Health & Medicine : Tests & Lab Diagnosis

Subject Librarians



Subject Librarian Rebecca Graves

Rebecca Graves
(573) 882-0469
GravesR@health.missouri.edu

Health & Medicine : Tests & Lab Diagnosis

Core Resources

Databases for Articles

Databases for Tests & Lab Diagnosis

ClinicalKey Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.clinicalkey.com
  
Also Known as: MDconsult ; md consult ; firstconsult ; first consult ; procedures consult ; clinical key
Contains all the of the content formerly found in MDConsult, plus: Over 1000 additional clinical books; Instructional videos for over 300 procedures, including Lumbar puncture, central line insertion, splinting, and much more; Concise, point-of-care information (formerly known as FirstConsult). Preview the new version of ClinicalKey, which will go live on Tuesday, September 23.

Videos in Clinical Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.nejm.org/multimedia/medical-videos?emp=marcomtr
  
Also Known as: nejm videos ; new englande journal of medicine videos
Videos showing common medical procedures from the New England Journal of Medicine. Can also be viewed on mobile devices.

Journals

Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Tests & Lab Diagnosis

DPDx Identification and Diagnosis of Parasites of Public Health Concern Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.dpd.cdc.gov/dpdx/Default.htm
  
Users can browse through concise reviews of parasites and parasitic diseases, including an image library and a review of recommended procedures for collecting, shipping, processing, and examining biologic specimens.

Fairhealthconsumer.org
http://fairhealthconsumer.org/
  
Also Known as: fair health consumer; fairhealth consumer
Compare customary charges for medical and dental services nationwide. Browse by procedure or search by CPT code.

Health Guide A-Z: Medical Tests
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.webmd.com/a-to-z-guides/tests/default.htm
  
Information about medical tests designed for health consumers and patients. Normal lab values are presented along with information about how to prepare for tests and results interpretation.

Healthcare Blue Book
http://healthcarebluebook.com/
  
Also Known as: healthcare blue book; health care bluebook; health care bluebook;
Compare prices for medical procedures, tests, hearing aids, and other health care services. Includes an option to enter your ZIP code to compare prices for nearby doctors & hospitals.

Isabel Symptom Checker
http://symptomchecker.isabelhealthcare.com/suggest_diagnoses_advanced/landing_page
  
A differential diagnosis tool containing symptoms for over 6000 diseases.

Lab Tests Online
http://www.labtestsonline.org
  
Produced by laboratory professional societies, this site provides descriptions of laboratory tests including interpretation information. The site also includes a list of conditions and diseases along with the tests that are typically used in the diagnosis and treatment of these conditions and diseases.

Medical Algorithms Project Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.medal.org/
  
Contains 1,000 formulas and algorithms spanning major medical domains, organized into 43 chapters. To ensure the widest possible audience, the algorithms have been implemented in an Excel workbook which Windows or Macintosh computer. You will need MS Excel, and should be familiar with running spreadsheets.

Online Clinical Calculator Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.
http://www.intmed.mcw.edu/clincalc.html
  
Compute anion gap, creatinine clearance, test sensitivity and specificity, and more. From the Division of General Internal Medicine, Medical College of Wisconsin.

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Tests & Lab Diagnosis

Books@Ovid
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&NEWS=N&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&D=baov&
  
A collection of major medical, nursing and pharmacy reference texts. Titles can be searched individually or as a whole.

Clinician’s Pocket Reference Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=93
  


Evidence Based Physical Diagnosis Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090424498
  
Also Known as: mcgee physical diagnosis ; mc gee physical diagnosis ; mcgee’s physical diagnosis ; mc gee’s physical diagnosis ; mcgees physical diagnosis


Ferri’s Best Test: A Practical Guide to Laboratory Medicine and Diagnostic Imaging, 3rd ed. Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20110070618
  
Also Known as: Practical Guide to Laboratory Medicine and Diagnostic Imaging; Ferri’s Practical Guide to Laboratory Medicine and Diagnostic Imaging; Ferri’s Laboratory Medicine and Diagnostic Imaging


Ferri’s Clinical Advisor 2014 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20100683192
  
Also Known as: Clinical Advisor


Henry’s Clinical Diagnosis and Management by Laboratory Methods Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090459154
  
Also Known as: Clinical Diagnosis and Management by Laboratory Methods


Laboratory Tests and Diagnostic Procedures  Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20100683313
  
Also Known as: Tests and Diagnostic Procedures


Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests ( Fischbach ) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/record=b4249078~S1
  


Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=795
  
Also Known as: AccessMedicine: DX Tests


Seidel’s Guide to Physical Examination Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20120012203
  
Also Known as: Mosby Guide to Physical Examination ; Mosby’s guide to physical examination ; Seidels


Symptom to Diagnosis: An Evidence-Based Guide Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=690
  


The rational clinical examination : evidence-based clinical diagnosis Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/record=b7972552~S1
  
Also Known as: rational clinical exam jama


Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog