Health & Medicine : Physiology

Subject Librarians



Subject Librarian Rebecca Graves

Rebecca Graves
(573) 882-0469
GravesR@health.missouri.edu

Health & Medicine : Physiology

Core Resources

Databases for Articles

Databases for Physiology

MEDLINE (Ovid) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=mesd
  
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

PubMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?myncbishare=umochsclib&dr=abstract
  
PubMed, developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), provides access to Old MEDLINE, MEDLINE, in-process, and publisher-supplied citations. PubMed has more than 17 million bibliographic citations and abstracts from nearly 4,500 journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences. In addition, PubMed provides access and links to the integrated molecular biology databases maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.scopus.com
  
Search 33 million journal articles, cited references, and patents. Cover-to-cover indexing 1996-date for 14,000 (mostly scientific) journals, with some retrospective coverage compiled from cited references and free web sources. Compile a table of citation counts for a given author showing cited references by year. Discover the h-index for a given author. Search for all cited references for a given author, just a combination of selected references, or a single reference, with an option to exclude self-citations. Locate an article to see Findit@Mu links to all its cited references. [more]

Books/E-books

Journals

Journals for Physiology

Browse Journals on Physiology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://ew3dm6nd8c.search.serialssolutions.com/?V=1.0&L=EW3DM6ND8C&list=2&S=SC&C=MHD010827
  


Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Physiology

Books/E-books

Physiology in Medicine – review articles from the American Physiological Society
http://guides.library.muhealth.org/physiologyinmedicine
  
Also Known as: APS physiology in medicine
A series of review articles from the American Physiological Society designed to promote physiological understanding of disease with the proper application of new molecular models and tools. Use CTRL-F (Find in Page) to search the titles and abstracts of all articles in the series from 1998-2011 and link to the complete articles. From 1998-2001, the reviews were published in the American Journal of Medicine. From 2001-2011, these articles were published in the Annals of Internal Medicine. Note: as of 2011, the APS Publications Committee has launched an initiative to continue the series. Future PIM articles will be published in the various APS journals, with each journal soliciting PIM articles in their area of focus. [more]

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Physiology

Cell Biology – Pollard Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.mdconsult.com/public/book/view?title=Pollard:+Cell+Biology
  
Also Known as: pollards
Recommended for PBL

Costanzo’s Physiology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://site.ebrary.com/lib/umcolumbia/docDetail.action?docID=10742445
  
Also Known as: costanzo ; costanzo’s physiology
Only one user allowed in at a time. Please close your browser window when finished.

Ganong’s Review of Medical Physiology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=741
  
Also Known as: Review of Medical Physiology
A concise summary of human physiology. Also includes STAT!-Study, a self-study section to help students review for Board and other examinations.

Histology & Cell Biology: Examination & Board Review, 5e Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=563
  
Also Known as: Histology and cell biology: examination and board review
This popular title in the LANGE series is specifically designed to help you make the most of your study time–whether you’re studying histology and cell biology for the first time or reviewing for course exams or the USMLE. With this focused review you will be able to pinpoint your weak areas, and then improve your comprehension with learning aids especially designed to help you understand and retain even the most difficult material. You will find complete easy-to-follow coverage of all the need-to-know material: fundamental concepts, the four basic tissues types, and organs and organ systems–presented in a consistent, time-saving design. At the conclusion of the book, you will find a Diagnostic Final Exam that has been updated with longer, case-related stems that mimic the USMLE Step 1 examination.

Lange Case Files Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/caseHome.aspx
  
Also Known as: Case Files Emergency Medicine ; Case Files Anatomy ; Case Files Microbiology ; Case Files Pharmacology ; Case Files Physiology


LANGE Educational Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/qa.aspx#tab=2
  
Search 11 books covering all areas of basic sciences except anatomy. Includes such respected texts as Harper’s Biochemistry, Ganong’s Medical Physiology, and more. Part of AccessMedicine.

Pathophysiology of Disease Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=17
  


Textbook of Medical Physiology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.mdconsult.com/public/book/view?title=Hall:+Guyton+and+Hall+Textbook+of+Medical+Physiology
  
Also Known as: Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology
Recommended for School of Medicine PBL Block 2.

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog