Databases
Databases A-ZDatabases by SubjectDatabases by TypeTry First: Resources for ResearchTrial Databases
SEARCH FOR A DATABASE
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the
icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.
Results for: N
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)
NTRS provides access to approximately 500K aerospace related citations, 90K full-text online documents, and 111K images and videos. The type of information found in NTRS include: conference papers, images, journal articles, photos, meeting papers, movies, patents, research reports, and technical videos.
[more]
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Also Known as NCJRS
(NCJRS) contains summaries of over 180,000 criminal justice publications, including federal, state and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles and unpublished research. This is a good source for statistics and it links to the full-text NCJRS Virtual Library. [more]
Trade name, dosage form, National Drug Code, active ingredients, strength and packaging information for all commercially distributed presciption drugs, as well as a few selected OTC products. From the Food and Drug Administration. [more]
National Guideline Clearinghouse
National Guideline Clearinghouse is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. In addition to searching or browsing for guidelines, results can be displayed in tabular format to allow for comparison. [more]
National Health Service Economic Evaluation Database (EED)
With over 6000 abstracts of quality assessed economic evaluations, the database aims to assist decision-makers by systematically identifying and describing economic evaluations, appraising their quality and highlighting their relative strengths and weaknesses. Published by the Cochrane Collaboration with funding from the British National Health Service. Can be searched as part of EBMR Evidence Based Medicine Reviews. [more]
National Health Service Health Technology Assessment Database
Locate descriptions of systematic reviews, ongoing and completed trials assessing the impact of health technologies. Can be searched as part of EBMR - Evidence Based Medicine Reviews. From the INAHTA Secretariat, based at SBU, Sweden in conjunction with the Cochrane Collaboration. [more]
National Human Genome Research Institute Policy and Legislation Database
Locate federal and state laws/statutes, and federal legislative, administrative and executive materials related to genetic testing and its public policy implications. [more]
National Institutes of Health Office of Extramural Research
Information about federally funded research. Annual statistics showing amounts of NIH grant money received at higher education institutions, medical schools, and other health professional schools and nonprofits. Includes lists ranked by grant monies received. [more]
A guide to plant derivatives used by Native Americans, including plants used for medicinal purposes. Search by plant name, tribe, or pharmacological action. Includes article references and links to the USDA Plants database. [more]
Native Health Research Database
Indexes health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. Can search by tribe, state, region/province in addition to MeSH subject searches. Older literature (back to 1652) can be found in the Native Health History Database. [more]
A collection of databases relevant to the study of natural resources. The majority of databases in this collection are only available to MU affiliates. [more]
Natural Standard Herb and Supplement Information in MedlinePlus
Evidence based information on usage, indications, interactions and toxicity for over 100 herbals and supplements. From Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database. [more]
Naxos Music Library provides online access to more than 34,000 CDs of western classical music , world music and jazz recordings.
Every month approximately 500 new CDs are added. Tracks can be located by searching keyword searching or by browsing alphabetical lists. [more]
Naxos Video Library
Also Known as NVL
A streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts, documentaries, and master classes. Over 555 videos and growing. [more]
A starting point for searching gene sequences and molecular biology information found in GenBank/Entrez, RefSeq, OMIM, LocusLink, and more. Use the Entrez Cross-database Search Page to do a global search across all Entrez resources. [more]
NCBI Images Database
Also Known as pubmed images database ; pubmed central image database ; pubmed image database ; pubmed central images ; pmc images
The NCBI Images Database has now been folded into PubMed Central. To search for specific images on PubMed Central, go to the Advanced Search Page and search the [Figure/Table Caption] field. [more]
NCEI: National Centers for Environmental Information
Also Known as Formerly NCDC: National Climatic Data Center; NCDC: National Climatic Data Center
Large archive of U.S. and world climatological data. Includes local climatological data. The University of Missouri-Columbia is considered an authorized user of this site so if you are affiliated with UMC, you can access the items online which have the notation "Free access by certain agencies and individuals (limited access only)". This database is maintained by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration: NOAA [more]
NCJRS National Criminal Justice Reference Service Database
Also Known as ncjrs
Covers over 189,000 criminal justice publications dating back to the 1970s. Subject areas include corrections, courts, drug abuse, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, domestic preparedness, and victims. In addition to journal articles, federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, and unpublished research are also included. From the U.S. Department of Justice. [more]
NetAdvantage
Also Known as Standard and Poor's net advantage; net advantage; standard and Poor's netadvantage; Standard and Poor netadvantage; standard and poor; netadvantage; Standard and Poor net advantage; industry surveys
NetAdvantage provides information on companies, industries, stocks, mutual funds and the economy. Sources include Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Bond Reports and Corporation Records. [more]
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
Also Known as NDLTD
The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations. [more]
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
Also Known as Oxford Music Online
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians is the premier music encyclopedia. Includes the New Grove Dictionaries of Jazz and Opera and the Oxford Dictionary of Music. [more]
New York Times Movie Reviews
Also Known as NTY Movie Reviews
A free review site primarily used to find reviews of recent films. Covers a wide variety of current films, and helps user find tickets for certain films. Allows user to filter, based on genre, MPAA rating and NYT Critic's Pick. [more]
NewsBank
Also Known as newspaper; newspapers
Newsbank includes Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690-1876); U. S. Congressional Serial Set and Serial Set Maps (1817-1980); Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, (1639-1800); Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, (1801-1819); American State Papers, (1789-1838); World Newspaper Archive, which includes America's Historical Newspapers and African Newspapers. [more]
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers and contains full text for more than 300 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television and radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc. Access provide by MOREnet. [more]
NICE (National Institute for Clinical Excellence)
From the National Health Service of England and Wales. Clinical practice guidelines, technology and interventional procedure appraisals on a variety of subjects. [more]
NIH RePORTER (Formerly CRISP)
Also Known as National Institutes of Health reporter ; crisp ; current review of scientific projects ; Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tool
Search federally funded biomedical research projects funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services (SAMSHA), Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDCP), Agency for Health Care Policy Research (AHCPR), and Office of Assistant Secretary of Health (OASH). Results can be exported to an Excel spreadsheet. View the amount of research funding for a given disease, or the success rates for different types of grants. In addition to project descriptions, NIH RePORTER now includes links to publications and patents arising from NIH funded research, with links to PubMed Central, PubMed, and the US Patent & Trademark Office databases. [more]
Most of the resources formerly available via the NLM Gateway are available on the NLM Homepage. More information is available here. [more]
NORINA is an English-language database containing information on over 3,800 audiovisual aids that may be used as alternatives or supplements to the use of animals in teaching. [more]
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
North American Women's Letters and Diaries provides access to full-text letters & diaries by 687 North American women from colonial times to 1950. [more]
A Libguide created for the study of the nursing profession. Contains a mixture of databases freely available to the general public and those only available to MU affiliates. [more]
Database to compare nursing homes. Also includes links to Guide to Choosing a Nursing Home and Nursing Home Checklist. [more]
,
DATABASES BY SUBJECT
- Accounting
- Aging Studies
- Agricultural Economics
- Agriculture
- Agronomy
- Animal Sciences
- Anthropology
- Archaeology
- Architecture
- Art & Art History
- Atmospheric Sciences
- Biochemistry
- Biological Engineering
- Biology
- Black Studies
- Business
- Chemistry
- Children's Literature
- Classical Art & Archaeology
- Classics
- Communication
- Company Information
- Computer Science
- Curriculum & Instruction
- Data Sets
- Economics
- Education
- Engineering (general)
- Engineering, Chemical
- Engineering, Civil
- Engineering, Electrical & Computer
- Engineering, Environmental
- Engineering, Geological & Geotechnical
- Engineering, Industrial & Manufacturing Systems
- Engineering, Mechanical & Aerospace
- Engineering, Nuclear Science
- Entomology
- Entrepreneurship and Small Business
- Environmental Science
- Exercise physiology
- Film Studies
- Finance
- Fisheries
- Food Science & Nutrition
- Forestry
- Genetics
- Geography
- Geology
- Historical Newspapers
- History (general)
- History, 19th Century U.S.
- History, U.S. (recent)
- History of the British Empire
- Hospitality
- Industry Information
- International/Foreign Countries
- Journalism: General Databases
- Language and Literature, English
- Language and Literature, French
- Language and Literature, German
- Language and Literature, Italian
- Language and Literature, Portuguese
- Language and Literature, Russian
- Language and Literature, Spanish
- Languages and Linguistics
- Law
- Library Science
- Management
- Marketing
- Materials Science
- Mathematics
- Medicine
- Music
- Natural Resources
- Nursing
- Nutrition
- Occupational Therapy
- Parks, Recreation & Tourism
- Pharmacology
- Philosophy
- Physical Education
- Physical Therapy
- Physics
- Plant Sciences
- Political Science
- Psychology
- Public Policy
- Religious Studies
- Science (general)
- Social Work
- Sociology
- Soil Science
- Sports and Sport Venue Management
- Statistics
- Textile and Apparel Management
- Theatre
- Transportation
- Veterinary Medicine
- Wildlife
- Wine
- Women & Gender Studies
DATABASES BY TYPE
Resources grouped by type or format of information that they provide (e.g. primary sources, images)
- Audio
- Biographies
- Book Chapters
- Book Reviews
- Books
- Catalogs
- Chemical Substances
- Cited References
- Company Information
- Conference Proceedings
- Dictionaries and Thesauri
- Directories
- Disease Information
- Dissertations and Theses
- Drug Information
- Encyclopedias
- Government Documents
- Grants
- Guidelines/Critical Pathways
- Handbooks and Manuals
TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH
General and Multidisciplinary Databases
The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.
- Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
- Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals
- Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
- Find out who's citing particular articles
- Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
- Does not include the last five years of issues
- Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
- Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more
- Search for scholarly articles, books and theses
Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks
Current and Controversial Issues
Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies
|
News and Newspapers
- Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
- Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
- 1980's to date
- Company business and financial information
- Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
- 1980's to date
- Full-text newspapers and trade journals
- Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
- 1980's to date
Proquest Historical Newspapers
- Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
- Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times
Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources
- Create citations in APA and MLA format: Citation Builder
- Manage your references and automatically create bibliographies and in-text citations.
TRIAL DATABASES
The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.
ASME Standards - Trial
Also Known as American Society of Mechanical Engineers Standards
Contains full-text access to all active American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) standards, including the Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (BPVC). These codes and standards cover a breadth of topics, including pressure technology, nuclear plants, elevators/escalators, construction, engineering design, standardization, and performance testing. Trial ends June 1st, 2024. [more]
Please give feedback for the trial.
Please give feedback for the trial.
Conditions of Use
Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources.
You MUST
- Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
- Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
- Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration
- Comply with all applicable laws concerning copyright and intellectual property
You MUST NOT
- Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
- Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources