Databases
Databases A-ZDatabases by SubjectDatabases by TypeTry First: Resources for ResearchTrial Databases
SEARCH FOR A DATABASE
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the
icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.
Results for: L
L'Annee Philologique
Also Known as annee; Annee Philologique; l'annee; l'annee philologique
L'Annee Philologique covers all aspects of the ancient Greek and Roman world. It covers a broad range of subjects from language and literature to history, archaeology and more. [more]
LactMed Drugs and Lactation Database
A peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider. [more]
LAPTOC: Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents
"The Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents (LAPTOC) is a searchable Web database that provides access to the tables of contents of more than 950 journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, published in Latin America." [more]
A collection of databases maintained by the University of Missouri School of Law. Some databases in this collection are only available to Law School affiliates, and some are available to general MU affiliates. Consult the page or the Mizzou Law Library for more information about access. [more]
Leadership Media, updated daily, is the online version of our News Media Yellow Book - The source for contacts at major US news services, newspapers, networks, blogs, sites, magazines, newsletters, TV and radio stations, and programs. It lists over 50,000 reporters, writers, editors, bloggers, producers, and other media staff, listed with beat, phone, fax, email, and twitter with over 300 detailed beats linked to journalists. [more]
LearningExpress Library
Also Known as Learning Express Library; MCATLearning Express Library; TOEFLLearning Express Library; GRE
LearningExpress Library contains online test preparation materials including the ACT, ASVAB, Civil Service, Cosmetology, EMS, Firefighter, GED, GMAT, GRE, Law Enforcement, Paramedic, PPST, Real Estate, SAT, United States Citizenship and more. You will need to register a username and password at the site. [more]
LEEDuser
Also Known as LEED user
LEEDuser is a tool BuildingGreen built with the USGBC and YR+G Sustainability. It gives the guidance, examples, and community that aid any LEED certification process. Access provided by MU Campus Facilities. [more]
Lexi-Comp Drug Information in UpToDate
Also Known as lexicomp
Search a drug in UpToDate to view the Lexi-Comp information on drug dosage, uses, interactions, side effects, and more. An interactions tool is also available from a link on the upper right section of the main UpToDate page. [more]
Library Literature and Information Science Full Text
Also Known as Wilson; Library Lit; library literature; library science
Library Literature and Information Science Full Text is an index of library and information science periodicals. [more]
Lists English language books 1968+, books in all languages 1980+, and microforms 1984+ in the Library of Congress collection. [more]
Library of Latin Texts - Cross Database Search Tool
Also Known as CDS
The Library of Latin Texts - Cross Database Search Tool enables searching of Library of Latin Texts - Series A and B simultaneously. [more]
Library of Latin Texts - Series A
Also Known as LLT-A
Library of Latin Texts - Series A is a database of important Latin works in full-text from Antiquity to the modern period. [more]
Library of Latin Texts - Series B
Also Known as LLT-B
Library of Latin Texts - Series B is a complementary database of Latin works also from Antiquity to the modern period which do not appear in the Library of Latin Texts - Series A database. [more]
A collection of databases relevant to the study of library science. The majority of these databases are only available to MU affiliates. [more]
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text
Also Known as LISTA; library and information science and technology abstractsLISTA; library information science and technology abstractsLISTA; library information science & technology abstracts
The LISTA database is no longer accessible. This link will provide information on similar resources. [more]
The Latin American equivalent of MEDLINE, covering 669 journals in Portuguese, Spanish & English. Although the majority of articles indexed are in Portuguese or Spanish, it's possible to search using English keywords. [more]
Literary Index is a master index to the major literature products published by Gale. It combines and cross-references more than 165,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for over 215,000 titles into one source. [more]
Literature Arts and Medicine Database
An database of prose, poetry, film and art works dealing with health and medicine. Searchable by medium, author/creator, title, era, and subject. [more]
Literature Online
Also Known as LION
Literature Online provides access to English language literature in full-text, reference works, bibliographies, web pages and full-text journals. [more]
LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Also Known as LLBA
LLBA indexes over 1,500 journals and additional books, dissertations and other media covering all aspects of linguistics, speech, language and hearing pathology. [more]
LLMC Digital
Also Known as Law Library Microfilm Consortium Digital Collection
LLMC is a non-profit consortium of libraries devoted to providing legal and law-related materials. Full text coverage includes federal, state and foreign and international materials relating broadly to law and governance. [more]
LOCATORplus
Also Known as locator plus
Search the library collection of the National Library of Medicine. [more]
Luther's Sermons offers searchable full-text of a collection of sermons of Martin Luther (1483-1546). Edited and translated by John Nicholas Lenker. CD-ROM only accessible within Ellis Library. [more]
Luther's Works contains the translated works of Martin Luther in searchable, online full-text. CD-ROM only accessible within Ellis Library. [more]
,
DATABASES BY SUBJECT
- Accounting
- Aging Studies
- Agricultural Economics
- Agriculture
- Agronomy
- Animal Sciences
- Anthropology
- Archaeology
- Architecture
- Art & Art History
- Atmospheric Sciences
- Biochemistry
- Biological Engineering
- Biology
- Black Studies
- Business
- Chemistry
- Children's Literature
- Classical Art & Archaeology
- Classics
- Communication
- Company Information
- Computer Science
- Curriculum & Instruction
- Data Sets
- Economics
- Education
- Engineering (general)
- Engineering, Chemical
- Engineering, Civil
- Engineering, Electrical & Computer
- Engineering, Environmental
- Engineering, Geological & Geotechnical
- Engineering, Industrial & Manufacturing Systems
- Engineering, Mechanical & Aerospace
- Engineering, Nuclear Science
- Entomology
- Entrepreneurship and Small Business
- Environmental Science
- Exercise physiology
- Film Studies
- Finance
- Fisheries
- Food Science & Nutrition
- Forestry
- Genetics
- Geography
- Geology
- Historical Newspapers
- History (general)
- History, 19th Century U.S.
- History, U.S. (recent)
- History of the British Empire
- Hospitality
- Industry Information
- International/Foreign Countries
- Journalism: General Databases
- Language and Literature, English
- Language and Literature, French
- Language and Literature, German
- Language and Literature, Italian
- Language and Literature, Portuguese
- Language and Literature, Russian
- Language and Literature, Spanish
- Languages and Linguistics
- Law
- Library Science
- Management
- Marketing
- Materials Science
- Mathematics
- Medicine
- Music
- Natural Resources
- Nursing
- Nutrition
- Occupational Therapy
- Parks, Recreation & Tourism
- Pharmacology
- Philosophy
- Physical Education
- Physical Therapy
- Physics
- Plant Sciences
- Political Science
- Psychology
- Public Policy
- Religious Studies
- Science (general)
- Social Work
- Sociology
- Soil Science
- Sports and Sport Venue Management
- Statistics
- Textile and Apparel Management
- Theatre
- Transportation
- Veterinary Medicine
- Wildlife
- Wine
- Women & Gender Studies
DATABASES BY TYPE
Resources grouped by type or format of information that they provide (e.g. primary sources, images)
- Audio
- Biographies
- Book Chapters
- Book Reviews
- Books
- Catalogs
- Chemical Substances
- Cited References
- Company Information
- Conference Proceedings
- Dictionaries and Thesauri
- Directories
- Disease Information
- Dissertations and Theses
- Drug Information
- Encyclopedias
- Government Documents
- Grants
- Guidelines/Critical Pathways
- Handbooks and Manuals
TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH
General and Multidisciplinary Databases
The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.
- Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
- Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals
- Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
- Find out who's citing particular articles
- Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
- Does not include the last five years of issues
- Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
- Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more
- Search for scholarly articles, books and theses
Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks
Current and Controversial Issues
Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies
|
News and Newspapers
- Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
- Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
- 1980's to date
- Company business and financial information
- Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
- 1980's to date
- Full-text newspapers and trade journals
- Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
- 1980's to date
Proquest Historical Newspapers
- Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
- Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times
Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources
- Create citations in APA and MLA format: Citation Builder
- Manage your references and automatically create bibliographies and in-text citations.
TRIAL DATABASES
The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.
ASME Standards - Trial
Also Known as American Society of Mechanical Engineers Standards
Contains full-text access to all active American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) standards, including the Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (BPVC). These codes and standards cover a breadth of topics, including pressure technology, nuclear plants, elevators/escalators, construction, engineering design, standardization, and performance testing. Trial ends June 1st, 2024. [more]
Please give feedback for the trial.
Please give feedback for the trial.
Conditions of Use
Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources.
You MUST
- Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
- Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
- Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration
- Comply with all applicable laws concerning copyright and intellectual property
You MUST NOT
- Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
- Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources