Arts & Humanities : History : U.S. History (recent)

Subject Librarians

Subject Librarian Rachel Brekhus

Rachel Brekhus
(573) 882-7563
brekhusr@missouri.edu

Arts & Humanities : History : U.S. History (recent)

Core Resources

This subject guide covers recent US history, with “recent” defined rather broadly, as the history of the US starting in 1890.  This is a broad, general guide.  For more specific and overlapping topics, please see the related sourcepacks listed at left.

Databases for Articles

Other Resources Online

Databases for Articles


Journal Article Databases

Academic Search Complete Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h
   Indexes journal and some magazine articles across many academic subjects. Time periods indexed vary (1984 is earliest). Full text coverage varies by journal (earliest full text 1990). Good starting point for article research. [more]

America History and Life Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=ahl
   America History and Life contains citations and abstracts of books, dissertations, and articles from approximately 2,000 journals published worldwide. Covers all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture, and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present. [more]

JSTOR Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org
   Searches digitized versions of high-quality scholarly journals on many subjects. Full-text coverage extends from the first issue to about five years ago for most journals. [more]

Project Muse Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://muse.jhu.edu/muse.html
   Project Muse provides full-text access to more than 100 scholarly journal titles from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics. [more]

Newspapers and TV News

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://global.factiva.com/en/sess/login.asp?xsid=S003Wvj0XNyMTZyMTApMDAqNDAvNXmm5DFHY96oYqZlNFFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFB
   U.S. and international newspaper articles in full text, date coverage varies by title but generally late 20th/early 21st Century to present [more]

Historic Missouri Newspaper Project
http://newspapers.umsystem.edu/Archive/skins/missouri/navigator.asp?BP=OK&GZ=T&AW=1080831627453
   Searchable, full-image online copies of select years from 14 Missouri newspapers. Most newspapers are 19th Century only, but the Columbia Missourian and Hannibal Courier have significant 20th Century holdings. [more]

LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/
   Newspaper articles and TV transcripts – late 20th Century to present [more]

NewsBank Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://infoweb.newsbank.com
   Includes complete full-text content for the Kansas City Star (1991+) and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1989+) newspapers, except for paid advertising. Also includes News Missouri (1997+), which contains wire service news articles about events and issues of importance to Missouri and surrounding states. [more]

Newspaper Source Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=nfh
   Newspaper Source provides selected full-text for 35 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full-text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full-text for more than 375 regional (U.S.) newspapers. [more]

PressDisplay Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://library.pressdisplay.com
   PressDisplay provides the original format, layout and pagination for over 200 newspapers from over 50 countries. [more]

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/hnpnewyorktimes/advanced?accountid=14576
   Also Known as: New York Times;historical New York Times; NYT
ProQuest Historical Newspapers digitally reproduces every issue of the New York Times (1851-2006) from cover-to-cover. It provides full page-image and full-text searching of the newspaper. [more]

Vanderbilt Television News Archive Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://tvnews.vanderbilt.edu/
   The Vanderbilt Television News Archive includes over 835,000 records describing items of news content. Many of these records include video links for immediate viewing; the rest are available by loan. The core collection includes evening news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004).

Special news broadcasts found in the Archive include political conventions, presidential speeches and press conferences, Watergate hearings, coverage of the Persian Gulf War, the events of September 11, 2001, the War in Afghanistan, and the War in Iraq.

[more]

Magazines (Popular/Journalistic)

American Periodical Series Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/americanperiodicals/advanced?accountid=14576
   American Periodical Series Online is full-text collection of over 1,100 magazines and journals published between 1741 and the early 1900′s. Uneven but growing coverage after 1900. [more]

Reader’s Guide Retrospective 1890-1982 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=rgr
   Readers Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. [more]

Government Sources

ProQuest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/congressional/search/advanced/advanced?accountid=14576
   Also Known as: Lexis Nexis Congressional
ProQuest Congressional indexes congressional publications from 1789 to date and provides full text for much of it. This database also includes biographical, financial and voting information on current members of Congress. [more]

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://catalog.gpo.gov/
   Also Known as: CGP
All U.S. government documents for sale through the Government Printing Office and distributed to depository libraries. Includes congressional reports, hearings, debates and records; judiciary materials, and documents issued by the executive departments (e.g. DHHS, Labor,
Defense, etc.) Since the University of Missouri – Columbia is a depository library, virtually all of
these items are available locally. [more]

HeinOnline Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://heinonline.org/HOL/Welcome?collection=journals
   HeinOnline is most useful for providing full text when the exact citation to a primary source legal document is already in hand. However there is a browse feature which allows some amount of “drilling down” into subjects of interest. When using this source, first click on the “Library” of interest, for example, “Treaties and Agreements Library.” Then click the SEARCH tab in the upper navigation bar. [more]

CQ Weekly Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://library.cqpress.com/cqweekly/
   CQ Weekly provides the CQ Weekly Congressional Quarterly’s magazine on government, commerce and politics. Complete source for expert coverage of the U.S. Congress, including status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering. [more]

Digital National Security Archive Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://nsarchive.chadwyck.com/
   The Digital National Security Archive is a comprehensive collection of significant primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. The Archive is organized into dozens of topical collections, each containing government documents declassified under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). [more]

Historical Statistics of the United States Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://hsus.cambridge.org
   Statistics on population, economics and government. In the advanced search, you can limit by years covered. Statistical tables can be downloaded in Excel and other formats. [more]

Geolytics’ Neighborhood Change Database CD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.
http://library.missouri.edu/databases/ellisonly/
   Geolytics’ Neighborhood Change Database contains nation-wide tract-level data from the 1970, 1980, 1990 and 2000 decennial censuses. Combines U.S. Bureau of the Census data into one product with variables and tract boundaries that are consistently defined across census years. [more]

Databases for U.S. History (recent)

Databases for U.S. History (recent)

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/morenetuomcolum?db=GVRL
   Cross-searchable set of online reference works, including key works on recent US history such as the American Decades set, the Dictionary of American History, the Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America, and many more relevant online books. [more]

Journals


Top Journals, Journal Ranking Tools

 

Top History Journals ranked by 2007 Impact Factor, from highest to lowest:

American Historical Review, Environmental History, Journal of American History, Past and Present, Journal of African History, Journal of Modern History, Journal of Social History, Comparative Studies in Society and History, English Historical Review.  Linked titles connect to MU Libraries journal holdings (online and print).

(Data from: Times Higher Education Supplement, 14. August 2008, “Top Journals in History, Ranked by 2007 Impact Factor.”)

SCImago Journal and Country Rank
http://www.scimagojr.com/
   Calculates journal and nation rankings from a formula similar but not identical to the one used to calculate journal impact factors, using cited reference data from the Scopus database. To see a ranking of history journals, with a good deal of archaeology and history of science thrown in, go to the Journal Indicators section, choose Subject Area: Arts & Humanities, Subject Category: History

Tips for finding journals and journal articles

  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online


MU Government Documents and Special Collections

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
http://www.archive-it.org/collections/1078
   The Congressional Research Service (CRS) is a branch of the Library of Congress that provides nonpartisan research to the U.S. Congress on a variety of hot topics. CRS reports have an excellent reputation for clear presentation of essential facts, and for providing fair and even-handed summaries of controversial issues.

Despite its connection with the premier library of the United States, the Congressional Research Service does not make its reports available by any sort of public distribution system. James Jacobs, International Documents Librarian at Stanford University, has created a way to search simultaneously many sites that make CRS Reports available to the public.

Missouri State Government Research Guide
http://library.missouri.edu/collections/documents/mo/default.htm
   Guide to documents (laws, publications, statistics and more) produced by the state of Missouri

Newspapers on Microfilm in Special Collections (MU Libraries)
http://library.missouri.edu/specialcollections/news.htm
   These newspapers can be browsed alphabetically, by geography or by time period. [more]

Primary Resources in History (MU Special Collections)
http://library.missouri.edu/specialcollections/histmf.php
   Online version of a printed guide to MU’s microfilm collections on historical topics. Descriptions are searchable or browseable by topic, e.g., Revolutionary War, Black Studies, Church History. Descriptions contain more information than is in the MERLIN catalog. Does not contain online full text. [more]

US General Accountability Office (GAO)
http://www.gao.gov/
   Also Known as: GAO
Known as “the investigative arm of Congress,” the GAO analyzes policies, programs and performance of the federal government. Full text reports dating back to the 1930s are available through the website.

US Government Documents Research Guide (MU)
http://library.missouri.edu/collections/documents/usa/researchguide.htm
   Guide to federal documents and MU access to them online and in print format

Quick Chart of Government Documents to consult for student paper topics in History 8211

Other Resources Online for U.S. History (recent)

American Memory
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html
   American Memory provides access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

Avalon Project – Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy (Yale)
http://avalon.law.yale.edu/subject_menus/major.asp
   Key historical documents in searchable full text, browseable by time period or by topic. Covers 2000 BCE to present. [more]

Internet Archive
http://www.archive.org/index.php
   Contains archived versions of Web sites, along with sound and video recordings and software. Archiving is not comprehensive, and sites may opt out of being archived, but there is still good “archival” Web content here.

Intute: Arts and Humanities
http://www.intute.ac.uk/artsandhumanities/
   Intute is an online service providing access to the best Web resources for education and research, selected and evaluated by a network of subject specialists. There are over 21,000 Web resources listed here that are freely available by keyword searching and browsing.

PolicyArchive
http://www.policyarchive.org
   Digital archive of global, non-partisan public policy research. Contains summaries and full texts, videos, reports, briefs, and multimedia material of think tank, university, government, and foundation-funded policy research. It offers a subject index, an internal search engine, useful abstracts, email notifications of newly added research.

Citing Sources

MU Libraries Citation Styles (MLA, APA, Chicago, Turabian)

MU Libraries EndNote Instructions and Guides (EndNote citation management software)

Writing an Annotated Bibliography (MU Libraries guide)

Zotero
http://www.zotero.org/
   Free, easy-to-use Firefox downloadable software that collects, organizes, manages, stores, and outputs citations in various formats.

eBooks / Books


eBooks / Books for U.S. History (recent)

Center for Research Libraries
http://www.crl.edu/content.asp?l1=5&l2=23
   The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is a consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries. The consortium acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching and makes them available to member institutions through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery. [more]

Tips for finding books

  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog