Finding sources that meet the expectations of your professor may seem like a daunting task. However, Mizzou Libraries provides tools to simplify the process of finding high-quality, scholarly sources.
After you search the main search bar on the library homepage, you can limit your results to peer-reviewed sources by clicking this checkbox:
This way, you know the articles you’re viewing have been peer-reviewed and are scholarly.
Other databases may offer a similar option, but each is arranged and designed independently, so the wording or location may be different.
One more pedantic note–it is ultimately your job to determine the quality of source. If you are unsure, you can always chat with a librarian or come to the Research Help and Information Desk for assistance. We are happy to help!
Ever wondered what peasants wore in England in 682, or needed to explain why it was important for people to make pilgrimages to their religion’s Holy Land? Brill’s Medieval Reference Library Online can help answer those questions and more.
Brill’s Medieval Reference Library Online consists of four reference resources. Brill's Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages covers European medieval history from c.500-c.1500 over a broad range of topics. The Encyclopedia of Medieval Dress and Textiles provides articles on medieval dress and textiles of the British Isles c.450-1450. The Encyclopedia of Medieval Pilgrimage deals with the role of travel in medieval religious life and covers the period from c.300-c.1500. Finally, The Encyclopedia of the Medieval Chronicle presents the latest research into the chronicles written and studied in the Middle Ages.
Brill’s Medieval Reference Library Online give your the ability to browse each work, or search through all or one with the basic or advanced search options. Register for a free account and be able to star and label results, as well as save searches, all to help you with your research. Check it out before our trial ends on April 6, 2017.
Brill’s Medieval Reference Library Online