Health & Medicine : Toxicology

Health & Medicine : Toxicology

Core Resources

Databases for Articles

Databases for Toxicology

CCRIS- Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A scientifically evaluated and fully referenced databank developed and maintained by the National Cancer Institute (NCI). It contains carcinogenicity, tumor promotion, and utagenicity test results on over 7000 chemical compounds. To search, select CCRIS from the drop down search menu. [more]


Chemical dictionary file for over 339,000 compounds of biomedical and regulatory interest. Includes chemical property and toxicity information. File locators lead users to additional information on other files such as HSDB, RTECS, TOXNET, and TOXLINE. In addition, SUPERLIST provides names and other data used to describe chemicals on over 30 key federal and state regulatory lists. Chemical structure searching is also supported. [more]

DART Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology

Contains over 37,000 references to literature on agents that may cause birth defects. For references prior to 1989, search ETICBACK. [more]

DRUGDEX System Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.

Drug information gathered and reviewed by Micromedex. Information provided includes dosing, pharmacokinetics, clinical applications and comparative drug efficacy. To search, enter the Micromedex system and click on box next to DrugDex System. Only accessible at University of Missouri Health Care facilities. [more]

Enviro-Health Links Hurricane Katrina Resource Page Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Links to information on environmental cleanup, drinking water, mold, hazardous materials and more created to assist relief workers. Created by Specialized Information Services at the National Library of Medicine .

GENE-TOX Genetic Toxicology Data Bank

Retrieve peer-reviewed mutagenicity data on over 2,000 chemicals. These expert reviews were themselves published in the Reviews in Genetic Toxicology section of MUTATION RESEARCH. The information for each test system includes species, sex, assay type, results, etc. and carries a **PEER REVIEWED** status tag. Each test system is referenced with a number identifying the study citation in the Environmental Mutagen Information Center file and a brief bibliographic citation for the original source paper and/or to the GENE-TOX panel report publication for the assay. To search, select GENE-TOX from the drop down search menu. [more]

Hazardous Substance Data Bank

Peer-reviewed information on over 4700 chemicals including information on poisoning, toxicity, environmental fate and exposure, chemical/physical properties, standards and regulations, monitoring and analysis, and safety and handling. A subset of 390 chemicals, WISER (Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders) is available for downloading to Palm OS PDAs. [more]


Track occupational exposures by chemical, disorder, or occupation. Learn which occupations have a higher risk for which diseases, as well as the chemicals commonly encountered in different lines of work. From the Specialized Information Services branch of the National Library of Medicine. [more]

Household Products Database

Links over 4,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS), including automotive, personal care, gardening, home care, and craft products. Search by product/ingredient, or browse by product category or manufacturer. Based on the Consumer Product Information Database ©2001 by DeLima Associates. From the National Library of Medicine. [more]

International Toxicity Estimates for Risk (ITER) Database Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A product of the Cincinnati based Toxicology Excellence for Risk Assessment, ITER presents human health risk values for over 600 chemicals from authoritative groups worldwide, including the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, the U.S. Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry, Health Canada, the Dutch National Institute of Public Health and the Environment, the International Agency for Research on Cancer, as well as independent parties whose risk values have undergone peer review. [more]

IRIS (Integrated Risk Information System) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Contains health risk information on over 530 chemicals. From the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. The reference dose and carcinogenicity assessments on IRIS can serve as guides in evaluating potential health hazards and selecting a response to alleviate a potential risk to human health. To search, select IRIS from the drop down search menu. [more]

LactMed Drugs and Lactation Database Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider. [more]

Materials Safety Data Sheets Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Product identification, manufacturer, emergency and safety information for over 180,000 products manufactured in the U.S. and Canada. Search by product name, company, CAS registry number, or NSN. [more]

MEDLINE (Ovid) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

Merck Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The Merck Index provides authoritative information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals, including scientific significance, physical and toxicity data, therapeutic and commercial uses, caution and hazard information and key references in the literature. [more]

MICROMEDEX Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A variety of databases covering topics such as medicine, drugs, alternative and complementary medicine, patient education and occupational health. Search multiple Micromedex databases via the Integrated Index ( ) feature or search individual databases. Brought to you by University of Missouri Health Care.

PAN Pesticides Database Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Search by active ingredient, (including CAS Registry Numbers) product name, or product category to discover uses, toxicity, and regulatory status of pesticides. From the Pesticides Action Network of North America. [more]

Plants Toxic to Animals

Information on identifying common plants toxic to animals. Search plants by common or scientific names. Produced by University of Illinois.

POISINDEX Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.

The POISINDEX System identifies ingredients for over 1 million household, cosmetic, commercial, harmaceutical and biological products and chemicals. Each substance is linked to one or more management documents providing informationon clinical effects, range of toxicity and treatment protocals for exposures involving the substances. Only accessible at University of Missouri Health Care facilities. [more]

Poisonous Plants Informational Database

Botany, chemistry, toxicology, diagnosis, and prevention of poisoning of animals by plants and other natural flora. Includes plant images and images of affected animals. From Cornell University. [more]

PubMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The National Library of Medicine’s free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals, such as Science and Nature. MU users have enhanced MEDLINE search capabilities available to them in Ovid MEDLINE. MeSH subject indexing is not available for very new citations or for citations older than 1966. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

RTECS – Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances

Toxic effects data on some 140,000 chemicals. Retrieve data on skin/eye irritation, carcinogenicity, mutagenicity and reproductive consequences on over 140,000 chemicals. From the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH). Formerly available free as part of TOXNET, this file is now only available via fee-based, expert search [more]

Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Search 33 million journal articles, cited references, and patents. Cover-to-cover indexing 1996-date for 14,000 (mostly scientific) journals, with some retrospective coverage compiled from cited references and free web sources. Compile a table of citation counts for a given author showing cited references by year. Discover the h-index for a given author. Search for all cited references for a given author, just a combination of selected references, or a single reference, with an option to exclude self-citations. Locate an article to see Findit@Mu links to all its cited references. [more]


A companion to the TRI Toxic Release Inventory. A geographic information system which provides maps showing the release of toxic chemicals over a geographic area. Search by chemical name, chemical name fragment, and/or location (such as city, state, or zip code). [more]

TRI – Toxic Release Inventory

A system for tracking the release of chemicals into the environment. Search by company, geographic location, or chemical for a given year. [more]

Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders (WISER)

Also Known as: webwiser ; WISER
Designed to assist first responders in hazardous material incidents, WISER provides a wide range of information on hazardous substances, including substance identification support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression advice. Contains information on 390 of the substances included in the HSDB Hazardous Substances Databank. [more]


Journals for Toxicology

Browse Journals on Toxicology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Toxicology

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR)

An agency of the Public Health Service in the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Its mission is to prevent exposure and adverse human health effects and diminished quality of life associated with exposure to hazardous substances from waste sites, unplanned releases, and other sources of pollution present in the environment. The homepage provides access points for ATSDR Datasets/Resources such as the HazDat Database, toxicology information, health studies and registries, health education and communication, the Hazardous Substances & Public Health newsletter, a Primer on Health Risk Communication Principles and Practices, congressional testimony and reports to Congress, and access to other related organizations and internet resources.

CPDB – Carcinogenic Potency Data Base

Also Known as: Carcinogenic Potency Database


Disaster Lit Resource Guide for Disaster Medicine and Public Health

Also Known as: disasterlit
A database of links to disaster medicine and public health documents freely available online. Includes expert guidelines, research reports, conference proceedings, training classes, fact sheets, websites, databases, and similar materials selected from over 700 organizations for a professional audience.

Drug Information Portal from the National Library of Medicine


Also Known as: liver tox
Provides up-to-date, accurate, and easily accessed information on the diagnosis, cause, frequency, patterns, and management of liver injury attributable to prescription and nonprescription medications, herbals and dietary supplements. Also includes a case registry that will enable scientific analysis and better characterization of the clinical patterns of liver injury. Registered users can also submit case reports to the registry.

MEDLINE Evidence Based Search Filters

Use these links to target methodologically sound, evidence-based journal articles in MEDLINE. Choose from therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology or prognosis; then combine the result with the subject of interest. [more]


The Mycotox data file contains a list of fungi and the mycotoxins they have been found to produce. Includes references for the mycotoxin findings. Produced by the Canadian National Committee for CODATA.

Skin Deep Cosmetic Database

Rates brand name beauty products on a scale of 0-10 for hazards, toxins, and animal testing. A project of the Environmental Working Group..

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Toxicology

Bioterrorism Sourcebook Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Ebrary books owned by MU Libraries Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Over 2000 electronic books covering computers (including Photoshop, PowerPoint, Dreamweaver, etc.) and engineering topics available in full text. Over 80 medical titles are included. The ebrary reader will need to be installed in order to view the texts. [more]

Lexi-Interact Online Drug Interactions Program Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.

A service of UpToDate, provided by the Lexi-Comp company. Enter a list of drugs to identify potential interactions, or list all potential interactions for a given drug or herb. Results can be filtered by level of risk rating if desired. After logging into UpToDate and accepting the license agreement, Click on Launch Lexi-Interact drug interactions program.

Poisoning and Drug Overdose Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

UCSF Hospitalist Handbook

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog

Subject Librarians

Subject Librarian Diane Johnson

Diane Johnson
(573) 882-6142