Databases
Databases A-ZDatabases by SubjectDatabases by TypeTry First: Resources for ResearchTrial Databases
SEARCH FOR A DATABASE
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the
icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.
DATABASES BY SUBJECT
- Accounting
- Aging Studies
- Agricultural Economics
- Agriculture
- Agronomy
- Animal Sciences
- Anthropology
- Archaeology
- Architecture
- Art & Art History
- Atmospheric Sciences
- Biochemistry
- Biological Engineering
- Biology
- Black Studies
- Business
- Chemistry
- Children's Literature
- Classical Art & Archaeology
- Classics
- Communication
- Company Information
- Computer Science
- Curriculum & Instruction
- Data Sets
- Economics
- Education
- Engineering (general)
- Engineering, Chemical
- Engineering, Civil
- Engineering, Electrical & Computer
- Engineering, Environmental
- Engineering, Geological & Geotechnical
- Engineering, Industrial & Manufacturing Systems
- Engineering, Mechanical & Aerospace
- Engineering, Nuclear Science
- Entomology
- Entrepreneurship and Small Business
- Environmental Science
- Exercise physiology
- Film Studies
- Finance
- Fisheries
- Food Science & Nutrition
- Forestry
- Genetics
- Geography
- Geology
- Historical Newspapers
- History (general)
- History, 19th Century U.S.
- History, U.S. (recent)
- History of the British Empire
- Hospitality
- Industry Information
- International/Foreign Countries
- Journalism: General Databases
- Language and Literature, English
- Language and Literature, French
- Language and Literature, German
- Language and Literature, Italian
- Language and Literature, Portuguese
- Language and Literature, Russian
- Language and Literature, Spanish
- Languages and Linguistics
- Law
- Library Science
- Management
- Marketing
- Materials Science
- Mathematics
- Medicine
- Music
- Natural Resources
- Nursing
- Nutrition
- Occupational Therapy
- Parks, Recreation & Tourism
- Pharmacology
- Philosophy
- Physical Education
- Physical Therapy
- Physics
- Plant Sciences
- Political Science
- Psychology
- Public Policy
- Religious Studies
- Science (general)
- Social Work
- Sociology
- Soil Science
- Sports and Sport Venue Management
- Statistics
- Textile and Apparel Management
- Theatre
- Transportation
- Veterinary Medicine
- Wildlife
- Wine
- Women & Gender Studies
Resources by Type: Guidelines/Critical Pathways
Purchased databases with the
icon are accessible only to MU users.AIDSinfo
Over 700 descriptions of current and closed clinical trials for AIDS. Also includes information on AIDS treatment guidelines, drugs and vaccines. [more]
askHERMES
Also Known as ask hermes ; medQA ; med Q A ; MedQ@A
An experimental search engine to mine PubMed/MEDLINE, eMedicine, and the National Guideline Clearinghouse for answers to clinical questions. Type in a specific question for best results. [more]
Canadian Medical Association CPG Infobase
Over 300 Clinical Practice Guidelines designed to help physicians and patients make appropriate health care decisions in specific clinical circumstances. They have been developed or reviewed with a five-year rolling date, and produced or endorsed in Canada by a national, provincial or territorial medical or health organization, professional society, government agency or expert panel. [more]
Consumer Health Complete is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. It includes the Clinical Reference System (including McKesson's Health Advisor series), and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs. Access provided by MOREnet. [more]
Enviro-Health Links Hurricane Resource Page
Links to information on environmental cleanup, drinking water, mold, hazardous materials and more created to assist relief workers. Created by Specialized Information Services at the National Library of Medicine . [more]
HSTAT (AHCPR Supported Guidelines)
This resource is a collection of documents relevant to the study of health services and health technology. The contents of this collection include: evidence-based reviews from the AHTQ "Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality", protocols from the SAMHSA "Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration", preventive medicine recommendations from the USPSTF, "U.S Preventive Services Task Force", Consensus Reports, guidance and research on the methods from the AHRQ effective health care program, as well as archived guidelines and reports. This collection was created and is maintained by the National Library of Medicine (US). [more]
MDConsult
Also Known as MD Consult ; md-consult; md consult
MDConsult has been replaced by a new product called ClinicalKey. ClinicalKey contains all of the MDConsult content plus much more: over 1,000 additional clinical e-books and over 20,000 videos. In addition, FirstConsult and Vitals, point-of-care information for medicine and surgery, are included. [more]
National Guideline Clearinghouse
National Guideline Clearinghouse is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. In addition to searching or browsing for guidelines, results can be displayed in tabular format to allow for comparison. [more]
NICE (National Institute for Clinical Excellence)
From the National Health Service of England and Wales. Clinical practice guidelines, technology and interventional procedure appraisals on a variety of subjects. [more]
REMM - Radiation Emergency Medical Management
Also Known as Radiation Event Medical Management
This NIH database assists health care professionals with easy to follow algorithms for diagnosis and management of radiation contamination and exposure. The site provides just-in-time, evidence-based, usable information for those without formal radiation medicine expertise. [more]
Search evidence based medicial topics from 61 EBM sites around the world, including ACP Journal Club, POEMS, Bandolier, DARE, and others. From the Centre for Research Support in Wales. Register for a free password and choose University of Missouri - Columbia in your settings to view links and ordering options for primary research articles. [more]
DATABASES BY TYPE
Resources grouped by type or format of information that they provide (e.g. primary sources, images)
- Audio
- Biographies
- Book Chapters
- Book Reviews
- Books
- Catalogs
- Chemical Substances
- Cited References
- Company Information
- Conference Proceedings
- Dictionaries and Thesauri
- Directories
- Disease Information
- Dissertations and Theses
- Drug Information
- Encyclopedias
- Government Documents
- Grants
- Guidelines/Critical Pathways
- Handbooks and Manuals
TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH
General and Multidisciplinary Databases
The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.
- Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
- Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals
- Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
- Find out who's citing particular articles
- Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
- Does not include the last five years of issues
- Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
- Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more
- Search for scholarly articles, books and theses
Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks
Current and Controversial Issues
Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies
|
News and Newspapers
- Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
- Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
- 1980's to date
- Company business and financial information
- Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
- 1980's to date
- Full-text newspapers and trade journals
- Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
- 1980's to date
Proquest Historical Newspapers
- Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
- Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times
Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources
- Create citations in APA and MLA format: Citation Builder
- Manage your references and automatically create bibliographies and in-text citations.
TRIAL DATABASES
The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.
ASME Standards - Trial
Also Known as American Society of Mechanical Engineers Standards
Contains full-text access to all active American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) standards, including the Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (BPVC). These codes and standards cover a breadth of topics, including pressure technology, nuclear plants, elevators/escalators, construction, engineering design, standardization, and performance testing. Trial ends June 1st, 2024. [more]
Please give feedback for the trial.
Please give feedback for the trial.
Conditions of Use
Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources.
You MUST
- Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
- Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
- Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration
- Comply with all applicable laws concerning copyright and intellectual property
You MUST NOT
- Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
- Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources