Databases // Libraries // Mizzou // University of Missouri

Databases

Databases A-ZDatabases by SubjectDatabases by TypeTry First: Resources for ResearchTrial Databases

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the MU logo icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

DATABASES BY SUBJECT

Resources by Type: Conference Proceedings

Purchased databases with the stackedlogo-bg-verysmall

icon are accessible only to MU users.

ACM Digital Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Also Known as AMC Digital Library; ACMDL; ACM Portal; Association for Computing Machinery; ACM Digital

ACM Digital Library provides bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews and the full-text for articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since its founding in 1947. Also provides selected works published by affiliated organizations. [more]

ASABE Technical Library Anyone can use

Search all recent technical documents published by the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. Anyone can view the abstracts. Access to the full text is via ASABE membership or site license. [more]

ASCE Civil Engineering Database Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as ASCE CE Database; CEDB

The Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) is designed to provide easy bibliographic access to all ASCE publications. The database covers all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, and magazines, [more]

ASCE Research Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as ACSE Research Library; American Society of Civil Engineers; ASCE Online Journal Archive; ASCE; ASCE Library; ASCE Journals

The ASCE Research Library is a comprehensive online tool for locating articles of interest across all disciplines of civil engineering. The Research Library provides you with unprecedented access to more than 40,000 full-text papers from ASCE Journals and Proceedings published since 1995. That is over 400,000 pages. Approximately 4,000 new papers will be added each year. [more]

BMC Proceedings Anyone can use

Devoted specifically to conference publications in medicine and biology, BioMed Central aims to provide open access to both abstracts and complete articles presented at conferences. [more]

CABI Digital Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as CAB Abstracts; CABI; cabCAB Abstracts; cab direct; CABDirect; cabCAB Abstracts; CABI; cabCAB Abstracts; cab direct; CABDirect; cab direct

Coverage includes plant and animal sciences, forestry, human health and nutrition, veterinary medicine, agricultural biotechnology economics and engineering, rural sociology, recreation, tourism, and leisure. Includes access to CAB Archives. [more]

Cochrane Methodology Register Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

With over 9000 references, the register aims to include all published reports of empirical methodological studies to support the work of the Cochrane review groups as they conduct systematic reviews of healthcare interventions. [more]

Engineering Village Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as Compendex; Engineering IndexCompendex; compendixCompendex; EiCompendex; Ei CompendexCompendex; Ei VillageCompendex; Engineering CompendexCompendex; Engineering InformationCompendex; Engineering Village

Multidisciplinary applied engineering, mathematical, and physical and materials science databases. Cross searches Compendex (engineering), Knovel (STEM ebooks), and Georef (geology, geography, physical sciences). [more]

Food Science and Technology Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as FSTA

Food Science and Technology Abstracts provides coverage of all scientific and technological aspects of the processing and manufacturing of human food products. [more]

Grey Literature Report - New York Academy of Medicine Library Anyone can use
Also Known as nyam grey literature; gray literature

Locate health policy documents from various health policy stakeholders, such as the Kaiser Foundation, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the RAND Corporation, the Guttmacher Institute, the World Health Organization, and many more. Compiled by the library of the New York Academy of Medicine. Bimonthly updates available. [more]

IEEE Xplore Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as IEE; Xplore; Xplor; Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers; IET Online; IEEE/IEE Electronic Library; IEEE Xplor; IEEE Standards; IEEE Publications; IEEE Proceedings; Explore; Explor; IEEExplore; IEEE; IEEE Explore

Full-text access to IET/IEE (Institution of Engineering and Technology) Journals and IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards. [more]

International Veterinary Information Services (IVIS) Anyone can use

Provides access to electronic books, veterinary meeting proceedings, continuing education, international calendar of veterinary events, and image collections. Free registration required. [more]

Library Literature and Information Science Full Text Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as library science; Library Lit; Wilson; library literature

Library Literature and Information Science Full Text is an index of library and information science periodicals. [more]

LILACS Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The Latin American equivalent of MEDLINE, covering 669 journals in Portuguese, Spanish & English. Although the majority of articles indexed are in Portuguese or Spanish, it's possible to search using English keywords. [more]

LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as LLBA

LLBA indexes over 1,500 journals and additional books, dissertations and other media covering all aspects of linguistics, speech, language and hearing pathology. [more]

Materials Research Database with METADEX Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as Materials Science; Advanced Polymers AbstractsMaterials Science; AIAMaterials Science; Alloys IndexMaterials Science; Ceramic AbstractsMaterials Science; Ceramics SubfileMaterials Science; Composites Industry AbstractsMaterials Science; Copper Data Center DatabaseMaterials Science; Corrosion AbstractsMaterials Science; CSA MaterialsMaterials Science; CSA Materials Research DatabaseMaterials Science; EMAMaterials Science; Engineered Materials AbstractsMaterials Science; Material ScienceMaterials Science; Materials Business FileMaterials Science; METADEXMaterials Science; Metals AbstractsMaterials Science; Metals Abstracts IndexMaterials Science; WAAMaterials Science; World Ceramic AbstractsMaterials Science; World Aluminum AbstractsMaterials Science; WELDASEARCH

Brings together materials science databases, covering materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications, including the use of materials in orthopedics and dentistry. Everything from raw materials and refining through processing, welding, and fabrication to end use, corrosion, performance, and recycling is covered in for all metals, polymers, ceramics, and composites. The collection comprises several databases which may be searched individually or all together. The databases included in the collection are: Aluminum Industry Abstracts, Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts, Copper Data Center Database, Corrosion Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Materials Business File, Mechanical Engineering Abstracts, METADEX, MicroPatent Materials Patents, and WELDASEARCH. [more]

MOspace: Institutional Repository Anyone can use
Also Known as mo space; mu digital institutional repository

MOspace is the digital institutional repository of the University of Missouri System, and is a joint initiative of the University Libraries, the Office of Library Systems, and the Division of Information Technology. It is a permanent digital storehouse of research and knowledge, focusing on works created by those connected with the University of Missouri. MOspace is place where faculty, staff and students can store their intellectual output, and depend upon a permanent URL. Authors can submit works directly to mospace@missouri.edu; most electronic formats are accepted for submission. [more]

NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS) Anyone can use

NTRS provides access to approximately 500K aerospace related citations, 90K full-text online documents, and 111K images and videos. The type of information found in NTRS include: conference papers, images, journal articles, photos, meeting papers, movies, patents, research reports, and technical videos. [more]

Native Health Research Database Anyone can use

Indexes health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. Can search by tribe, state, region/province in addition to MeSH subject searches. Older literature (back to 1652) can be found in the Native Health History Database. [more]

PapersFirst Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as PapersFirst

PapersFirst contains citations to papers presented at congresses worldwide. [more]

PrimateLit Anyone can use

Search for information on nonhuman primates in journal articles, books, meeting abstracts, technical reports, dissertations and book chapters. Covers a variety of subject areas, including behavior, colony management, ecology, reproduction, field studies, disease models, veterinary science, psychology, physiology, pharmacology, evolution, taxonomy, developmental and molecular biology, genetics and zoogeography. Part of the University of Wisconsin's Primate Info Net (PIN). [more]

ProceedingsFirst Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as ProceedingsFirst

ProceedingsFirst is an index of worldwide conference proceedings, as well as a list of papers presented at various meetings. [more]

ProQuest Technology Collection Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX, CSA High Technology Research Database with Aerospace, and the CSA Engineering Research Database, TRD, Technology Research Database, ProQuest Technology Collection

ProQuest Technology Collection indexes over 16 million abstracts, over 7.7 million tables and figures, and includes over 2,700 full text journals. It is comprised of ProQuest Advanced Technologies with Aerospace Collection; ProQuest Materials Science Collection; ProQuest Engineering Collection; ProQuest Computer Science Collection; and ProQuest Illustrata: Technology. Coverage starts from 1962. [more]

Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as scops; scopis; scopies; scopius; scopos; scopous; scop; scope; scoups; scopes; scorpus; citation index

Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources , including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. It is a multidisciplinary resource covering materials from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Scopus allows you to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them. [more]

Sociological Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as sociology; sociofile

Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. [more]

VetMed Resource Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Contains the Veterinary Science Database, a subset of CAB Abstracts covering all aspects of veterinary medicine. Coverage includes companion animals, equines, food animals, aquaculture species, zoo animals, and wild animals. Also contains CAB Reviews; In Brief and In Depth articles; the Animal Health and Production Compendium; and a Calendar focused on veterinary conferences and other events worldwide. Geared toward those working in the field of veterinary medicine and animal health. [more]

DATABASES BY TYPE

Resources grouped by type or format of information that they provide (e.g. primary sources, images)

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
Find out who's citing particular articles

Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
Does not include the last five years of issues

Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Current and Controversial Issues

1991 to date
Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

Pros and cons of controversial issues

News and Newspapers

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
1980's to date
Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
1980's to date

Full-text newspapers and trade journals
Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

Create citations in APA and MLA format: Citation Builder
Manage your references and automatically create bibliographies and in-text citations.
- Endnote
- Zotero
- Mendeley

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

ASME Standards - Trial Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Also Known as American Society of Mechanical Engineers Standards

Contains full-text access to all active American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) standards, including the Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (BPVC). These codes and standards cover a breadth of topics, including pressure technology, nuclear plants, elevators/escalators, construction, engineering design, standardization, and performance testing. Trial ends June 1st, 2024. [more]
Please give feedback for the trial.

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources.

You MUST

Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration
Comply with all applicable laws concerning copyright and intellectual property

You MUST NOT

Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources