Databases
Databases A-ZDatabases by SubjectDatabases by TypeTry First: Resources for ResearchTrial Databases
SEARCH FOR A DATABASE
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the
icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.
DATABASES BY SUBJECT
- Accounting
- Aging Studies
- Agricultural Economics
- Agriculture
- Agronomy
- Animal Sciences
- Anthropology
- Archaeology
- Architecture
- Art & Art History
- Atmospheric Sciences
- Biochemistry
- Biological Engineering
- Biology
- Black Studies
- Business
- Chemistry
- Children's Literature
- Classical Art & Archaeology
- Classics
- Communication
- Company Information
- Computer Science
- Curriculum & Instruction
- Data Sets
- Economics
- Education
- Engineering (general)
- Engineering, Chemical
- Engineering, Civil
- Engineering, Electrical & Computer
- Engineering, Environmental
- Engineering, Geological & Geotechnical
- Engineering, Industrial & Manufacturing Systems
- Engineering, Mechanical & Aerospace
- Engineering, Nuclear Science
- Entomology
- Entrepreneurship and Small Business
- Environmental Science
- Exercise physiology
- Film Studies
- Finance
- Fisheries
- Food Science & Nutrition
- Forestry
- Genetics
- Geography
- Geology
- Historical Newspapers
- History (general)
- History, 19th Century U.S.
- History, U.S. (recent)
- History of the British Empire
- Hospitality
- Industry Information
- International/Foreign Countries
- Journalism: General Databases
- Language and Literature, English
- Language and Literature, French
- Language and Literature, German
- Language and Literature, Italian
- Language and Literature, Portuguese
- Language and Literature, Russian
- Language and Literature, Spanish
- Languages and Linguistics
- Law
- Library Science
- Management
- Marketing
- Materials Science
- Mathematics
- Medicine
- Music
- Natural Resources
- Nursing
- Nutrition
- Occupational Therapy
- Parks, Recreation & Tourism
- Pharmacology
- Philosophy
- Physical Education
- Physical Therapy
- Physics
- Plant Sciences
- Political Science
- Psychology
- Public Policy
- Religious Studies
- Science (general)
- Social Work
- Sociology
- Soil Science
- Sports and Sport Venue Management
- Statistics
- Textile and Apparel Management
- Theatre
- Transportation
- Veterinary Medicine
- Wildlife
- Wine
- Women & Gender Studies
Resources by Type: Chemical Substances
Purchased databases with the
icon are accessible only to MU users.CCRIS- Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information
A scientifically evaluated and fully referenced databank developed and maintained by the National Cancer Institute (NCI). It contains carcinogenicity, tumor promotion, and utagenicity
test results on over 7000 chemical compounds. To search, select CCRIS from the drop down search menu. [more]
CHEMID
Also Known as chem id
Chemical dictionary file for over 339,000 compounds of biomedical and regulatory
interest. Includes chemical property and toxicity information. File locators lead users to additional information on other files such as HSDB, RTECS, TOXNET, and TOXLINE. In addition, SUPERLIST provides names and other data used to describe chemicals on over 30 key federal and state regulatory lists. Chemical structure searching is also supported. [more]
Entrez Cross-Database Search Page from NCBI
Also Known as entre; entrée
Enter a search and see the number of hits in each of the 20+ databases from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), including Pubmed, OMIM, GenBank, and many more. [more]
Haz-Map
Also Known as hazmap; haz map
Track occupational exposures by chemical, disorder, or occupation. Learn which occupations have a higher risk for which diseases, as well as the chemicals commonly encountered in different lines of work. From the Specialized Information Services branch of the National Library of Medicine. [more]
Links over 4,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS), including automotive, personal care, gardening, home care, and craft products. Search by product/ingredient, or browse by product category or manufacturer. Based on the Consumer Product Information Database. Copyright 2001 by DeLima Associates. From the National Library of Medicine. [more]
Molecular Imaging and Contrast Agent Database
Also Known as MICAD
Information on structure, synthesis and uses of in vivo molecular agents developed for positron emission tomography (PET), single photon emission computed tomography (SPECT), magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), ultrasound (US), computed tomography (CT), optical imaging, and planar radiography, gamma imaging and other methods. Includes links to MEDLINE and other NIH and NCBI resources. [more]
Search by active ingredient, (including CAS Registry Numbers) product name, or product category to discover uses, toxicity, and regulatory status of pesticides. From the Pesticides Action Network of North America. [more]
Search more than 50,000 chains of 3-D protein structures by ID or query by example to identify similar structures. [more]
Locate information on structure and biological activity of over 800,000 small organic molecules. Search by substance, bioassay or compound. Information is imported from 14 public sources, including ChemID plus. Structure and similarity searching are also supported. From the National Center for Biotechnology Information, it includes links to other Pubmed Entrez databases. [more]
DATABASES BY TYPE
Resources grouped by type or format of information that they provide (e.g. primary sources, images)
- Audio
- Biographies
- Book Chapters
- Book Reviews
- Books
- Catalogs
- Chemical Substances
- Cited References
- Company Information
- Conference Proceedings
- Dictionaries and Thesauri
- Directories
- Disease Information
- Dissertations and Theses
- Drug Information
- Encyclopedias
- Government Documents
- Grants
- Guidelines/Critical Pathways
- Handbooks and Manuals
TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH
General and Multidisciplinary Databases
The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.
- Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
- Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals
- Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
- Find out who's citing particular articles
- Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
- Does not include the last five years of issues
- Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
- Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more
- Search for scholarly articles, books and theses
Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks
Current and Controversial Issues
Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies
|
News and Newspapers
- Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
- Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
- 1980's to date
- Company business and financial information
- Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
- 1980's to date
- Full-text newspapers and trade journals
- Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
- 1980's to date
Proquest Historical Newspapers
- Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
- Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times
Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources
- Create citations in APA and MLA format: Citation Builder
- Manage your references and automatically create bibliographies and in-text citations.
TRIAL DATABASES
The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.
ASME Standards - Trial
Also Known as American Society of Mechanical Engineers Standards
Contains full-text access to all active American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) standards, including the Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (BPVC). These codes and standards cover a breadth of topics, including pressure technology, nuclear plants, elevators/escalators, construction, engineering design, standardization, and performance testing. Trial ends June 1st, 2024. [more]
Please give feedback for the trial.
Please give feedback for the trial.
Conditions of Use
Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources.
You MUST
- Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
- Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
- Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration
- Comply with all applicable laws concerning copyright and intellectual property
You MUST NOT
- Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
- Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources