Health & Medicine : Surgery

Subject Librarians



Subject Librarian Diane Johnson

Diane Johnson
(573) 882-6142
JohnsonE@health.missouri.edu

Health & Medicine : Surgery

Core Resources

Databases for Articles

Databases for Surgery

EBM Reviews – ACP Journal Club Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=acp
  
The complete text of ACP Journal Club (1991-date) and BMJ’s Evidence Based Medicine (1995-1999), which contain reviews of the most methodologically sound, clinically relevant articles from the top internal medicine, pediatric, ob/gyn, ophthalmology, psychiatry, and surgery journals. This database is fully integrated with MEDLINE so that articles which have been reviewed for these sources will contain an additional link: Article Review. Since a new limit, “EBM Reviews”, has been added to MEDLINE, often the best way to search for these reviews is from MEDLINE. But connecting directly to EBM Reviews: ACP Journal Club permits targeting particular kinds of studies,e.g. therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology, etc; or searching the complete text of each article review, including references, captions and footnotes. EBM Reviews: ACP Journal Club is also fully integrated with the Ovid full text collections, meaning it is often possible to view the complete text of the primary article b [more]

Evidence Updates
http://plus.mcmaster.ca/evidenceupdates
  
A searchable database of the best evidence from 110 premier clinical journals. A network of clinicians evaluates methodologically sound articles for clinical relevance and newsworthiness. Only articles that have been favorably evaluated by at least 3 clinicians are included. Users can also receive either daily or weekly email updates. [more]

MEDLINE (Ovid) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=mesd
  
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

PubMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?myncbishare=umochsclib&dr=abstract
  
The National Library of Medicine’s free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals, such as Science and Nature. MU users have enhanced MEDLINE search capabilities available to them in Ovid MEDLINE. MeSH subject indexing is not available for very new citations or for citations older than 1966. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.scopus.com
  
Search 33 million journal articles, cited references, and patents. Cover-to-cover indexing 1996-date for 14,000 (mostly scientific) journals, with some retrospective coverage compiled from cited references and free web sources. Compile a table of citation counts for a given author showing cited references by year. Discover the h-index for a given author. Search for all cited references for a given author, just a combination of selected references, or a single reference, with an option to exclude self-citations. Locate an article to see Findit@Mu links to all its cited references. [more]

Journals

Journals for Surgery

Browse Journals on Surgery Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://ew3dm6nd8c.search.serialssolutions.com/?V=1.0&L=EW3DM6ND8C&list=2&S=SC&C=MHD013502
  


Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Surgery

AMA Doctor Finder
https://extapps.ama-assn.org/doctorfinder/
  
A directory of virtually every licensed physician in the United States. Search the 650,000+ entries by name and medical specialty.

American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS): Who’s Certified
https://www.abms.org/WC/login.aspx
  
Also Known as: abms ; american board of medical specialties
Verify the physician certification status by one or more of the 24 ABMS member boards, or obtain a list of board certified specialists in a given state or city. Free registration required. Additional biographical details and contact information on the listed specialists is available from the print directory shelved behind the information desk in the Health Sciences Library.

Fairhealthconsumer.org
http://fairhealthconsumer.org/
  
Also Known as: fair health consumer; fairhealth consumer
Compare customary charges for medical and dental services nationwide. Browse by procedure or search by CPT code.

Healthcare Blue Book
http://healthcarebluebook.com/
  
Also Known as: healthcare blue book; health care bluebook; health care bluebook;
Compare prices for medical procedures, tests, hearing aids, and other health care services. Includes an option to enter your ZIP code to compare prices for nearby doctors & hospitals.

Laparoscopy.com Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.laparoscopy.com/
  
Images of laparoscopic procedures are provided.

MEDLINE Evidence Based Search Filters
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://library.muhealth.org/search/ovid/EBMfilters.htm
  
Use these links to target methodologically sound, evidence-based journal articles in MEDLINE. Choose from therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology or prognosis; then combine the result with the subject of interest. [more]

Springer Images
http://www.springerimages.com/imagesMD/
  
Links to image sites in various clinical and preclinical specialties.

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Surgery

Campbell-Walsh Urology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.mdconsult.com/public/book/view?title=Wein:+Campbell-Walsh+Urology
  
Also Known as: Campbell’s Urology


Cummings Otolaryngology–Head & Neck Surgery Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.mdconsult.com/public/book/view?title=Flint:+Cummings+Otolaryngology
  


Current Diagnosis and Treatment Surgery Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=343
  
Also Known as: Current Surgical Diagnosis and Treatment


Genetics for Surgeons
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/bv.fcgi?rid=gfs.TOC&depth=1
  


Operative Surgery Manual, 1st ed., Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.mdconsult.com/books/about.do?about=true&eid=4-u1.0-B0-7216-7864-5..X5001-9&isbn=0-7216-7864-5&uniqId=239070348-2
  


Sabiston Textbook of Surgery Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.mdconsult.com/public/book/view?title=Townsend:+Sabiston+Textbook+of+Surgery
  


STAT!-REF Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://online.statref.com/Default.aspx?grpalias=MU
  
A library of textbooks and drug compendia. Drug information, psychiatry, and obstetrics are especially well represented. Includes STAT!-Study, a collection of multiple choice questions in physiology and toxicology for self-study and Board preparation. MyNCBI account holders can link to articles and ordering options via Findit@MU. [more]

Surgical Treatment: Evidence-Based and Problem Oriented
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/bv.fcgi?call=bv.View..ShowTOC&rid=surg.TOC&depth=10
  


Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog