MU MU Libraries

Team Zalk: Meet Reg!

Meet the pets! A look at the team behind Team Zalk!

Name: Reg, which is short for Regulus.

Breed: Felis catus. Domestic Short Hair. I may have some Russian Blue in me because I have very soft thick fur.

Age: I was born June 24, 2008. So, I am 8 years old

Siblings: Slipper; Stitch

How I came to live with my human: She adopted me from one of the labs at the Vet School.

Likes: Playing fetch (it’s not just for dogs you know). I bring my toy up to the top of the stairs & my human tries to throw it past me down the stairs. I sometimes like to cheat by moving half way down the stairs. Laying in the garden windows and watching the birds at the birdfeeders. I’ve tried to catch them, but there’s an invisable barrier that keeps me from getting to them.  Guarding the top of the stairs & checking everyone out who visits because I’m a very social feline. I’m also a very laid back and curious cat. I have to check everything out that is new & different. Going outside whenever I can escape on my own, but my human always brings me back in when she catches me (although sometimes she will let me go out with her). Sleeping with my human. Eating, I really like to eat. I love being petted and having my belly rubbed sometimes. I like to annoy the other feline which sometime gets me in trouble, but we do play at times.  Chewing on the plants, but my human put cages over them so I can’t anymore & the others are behind a closed door.

Dislikes: Being made to move from a spot I’ve chosen for myself; the humans should step around me. Other cats outside. Closed doors. I don’t like being picked up very often. Plastic bags. (I had a very bad experience with one when I was young. I was checking to see what was in them when one attacked & wrapped itself around my back leg. I tried to run from it, but it kept following me. My human finally rescued me by removing it.)

What do I do all day: Whatever I feel like doing which is mostly: Sleep, Eat, Annoy the other cat, Greet my human at the door when she comes home.

My human: Laura Buck