Health & Medicine : Pharmacology

Subject Librarians



Subject Librarian Diane Johnson

Diane Johnson
(573) 882-6142
JohnsonE@health.missouri.edu

Health & Medicine : Pharmacology

Core Resources

Databases for Articles

Databases for Pharmacology

AIDSinfo
http://www.aidsinfo.nih.gov/
  
Over 700 descriptions of current and closed clinical trials for AIDS. Also includes information on AIDS treatment guidelines, drugs and vaccines. [more]

AIDSinfo Drug Database
http://aidsinfo.nih.gov/DrugsNew/Default.aspx?MenuItem=Drugs
  
A dictionary of over 240 chemical and biological agents. Each entry includes pharmacologic action, adverse reactions, chemical and trade names, contraindications, physical/chemical properties, and manufacturers’ names. A service of the Dept. of Health and Human Services. [more]

Annual Reviews Online Index
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://arjournals.annualreviews.org/search/advanced
  
Search by article title through the following Annual Reviews books 1984-date: Anthropology, Astronomy, Biochemistry, Biophysics and Biomolecular Structure, Cell Developmental Biology, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Energy and the Environment, Fluid Mechanics, Genetics, Immunology, Materials Science, Medicine, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Nuclear and Particle Science, Nutrition, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Physical Chemistry, Physiology, Phytopathology, Plant Physiology, Psychology, Public Health, and Sociology. [more]

ClinicalTrials.gov
http://clinicaltrials.gov
  
A Sponsored by NIH and the National Library of Medicine, this site allows patients and health care providers to search for clinical trials by name of trial location, disease or condition, age group and treatment. [more]

Dietary Supplements Labels Database
http://www.dsld.nlm.nih.gov/dsld/
  
This database contains information on the ingredients of over 2,000 brands of dietary supplements sold in the U.S. and is designed to help not only researchers, but the large audience of supplement consumers as well. [more]

DRUGDEX System Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.
http://www.thomsonhc.com
  
Drug information gathered and reviewed by Micromedex. Information provided includes dosing, pharmacokinetics, clinical applications and comparative drug efficacy. To search, enter the Micromedex system and click on box next to DrugDex System. Only accessible at University of Missouri Health Care facilities. [more]

Epocrates Rx Formulary Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.epocrates.com/products/comparison_table.html
  
Drug reference guide for PDA with formulary information. After installation, you can add an optional formulary, NeedyMeds, to determine if patient financial assistance is available for a particular drug. Epocrates RX available free of charge, Epocrates Essentials available for individual subscription purchase. [more]

Lexicomp Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://online.lexi.com/lco/action/home/switch
  
Comprehensive drug information resource

MEDLINE (Ovid) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=mesd
  
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

Merck Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.expub.com?login=auto
  
The Merck Index provides authoritative information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals, including scientific significance, physical and toxicity data, therapeutic and commercial uses, caution and hazard information and key references in the literature. [more]

MICROMEDEX Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.micromedexsolutions.com/
  
A variety of databases covering topics such as medicine, drugs, alternative and complementary medicine, patient education and occupational health. Search multiple Micromedex databases via the Integrated Index (http://micromedex.umh.edu ) feature or search individual databases. Brought to you by University of Missouri Health Care.

Native American Ethnobotany
http://herb.umd.umich.edu/
  
A guide to plant derivatives used by Native Americans, including plants used for medicinal purposes. Search by plant name, tribe, or pharmacological action. Includes article references and links to the USDA Plants database. [more]

Orphanet Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.
http://www.orpha.net
  
Lists information on orphan drugs in Europe, Japan, Australia, or the United States. Also includes descriptions of rare diseases, including current research projects. A diagnostic tool for 2300 dysmorphic syndromes allows searching by clinical findings. Maintained by a consortium of European partners. [more]

PubChem
http://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/
  
Locate information on structure and biological activity of over 800,000 small organic molecules. Search by substance, bioassay or compound. Information is imported from 14 public sources, including ChemID plus. Structure and similarity searching are also supported. From the National Center for Biotechnology Information, it includes links to other Pubmed Entrez databases. [more]

PubMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?myncbishare=umochsclib&dr=abstract
  
The National Library of Medicine’s free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals, such as Science and Nature. MU users have enhanced MEDLINE search capabilities available to them in Ovid MEDLINE. MeSH subject indexing is not available for very new citations or for citations older than 1966. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.scopus.com
  
Search 33 million journal articles, cited references, and patents. Cover-to-cover indexing 1996-date for 14,000 (mostly scientific) journals, with some retrospective coverage compiled from cited references and free web sources. Compile a table of citation counts for a given author showing cited references by year. Discover the h-index for a given author. Search for all cited references for a given author, just a combination of selected references, or a single reference, with an option to exclude self-citations. Locate an article to see Findit@Mu links to all its cited references. [more]

Tarascon ePharmacopoeia
http://www.tarascon.com/
  
Drug database for PDA including dosage and drug interaction information. Search by generic name or brand name. [more]

Journals

Journals for Pharmacology

Browse Journals on Pharmacology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://ew3dm6nd8c.search.serialssolutions.com/?V=1.0&L=EW3DM6ND8C&list=2&S=SC&C=MHD010600
  


Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Pharmacology

About Herbs, Botanicals, and Other Products
http://www.mskcc.org/mskcc/html/11570.cfm
  
Provides evaluative information on herbal and botanical therapies, including potential benefits/problems, interactions, adverse effects and constituents. Patient summaries are also available. From the Integrative Medicine Service at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center. Free registration required.

DailyMed
http://dailymed.nlm.nih.gov/dailymed/about.cfm
  


Drug Digest
http://www.drugdigest.org
  
Also Known as: drugdigest
Produced by the ExpressScripts Corporation, this site provides general information about drugs, vitamins, herbal medicines and their side effects, including the percentage of patients that experience different side effects. A special “Drug Interactions” tool lets you check to see if the drugs you are taking are safely taken together. Compare Drugs shows drugs with similar actions for common conditions such as hypertension, depression, and more. Drug information provided by Gold Standard.

Drug Information Portal from the National Library of Medicine
http://druginfo.nlm.nih.gov/drugportal/drugportal.jsp
  
[more]

HerbMed
http://www.herbmed.org/
  
A page sponsored by the Alternative Medicine Foundation. Best evidence for effectiveness, contraindications, preparations and mechanisms of action is provided for many common herbs. Some links to journal articles in the PubMed database are provided.

Institute for Safe Medication Practices
http://www.ismp.org/
  
A nonprofit organization that works closely with healthcare practitioners and institutions, regulatory agencies, professional organizations and the pharmaceutical industry to provide education about adverse drug events and their prevention. The Institute provides an independent review of medication errors that have been voluntarily submitted by practitioners to a national Medication Errors Reporting Program (MERP) operated by the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) in the USA. Includes a “Textbook Errata” section to correct serious dosing errors which have been misprinted in published literature.

Intelihealth-Drug Resource Center Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.intelihealth.com/IH/ihtIH/WSIHW000/8124/8124.html?k=menuDrugFR408
  
Search for drug information produced by Johns Hopkins and the USPDI Advice for the Patient.

LiverTox
http://livertox.nih.gov/
  
Also Known as: liver tox
Provides up-to-date, accurate, and easily accessed information on the diagnosis, cause, frequency, patterns, and management of liver injury attributable to prescription and nonprescription medications, herbals and dietary supplements. Also includes a case registry that will enable scientific analysis and better characterization of the clinical patterns of liver injury. Registered users can also submit case reports to the registry.

Mrs. Grieve’s A Modern Herbal
http://www.botanical.com/botanical/mgmh/mgmh.html
  
Approximately 800 plants with medical uses are described. This volume was first published in 1931,but it still has value today.

Natural Health Encyclopedia (via Personal Health Zone)
http://www.personalhealthzone.com/searching.html
  
The TNP Natural Health Encyclopedia contains extensive science-based information on health conditions, their natural remedies, and drug interactions.

PharmGKB
http://www.pharmgkb.org/
  
Also Known as: Pharmacogenomics Knowledge Base
PharmGKB collects, encodes, and disseminates knowledge about the impact of human genetic variations on drug response. It curates primary genotype and phenotype data, annotates gene variants and gene-drug-disease relationships via literature review, and summarizes important PGx genes and drug pathways.

UMCHC Formulary Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.
https://docushare.umh.edu/dsweb/Get/Document-12899/Formulary%2008_01_10.doc
  
The list of drugs and dosage forms approved for usage at the University of Missouri Columbia Hospitals and Clinics.

University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center Reviews of Therapies
http://www.mdanderson.org/departments/cimer/dIndex.cfm?pn=6EB86A59-EBD9-11D4-810100508B603A14
  
Indications, dosages, side effects, and scientific reviews of alternative cancer treatments.

VIPPS-Verified Internet Pharmacy Practice Sites
http://www.awarerx.org/
  
The National Association of Boards of Pharmacy developed VIPPS in 1999 in response to public concern about the safety of pharmacy practices on the Internet. The public is welcome to search for a VIPPS Internet pharmacy that matches their needs.

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Pharmacology

AHFS Drug Information Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://online.statref.com/Document.aspx?grpalias=MU&FxId=1
  
A collection of drug monographs prepared for the purpose of disseminating comprehensive, evaluative drug information.

Basic and Clinical Pharmacology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=388
  
Recommended for School of Medicine PBL Block 1 & 2.

Brody’s Human Pharmacology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-B9780323053747X00018
  
Also Known as: Human Pharmacology


Clinical Pharmacology
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.mdconsult.com/das/pharm/lookup/426214593-2?type=alldrugs
  
Provided as part of MDConsult. Browse or search by drug name to discover indications, dosage, side effects, chemical structure, interactions, contraindications, and precautions for prescription and OTC drugs and personal care products. Pictures are included to aid in drug identification.

DrugPoints Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://online.statref.com/Document.aspx?grpalias=MU&FxId=6
  
Formerly known as USP DI: Drug Information for the Health Care Professional, Volume I of USP DI, contains drug use information in technical language for the physician, dentist, pharmacist, nurse, or other health care provider.

Goodman & Gilman’s The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=28
  
Also Known as: Goodman & Gilman’s Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics


Haddad and Winchester’s Clinical Management of Poisoning and Drug Overdose Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.mdconsult.com/das/book/body/152472308-3/0/2045/0.html
  
Also Known as: Haddad’s Clinical Management of Poisoning and Drug Overdose; Clinical Management of Poisoning and Drug Overdose; Management of Poisoning and Drug Overdose


Harrisons Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=4
  
Also Known as: Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine
[more]

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/mrw/advanced/search?doi=10.1002/0471238961
  
[more]

Lange Case Files Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/caseHome.aspx
  
Also Known as: Case Files Emergency Medicine ; Case Files Anatomy ; Case Files Microbiology ; Case Files Pharmacology ; Case Files Physiology


LANGE Educational Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/qa.aspx#tab=2
  
Search 11 books covering all areas of basic sciences except anatomy. Includes such respected texts as Harper’s Biochemistry, Ganong’s Medical Physiology, and more. Part of AccessMedicine.

Lexi-Interact Online Drug Interactions Program Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.
http://www.uptodate.com/contents/drug-interaction
  
A service of UpToDate, provided by the Lexi-Comp company. Enter a list of drugs to identify potential interactions, or list all potential interactions for a given drug or herb. Results can be filtered by level of risk rating if desired. After logging into UpToDate and accepting the license agreement, Click on Launch Lexi-Interact drug interactions program.

Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://library.missouri.edu/databases/moreinfo.aspx?id=726
  


MedCalc 3000 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://online.statref.com/medcalc3000.aspx?grpalias=UMC
  


Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.medicalletter.org/
  
Also Known as: medical letter ; medical letter treatment guidelines
Offers unbiased critical evaluations of drugs, with special emphasis on new drugs, to physicians and other members of the health professions. The Medical Letter is an independent, peer-reviewed, nonprofit publication that accepts no advertising, grants or donations. Recommended for School of Medicine PBL Block 1.

Medical Pharmacology and Therapeutics Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20110083825
  
Also Known as: Pharmacology and Therapeutics


Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
http://www.merck.com/mmpe/index.html
  
The complete text, including tables and figures, of this popular handbook of internal medicine.

Netter’s Illustrated Pharmacology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20130002563
  
Also Known as: Illustrated Pharmacology; Netter’s Pharmacology


Pediatric Injectable Drugs Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://online.statref.com/Document.aspx?grpalias=UMC&FxId=284
  
Also Known as: Teddy Bear Book
[more]

Pharmacology and Physiology for Anesthesia Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090417124
  


Pharmacology and Therapeutics: Principles to Practice Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-B9781416032915X5001X
  


Pharmacology, 4th ed. (Brenner) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20100654848
  
Also Known as: Brenner’s Pharmacology


Rang & Dale’s Pharmacology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C2009060489X
  
Also Known as: Rang’s Pharmacology; Pharmacology


STAT!-REF Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://online.statref.com/Default.aspx?grpalias=MU
  
A library of textbooks and drug compendia. Drug information, psychiatry, and obstetrics are especially well represented. Includes STAT!-Study, a collection of multiple choice questions in physiology and toxicology for self-study and Board preparation. MyNCBI account holders can link to articles and ordering options via Findit@MU. [more]

UpToDate Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.
http://library.muhealth.org/mainSearch/UpToDate/UTD_IPcheck.php
  
Aims to provide instantaneous, evidence-based answers to the most commonly asked clinical questions. Over 270 journals and other sources are regularly scanned and synthesized into topic reviews designed to provide current answers to clinical questions. Overall, these original topic reviews consist of over 40,000 pages of text and over 10,000 graphics covering the following areas: Internal Medicine, Adult Primary Care, Cardiology, Drug Information, Endocrinology & Diabetes, Family Practice, Gastroenterology & Hepatology, Gynecology, Hematology, Infectious Diseases, Nephrology & Hypertension, Neurology, Obstetrics, Oncology, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine, Rheumatology, Emergency Medicine, Women’s Health, and Psychiatry. To locate more recent articles which cite a referenced article, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here.

USP DI Advice for the Patient
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/druginformation.html
  
Advice for the Patient, Volume II of USP DI, is written in lay language for use by consumers. Included in MedlinePlus Drug Information.

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog