Databases // Libraries // Mizzou // University of Missouri

Databases

Databases A-ZDatabases by SubjectDatabases by TypeTry First: Resources for ResearchTrial Databases

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the MU logo icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

DATABASES BY SUBJECT

Resources by Type: Primary Sources

Purchased databases with the stackedlogo-bg-verysmall

icon are accessible only to MU users.

African American Communities Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

African American Communities contains digitized primary sources related to African American communities in North, South and Midwest, specifically, St. Louis, Chicago, Atlanta, Brooklyn and some North Carolina towns. Included are documents pertaining to the infamous Pruitt-Igoe housing project, various urban issues around schools, housing and police relations, interviews with key figures in the African-American arts scene in Atlanta, and a complete run of The Messenger, characterized by the Justice Department in 1919 as "the most able and the most dangerous of all the Negro publications." [more]

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as civil war letters and diaries

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries offers full-text searchable letters and diaries of soldiers and noncombatants on both sides of the U.S. Civil War. The database can be searched and browsed in many ways, including by U.S. state, topics described, year of writers death, Union or Confederate loyalty, and other variables. [more]

American Periodical Series Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as american periodicals series; american periodical series online; APS

American Periodical Series Online is full-text collection of over 1,100 magazines and journals published between 1741 and 1900. [more]

Archives USA Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Archives USA is a current directory of 5,596 repositories and 154,678 collections of primary source material across the United States. Using Archives USA, researchers can read descriptions of holdings of repositories to determine whether a collection contains material relevant to their work as well as find the information they need to contact the repository directly. C19 Index contains 61,647 records detailing the collections and repositories in the United States that hold 19th century research materials. Part of C19 database. No full text. [more]

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as 19th Century Index; 19th century short title catalog; C19; Nineteenth Century Index; Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue; Pooles; Poole's

C19 Index provides access to nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. [more]

Early American Imprints Series I Evans (1639-1800) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as early american papers; early american; Early Imprints; Early American Imprints; Evans

Searchable pdf's of material published in Colonial America and the early U.S. In addition to searching, the collection may be browsed by topic (e.g., Genre: Songs, Economics: Liquor Traffic, History: Louisiana Purchase) [more]

Early American Imprints Series II Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as american imprints; early american; early american papers; early imprints

Searchable pdf's of material published in the U.S. in the early 19th Century. In addition to searching, the collection may be browsed by topic (e.g., Genre: Satires, Peoples: Illinois Indians, Government: Church and State) [more]

Eighteenth Century Collections Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as ECCO; 18th Century Collections OnlineECCO; ECCOECCO; ESTECCO; English Short TitleECCO; echoECCO; eco

Based on the English Short Title Catalogue, nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 will be made available online over the course of the next two years. [more]

HathiTrust Anyone can use
Also Known as Hathi Trust Hathi

The Hathi Trust Digital Library contains digital copies of more than 10 million volumes in over 400 languages, printed from 1500-present. Over 3 million volumes are in the public domain and can be viewed/printed/downloaded. Other volumes can be searched, but viewing is restricted. The Digital Library combines full-text searching with the traditional library catalog to facilitate sophisticated queries and easy browsing. MU users can also build private or shared collections within the Digital Library. [more]

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers covers 1801-1919. Covers social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how British laws were created. [more]

Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Contains 65,000 pages with articles, illustrations, cartoons and maps drawn from 49 periodicals, including 15 campaign newspapers published from 1860 to 1865, from four viewpoints� Union, Confederate, Abolitionist, and British. Every page has been scanned to grayscale or color standards at up to 1200 dpi. The database also includes essays detailing the background and importance of each of the publications and on Civil War topics. [more]

iPOLL Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The iPOLL database provides access to nearly half a million public opinion survey questions on a wide range of topics. [more]

Luther's Sermons CD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.

Luther's Sermons offers searchable full-text of a collection of sermons of Martin Luther (1483-1546). Edited and translated by John Nicholas Lenker. CD-ROM only accessible within Ellis Library. [more]

Luther's Works CD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.

Luther's Works contains the translated works of Martin Luther in searchable, online full-text. CD-ROM only accessible within Ellis Library. [more]

Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources 1600-1926 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Based primarily on holdings of the Lillian Goldman Law Library at Yale University, including early state codes, city charters, and documents relating to constitutional conventions. Missouri resources include state constitutional conventions, adopted Constitutions, and historical Revised Statutes, among other resources. Access provided by the MU Law Library. [more]

Middle English Compendium Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as MED; Middle English DictionaryMED; Hyperbibliography of Middle English prose and verseMED; Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse

The Middle English Compendium provides interlinked access to several resources: the online Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, with links to associated online resources. [more]

North American Women's Letters and Diaries Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

North American Women's Letters and Diaries provides access to full-text letters & diaries by 687 North American women from colonial times to 1950. [more]

Palmer's Index to the Times Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

This index covers the London Times newspaper from 1790-1905. Part of C19 database. The MU Libraries has the London Times on microfilm in the Special Collections department. [more]

Periodicals Index Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Formerly known as Periodical Contents Index, Periodicals Index Online covers magazines and journals published worldwide from 1790 to 1919. Part of C19 database. [more]

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature indexes British and American periodicals from 1824-1900. Matches pseudonyms to actual authors. Part of the C19 databases. No full-text. [more]

ProQuest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Searchable full-image of the Chicago Defender (1909-2010), Chicago Tribune (1849-1999), Los Angeles Times (1881-2000), St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003), New York Times (1851-2020), Wall Street Journal (1889-2012) and the Washington Post (1877-2007). [more]

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The Chicago Defender (1909-2010) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. [more]

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Searchable cover-to-cover full image of the Chicago Tribune from 1849-1999. [more]

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as New York Times;historical New York Times; NYT; pro questNew York Times;historical New York Times; NYT; proquest

ProQuest Historical Newspapers digitally reproduces every issue of the New York Times (1851-2020) from cover-to-cover. It provides full page-image and full-text searching of the newspaper. [more]

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: St. Louis Post-Dispatch Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Full-text, searchable access to the St. Louis Post-Dispatch from 1874-2003, including news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons and more. [more]

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as WSJ

Searchable cover-to-cover full image of the Wall Street Journal from 1889-2012. [more]

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington Post Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Searchable cover-to-cover full image of the Washington Post from 1877-2007. [more]

Reader's Guide Retrospective 1890-1982 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as Readers Guide; Readers Guide Retrospective; Reader's Guide to Periodicals; Readers Guide to Current Periodicals; Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature; Readers Guide to Periodical Literature; Reader's Guide; Readers Guide to Periodicals; Wilson; Reader's Guide to Current Periodicals

Reader's Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. [more]

Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as Slavery Abolition and Social Justice

This resource provides access to many thousands of original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings and maps in high quality greyscale and colour. All printed items are fully text-searchable and manuscripts have document-level indexing. Themes covered include: Slavery in the Early Americas, African Coast, Middle Passage, Slavery and Agriculture, Urban and Domestic Slavery, Slave Testimony, Spiritualism and Religion, Resistance and Revolts, Underground Railroad, The Abolition Movement and the Slavery Debate, Legislation and Politics, Freed Slaves, Freedmen and Free Black Settlements, Education, Slavery and the Islamic World, Varieties of Slave Experience and The Legacy of Slavery and Slavery Today. [more]

The Times Digital Archive Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as London Times

The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, with every page of every issue from 1785 through 2012. [more]

U.S. Congressional Serial Set Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 is a vast primary source collection for U.S. political, social, cultural, military and ethnic history, as well as international relations, explorations, genealogy, commerce, industrial development and more. [more]

U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs 1832-1978 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs 1832-1978 contains nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978. Access provided thanks to MU Law. [more]

US Newsstream Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as News stand; ProQuest Newsstand; Newsstand

ProQuest Newsstand contains over 1169 newspapers, 134 trade journals, 62 general interest periodicals, 134 blogs, podcasts, and websites. With titles like the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and major regionals like the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post and the Boston Globe, users can also find access to international, national, and regional news. [more]

DATABASES BY TYPE

Resources grouped by type or format of information that they provide (e.g. primary sources, images)

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
Find out who's citing particular articles

Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
Does not include the last five years of issues

Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Current and Controversial Issues

1991 to date
Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

Pros and cons of controversial issues

News and Newspapers

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
1980's to date
Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
1980's to date

Full-text newspapers and trade journals
Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

Create citations in APA and MLA format: Citation Builder
Manage your references and automatically create bibliographies and in-text citations.
- Endnote
- Zotero
- Mendeley

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

ASME Standards - Trial Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Also Known as American Society of Mechanical Engineers Standards

Contains full-text access to all active American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) standards, including the Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (BPVC). These codes and standards cover a breadth of topics, including pressure technology, nuclear plants, elevators/escalators, construction, engineering design, standardization, and performance testing. Trial ends June 1st, 2024. [more]
Please give feedback for the trial.

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources.

You MUST

Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration
Comply with all applicable laws concerning copyright and intellectual property

You MUST NOT

Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources