Databases // Libraries // Mizzou // University of Missouri

Databases

Databases A-ZDatabases by SubjectDatabases by TypeTry First: Resources for ResearchTrial Databases

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the MU logo icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Results for: A

AAMI Standards Search Anyone can use

Also Known as Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation Standards Search; AAMI Database

Search the Association for Advancement of Medical Instrumentation database for books, reports, final and draft standards available for sale from AAMI. Also includes information about active ISO, IEC and AAMI standards projects and other technical committee news. [more]

AAPG Digital Library - American Association of Petroleum Geologists Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as AAPG Datapages

The AAPG Digital Library (American Association of Petroleum Geologists) consists of over 600,000 pages of petroleum, geology and geophysics information mainly from international, national and regional geological society publications and the AAPG. [more]

ABELL Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature; AbleAnnual Bibliography of English Language and Literature; Abel

ABELL lists monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations dealing with the study of literature and linguistics published anywhere in the world. Coverage is 1920 to date. [more]

Academic Search Premier Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as ASP; Academic Search Premere; Academic Search Premiere

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. [more]

Accounting Databases Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A collection of databases relevant to accounting. These databases are available only to MU affiliates. [more]

ACM Digital Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as Association for Computing Machinery; AMC Digital Library; ACM Digital; ACM Portal; ACMDL

ACM Digital Library provides bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews and the full-text for articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since its founding in 1947. Also provides selected works published by affiliated organizations. [more]

AdAge Datacenter Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as Advertising Age

To access the Datacenter, click the link at the top of the Advertising Age homepage. The Datacenter includes profiles of advertisers and media companies and data on ad spending, agency rankings and markets. [more]

Adforum Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

AdForum is an internationally focused database provides access to over 35,000 advertisements in all media, including audio and video. AdForum also provides access to advertising agency information, news, and other information related to the advertising industry. [more]

African American Communities Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

African American Communities contains digitized primary sources related to African American communities in North, South and Midwest, specifically, St. Louis, Chicago, Atlanta, Brooklyn and some North Carolina towns. Included are documents pertaining to the infamous Pruitt-Igoe housing project, various urban issues around schools, housing and police relations, interviews with key figures in the African-American arts scene in Atlanta, and a complete run of The Messenger, characterized by the Justice Department in 1919 as "the most able and the most dangerous of all the Negro publications." [more]

African American Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Full text collection of African American newspapers from the 1800s, with articles, editorials, poetry, prose, advertisements, vital statistics, essays, and early biographies. [more]

African American Periodicals 1825-1995 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports and other genres. [more]

African Index Medicus Anyone can use

Focuses on sources not indexed in MEDLINE, including books, theses, and agency reports. From the Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA) with the technical support of the World Health Organization [more]

Agencywide Documents Access and Management System (ADAMS) Anyone can use
Also Known as ADAMS; NCR: Web-Based Access to ADAMS; NCR ADAMS database; NCR ADAMS

ADAMS indexes the regulatory and technical documents of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), its contractors and licensees. Includes full-text from November 1, 1999, with bibliographic records going back to 1981. These earlier materials are available in the NUDOCS microfiche collection housed in the Engineering Library & Technology Commons. [more]

AGRICOLA Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as agriculture; agrikola; AGRICultural OnLine Access

AGRICOLA is produced by the U.S. National Agricultural Library and provides access to worldwide periodical literature and USDA publications. Subject coverage includes plant and animal sciences, food and nutrition, agriculture, biotechnology, entomology, forestry, and wildlife. [more]

Agricultural Economics Databases Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A collection of databases relevant to the field of agricultural economics. These databases are available only to MU affiliates [more]

Agriculture Databases Anyone can use

A collection of databases relevant to agriculture. The majority of these databases are only available to MU affiliates. [more]

Agronomy Databases Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A collection of databases relevant to agronomy. These databases are available only to MU affiliates [more]

AHRQ Innovations Exchange Anyone can use
Also Known as Innovations Exchange; ARHQInnovations Exchange; Innovation

The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) Innovations Exchange is a web-based resource designed to support health care professionals in sharing and adopting innovations that improve health care quality. The website includes a clearinghouse of innovative ideas and opportunities to learn and share ideas with others. Submissions of innovative approaches to patient care delivery are welcomed. [more]

AIDSinfo Anyone can use

Over 700 descriptions of current and closed clinical trials for AIDS. Also includes information on AIDS treatment guidelines, drugs and vaccines. [more]

AIDSinfo Drug Database Anyone can use

A dictionary of over 240 chemical and biological agents. Each entry includes pharmacologic action, adverse reactions, chemical and trade names, contraindications, physical/chemical properties, and manufacturers' names. A service of the Dept. of Health and Human Services. [more]

Air Force History Index Anyone can use

The United States Air Force Historical Research Agency maintains hundreds of thousands of historically significant U.S. Air Force documents representing some 70 million pages. These include unit histories, special studies, personal papers, end-of-tour reports, oral histories, interview transcripts, and more. This databases is an index only, and thus does not have full text articles available for download. [more]

Alliance for Audited Media Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as ABC; Audit Bureau of Circulation; AAM

Alliance for Audited Media (AAM) [formerly: Audit Bureau of Circulation (ABC)] provides circulation statistics for several thousand US and Canadian newspapers and periodical publications. Reports include statistics on paid and non-paid subscriptions, including digital subscriptions, home delivery and single-copy sales and are in PDF format. Yearly audit reports also include geographic breakdowns of circulation and some demographic information on readership. Search by title, periodical classification, market area, or circulation size. [more]

ALTBIB: Bibliography on the use of live vertebrates in biomedical research and testing Anyone can use

A searchable bibliography of animal testing alternatives. Citations come from journal articles indexed in National Library of Medicine Databases. [more]

AM Explorer Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as Adam Matthew Explorer

Access to primary source collections spanning 800 years of world history. [more]

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as AAS; AAS Historical Periodicals Collection

Over 7000 full-text magazines published from 1684 through 1912, and collected by the American Antiquarian Society, reflecting many subjects and the development of the United States. [more]

American Chemical Society Journals Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as ACS journals; ACS publications; American Chemical Society publications

This database indexes full-text journals from the American Chemical Society. [more]

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as civil war letters and diaries

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries offers full-text searchable letters and diaries of soldiers and noncombatants on both sides of the U.S. Civil War. The database can be searched and browsed in many ways, including by U.S. state, topics described, year of writers death, Union or Confederate loyalty, and other variables. [more]

American FactFinder Anyone can use

Provides access to U.S. Census information by community. [more]

American Institute of Physics Journals Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as AIP journals; American Institute of Physics; AIP

American Institute of Physics Journals offers full-text coverage of most AIP journals. Coverage varies according to journal. [more]

American Law Institute Library Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as American Law Institute Library; HeinOnline American Law Institute

The archives of the American Law Institute (ALI) include editions of the Uniform Commercial Code, restatements of the law on a variety of topics, and special publications of the ALI including the ALI Reporter. Access provided to the campus by the MU Law Library. [more]

American Meterological Society Journals Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Full-text of AMS journals. [more]

American Periodical Series Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as APS; american periodical series online; american periodicals series

American Periodical Series Online is full-text collection of over 1,100 magazines and journals published between 1741 and 1900. [more]

American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as APA guidelines; APA practice guidelines

American Psychiatric Association (APA) practice guidelines provide evidence-based recommendations for the assessment and treatment of psychiatric disorders. Practice Guidelines are intended to assist in clinical decision making by presenting systemically developed patient care strategies in a standardized format. While it contains coverage from 1992, only documents created or updated within the last five years are considered to be current practice. Any other documents are considered to be outdated. [more]

American State Papers, 1789-1838 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as American State Papers

American State Papers, 1789-1838, features not only new bibliographic records for every one of its 6,354 publications, but also superior images created by digitizing every page of every publication from the print volumes issued between 1832 and 1861. Unlike the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, the publications in the American State Papers are not divided into reports and documents and do not include House and Senate journals. Approximately two-thirds of the publications cover the first 14 Congresses (1789-1817), whereas the remaining third chronologically overlap with the Serial Set from 1817-1838. [more]

Animal Sciences Databases Anyone can use

A collection of databases relevant to the animal sciences. The majority of these databases are available only to MU affiliates. [more]

Anthropology Databases Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A collection of databases relevant to anthropology. These databases are available only to MU affiliates. [more]

AnthroSource Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as Anthro source

AnthroSource covers current issues for 15 key American Anthropological Association publications, including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, and Medical Anthropology Quarterly. Back issues of all AAA journals. [more]

AP Stylebook Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as AP Guide; AP Style; associated press style book; Associated Press Stylebook

The Associated Press Stylebook and Webster's New World Online provides a comprehensive guide to Associated Press usage and accepted style, with chapters on religion, fashion, food, broadcast, business, sports and social media. Now includes 185,000 definitions from Webster's New World College Dictionary. Columbia Missourian Stylebook is also included. [more]

Archaeology Databases Anyone can use

A collection of databases relevant to archaeology. The only database available to non Mu affiliates is Zenon DAI. Zenon DAI is a database available in multiple languages; however, the default may not be English for new users. New users may have to click the English flag icon in order to display the official translation. [more]

Architecture Databases Anyone can use

A collection of databases relevant to architecture. The majority of these databases are available only to MU affiliates [more]

ArchiveGrid Anyone can use
Also Known as Archive Grid

ArchiveGrid is a resource for searching through nearly a million collection descriptions from thousands of libraries, museums, and archives. [more]

Archives USA Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Archives USA is a current directory of 5,596 repositories and 154,678 collections of primary source material across the United States. Using Archives USA, researchers can read descriptions of holdings of repositories to determine whether a collection contains material relevant to their work as well as find the information they need to contact the repository directly. C19 Index contains 61,647 records detailing the collections and repositories in the United States that hold 19th century research materials. Part of C19 database. No full text. [more]

Art & Art History Databases Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A collection of databases relevant to the fields of art and art history. These databases are available only to MU affiliates. [more]

Art Full Text Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as Wilson; Art Index

Art Index provides citations to articles and book reviews in about 270 periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins published primarily in the U.S. and Europe. Includes archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, film, industrial and interior design, and photography. [more]

ARTFL Project Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as artful project

ARTFL Project is a collection of nearly 2000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing from 13th through the 20th centuries. [more]

ArticleFirst Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as article first; articles first

ArticleFirst is an OCLC index of articles from approximately 16,000 journals. Subjects covered include business, social science, science, technology, humanities, medicine, and culture. Coverage is 1990 to date. [more]

ARTStor Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as art store; art stor; artstore; artsor; arstore; arstor

ARTstor is a digital library of approximately 550,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Partial funding was provided by the Student Fee Capital Improvement Committee. [more]

arXiv Anyone can use

Index to over 500,000 e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. [more]

ASABE Technical Library Anyone can use

Search all recent technical documents published by the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. Anyone can view the abstracts. Access to the full text is via ASABE membership or site license. [more]

ASCE Civil Engineering Database Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as ASCE CE Database; CEDB

The Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) is designed to provide easy bibliographic access to all ASCE publications. The database covers all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, and magazines, [more]

ASCE Research Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as ACSE Research Library; American Society of Civil Engineers; ASCE; ASCE Journals; ASCE Library; ASCE Online Journal Archive

The ASCE Research Library is a comprehensive online tool for locating articles of interest across all disciplines of civil engineering. The Research Library provides you with unprecedented access to more than 40,000 full-text papers from ASCE Journals and Proceedings published since 1995. That is over 400,000 pages. Approximately 4,000 new papers will be added each year. [more]

askHERMES Anyone can use
Also Known as ask hermes ; medQA ; med Q A ; MedQ@A

An experimental search engine to mine PubMed/MEDLINE, eMedicine, and the National Guideline Clearinghouse for answers to clinical questions. Type in a specific question for best results. [more]

ASME Digital Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as American Society of Mechanical Engineers Digital Library

The ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) Digital Library, is ASME's primary repository of current and archival literature featuring: Transaction Journals from 1990 to the present and Conference Proceedings from 2009 to the present. [more]

ASME Standards - Trial Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as American Society of Mechanical Engineers Standards

Contains full-text access to all active American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) standards, including the Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (BPVC). These codes and standards cover a breadth of topics, including pressure technology, nuclear plants, elevators/escalators, construction, engineering design, standardization, and performance testing. Trial ends June 1st, 2024. [more]
Please give feedback for the trial.

ASTM Compass Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as ATSM Standards; American Society for Testing and Materials; ASTM International; ASTM Index; Annual Book of ASTM Standards; Annual ASTM Standards

ASTM Standards is a collection of 9,100 standards for testing methods, definitions, practices and classifications, covering metals, construction, petroleum products, textiles, paints, plastics, rubber, electrical insulation and electronics, energy sources and medical devices. [more]

ATLA Religion Database Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as ATLA; ATLA Religion; atlareligion

ATLA Religion Database contains citations from 3 print indexes published annually by ATLA (American Theological Library Association). Coverage is 1949 to date. [more]

Atmospheric Sciences Databases Anyone can use

A collection of databases relevant to atmospheric science. This collection contains a mixture of freely available resources and those available only to MU affiliates. [more]

Avery Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Avery Index indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture, archaeology, city planning, interior design and historic preservation. Coverage is from the early 1930's to date. [more]

DATABASES BY SUBJECT

DATABASES BY TYPE

Resources grouped by type or format of information that they provide (e.g. primary sources, images)

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
Find out who's citing particular articles

Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
Does not include the last five years of issues

Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Current and Controversial Issues

1991 to date
Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

Pros and cons of controversial issues

News and Newspapers

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
1980's to date
Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
1980's to date

Full-text newspapers and trade journals
Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

Create citations in APA and MLA format: Citation Builder
Manage your references and automatically create bibliographies and in-text citations.
- Endnote
- Zotero
- Mendeley

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

ASME Standards - Trial Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Also Known as American Society of Mechanical Engineers Standards

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources.

You MUST

Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration
Comply with all applicable laws concerning copyright and intellectual property

You MUST NOT

Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources