufacturing Systems
- Engineering, Mechanical & Aerospace
- Engineering, Nuclear Science
- Entomology
- Entrepreneurship and Small Business
- Environmental Science
- Exercise physiology
- Film Studies
- Finance
- Fisheries
- Food Science & Nutrition
- Forestry
- Genetics
- Geography
- Geology
- Historical Newspapers
- History (general)
- History, 19th Century U.S.
- History, U.S. (recent)
- History of the British Empire
- Hospitality
- Industry Information
- International/Foreign Countries
- Journalism: General Databases
- Language and Literature, English
- Language and Literature, French
- Language and Literature, German
- Language and Literature, Italian
- Language and Literature, Portuguese
- Language and Literature, Russian
- Language and Literature, Spanish
- Languages and Linguistics
- Law
- Library Science
- Management
- Marketing
- Materials Science
- Mathematics
- Medicine
- Music
- Natural Resources
- Nursing
- Nutrition
- Occupational Therapy
- Parks, Recreation & Tourism
- Pharmacology
- Philosophy
- Physical Education
- Physical Therapy
- Physics
- Plant Sciences
- Political Science
- Psychology
- Public Policy
- Religious Studies
- Science (general)
- Social Work
- Sociology
- Soil Science
- Sports and Sport Venue Management
- Statistics
- Textile and Apparel Management
- Theatre
- Transportation
- Veterinary Medicine
- Wildlife
- Wine
- Women & Gender Studies
DATABASES BY TYPE
Resources grouped by type or format of information that they provide (e.g. primary sources, images)
- Audio
- Biographies
- Book Chapters
- Book Reviews
- Books
- Catalogs
- Chemical Substances
- Cited References
- Company Information
- Conference Proceedings
- Dictionaries and Thesauri
- Directories
- Disease Information
- Dissertations and Theses
- Drug Information
- Encyclopedias
- Government Documents
- Grants
- Guidelines/Critical Pathways
- Handbooks and Manuals
TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH
General and Multidisciplinary Databases
The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.
- Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
- Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals
- Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
- Find out who's citing particular articles
- Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
- Does not include the last five years of issues
- Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
- Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more
- Search for scholarly articles, books and theses
Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks
Current and Controversial Issues
Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies
|
News and Newspapers
- Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
- Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
- 1980's to date
- Company business and financial information
- Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
- 1980's to date
- Full-text newspapers and trade journals
- Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
- 1980's to date
Proquest Historical Newspapers
- Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
- Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times
Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources
- Create citations in APA and MLA format: Citation Builder
- Manage your references and automatically create bibliographies and in-text citations.
TRIAL DATABASES
The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.
ASME Standards - Trial
Also Known as American Society of Mechanical Engineers Standards
Contains full-text access to all active American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) standards, including the Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (BPVC). These codes and standards cover a breadth of topics, including pressure technology, nuclear plants, elevators/escalators, construction, engineering design, standardization, and performance testing. Trial ends June 1st, 2024. [more]
Please give feedback for the trial.
Please give feedback for the trial.
Conditions of Use
Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources.
You MUST
- Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
- Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
- Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration
- Comply with all applicable laws concerning copyright and intellectual property
You MUST NOT
- Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
- Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources