Health & Medicine : Pediatrics

Core Resources

Databases for Articles

Databases for Pediatrics

ClinicalKey Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.clinicalkey.com
  
Also Known as: MDconsult ; md consult ; firstconsult ; first consult ; procedures consult ; clinical key
Contains all the of the content formerly found in MDConsult, plus: Over 1000 additional clinical books; Instructional videos for over 300 procedures, including Lumbar puncture, central line insertion, splinting, and much more; Concise, point-of-care information (formerly known as FirstConsult).

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (EBM Reviews) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=easy&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=coch
  
Also Known as: Cochrane
Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types: includes both completed reviews and protocols for reviews in progress. EBM Reviews is integrated with Ovid MEDLINE. When browsing MEDLINE results, click on “Topic Review” to see the related Cochrane review. [more]

EBM Reviews – ACP Journal Club Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=acp
  
The complete text of ACP Journal Club (1991-date) and BMJ’s Evidence Based Medicine (1995-1999), which contain reviews of the most methodologically sound, clinically relevant articles from the top internal medicine, pediatric, ob/gyn, ophthalmology, psychiatry, and surgery journals. This database is fully integrated with MEDLINE so that articles which have been reviewed for these sources will contain an additional link: Article Review. Since a new limit, “EBM Reviews”, has been added to MEDLINE, often the best way to search for these reviews is from MEDLINE. But connecting directly to EBM Reviews: ACP Journal Club permits targeting particular kinds of studies,e.g. therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology, etc; or searching the complete text of each article review, including references, captions and footnotes. EBM Reviews: ACP Journal Club is also fully integrated with the Ovid full text collections, meaning it is often possible to view the complete text of the primary article b [more]

EBM Reviews – Cochrane Controlled Trials Register Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=easy&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=cctr
  
Contains over 300,000 bibliographic references to controlled trials in health care which have been identified in MEDLINE and EMBASE and hand searches by members of the Cochrane Collaboration. Over 4000 of the trials included were published prior to 1966, and therefore would not be found in MEDLINE. [more]

Evidence Updates
http://plus.mcmaster.ca/evidenceupdates
  
A searchable database of the best evidence from 110 premier clinical journals. A network of clinicians evaluates methodologically sound articles for clinical relevance and newsworthiness. Only articles that have been favorably evaluated by at least 3 clinicians are included. Users can also receive either daily or weekly email updates. [more]

Journal Watch Pediatrics and Adolescent Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://ew3dm6nd8c.search.serialssolutions.com/?V=1.0&N=100&L=EW3DM6ND8C&S=A_T_B&C=Journal+Watch+Pediatrics+and+Adolescent+Medicine&x=33&y=16
  
Journal Watch editors scan the medical literature, select the most clinically significant articles each week, and write a brief summary and commentary for each. Scroll down to link to the original article. Note: To find the article, you may need to access the library’s holdings via the Article Finder. [more]

MEDLINE (Ovid) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=mesd
  
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

PubMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?myncbishare=umochsclib&dr=abstract
  
The National Library of Medicine’s free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals, such as Science and Nature. MU users have enhanced MEDLINE search capabilities available to them in Ovid MEDLINE. MeSH subject indexing is not available for very new citations or for citations older than 1966. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.scopus.com
  
Search 33 million journal articles, cited references, and patents. Cover-to-cover indexing 1996-date for 14,000 (mostly scientific) journals, with some retrospective coverage compiled from cited references and free web sources. Compile a table of citation counts for a given author showing cited references by year. Discover the h-index for a given author. Search for all cited references for a given author, just a combination of selected references, or a single reference, with an option to exclude self-citations. Locate an article to see Findit@Mu links to all its cited references. [more]

Journals

Journals for Pediatrics

Browse Journals on Pediatrics Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://ew3dm6nd8c.search.serialssolutions.com/?V=1.0&L=EW3DM6ND8C&list=2&S=SC&C=MHD010372
  


Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Pediatrics

American Academy of Pediatrics Policy
http://aappolicy.aappublications.org/
  
Also Known as: AAP Policy
This resource provides access to clinical guidelines, policy statements, clinical reports and technical reports developed by the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Boone County Health Report Card
http://www.oseda.missouri.edu/special/boonehealth/
  
Created by the Chamber of Commerce in 1995; to be updated annually. Contains county statistics on various problem health issues such as access to health care, maternal and child health, mental health, and more.

HealthyChildren.org
http://www.healthychildren.org/
  
Site for parents sponsored by the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Medications and Mothers’ Milk
https://myapps.umh.edu/
  
Also Known as: breastmilk meds
Enter a drug name to identify any potential risks associated with breastfeeding. Available to MU Health Care employees on MyApps; click on Breastmilk Meds.

MEDLINE Evidence Based Search Filters
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://library.muhealth.org/search/ovid/EBMfilters.htm
  
Use these links to target methodologically sound, evidence-based journal articles in MEDLINE. Choose from therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology or prognosis; then combine the result with the subject of interest. [more]

New Cochrane Reviews
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=titles&D=coch&SEARCH=new.uf.+and+systematic+review.pt.&NEWS=N
  
New and newly revised systematic reviews from the most recent quarterly update to the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.

PeriStats
http://www.marchofdimes.com/peristats/
  
Aggregating data from 11 government agencies and organizations, PeriStats provides access to the most current maternal and infant health statistics on topics such as preterm birth, infant mortality, tobacco use, cesarean section rates, and health insurance coverage. Detailed information by race, ethnicity, and maternal age for many indicators is also available. From the March of Dimes. View information by state, or for a given metro area.

Virtual Pediatric Hospital, University of Iowa
http://www.virtualpediatrichospital.org/
  
A collection of textbooks and images for pediatricians and their patients. Especially strong in radiology and imaging. Formerly part of the Virtual Hospital.

Who Named It?
http://www.whonamedit.com/index.cfm
  
An encyclopedic dictionary of eponyms. Aims to ultimately provide biographical information on over 15,000 diseases and medical phenomena named after a person; currently contains over 6000 eponyms. Search by eponym, or by name, gender or national origin of the person.

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Pediatrics

Child Development Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3401099999&q=morenetuomcolum
  


Clinical Evidence Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.clinicalevidence.com/ceweb/index.jsp
  
A compendium of evidence on the effects of common clinical interventions in a variety of medical specialties, from the publishers of the British Medical Journal. Summarizes the current state of knowledge, ignorance, and uncertainty about the prevention and treatment of a wide range of clinical conditions based on thorough searches and appraisal of the literature. Updated monthly.

Current Diagnosis and Treatment Pediatrics, 22 ed. Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=1016
  
Also Known as: Diagnosis and Treatment: Pediatrics; Pediatrics


DynaMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?eou=aHR0cDovL3NlYXJjaC5lYnNjb2hvc3QuY29tL2xvZ2luLmFzcHg_YXV0aHR5cGU9aXAmYW1wO2N1c3RpZD1zODk0NjEzNCZhbXA7cHJvZmlsZT1keW5hbWVkPEJSPjxCUj5UaGlzIFVSTCB3aWxsIGhhdmUgdGhlIHVzZXIgbG9nIGludG8gdGhlIG1haW4gcHJveHkgYnV0IHJlZGlyZWN0IHRoZSB1c2VyIHRvIHRoZSBIZWFsdGggU2NpZW5jZXMgTGlicmFyeSBmb3IgYWNjZXNzIHRvIER5bmFtZWQuIDxCUj48QlI-UGxlYXNlIA**&url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip&custid=s8946134&profile=dynamed
  
Provides basic information and summarizes current developments on over 2000 diseases. Designed for use at the point of care. Includes ICD9 codes. MyNCBI account holders can link to articles and ordering options via Findit@MU.

Gale Encyclopedia of Children’s Health Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3447299999&q=morenetuomcolum
  


Green’s Skeletal Trauma in Children, 5th ed. Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20110050305
  
Also Known as: Skeletal Trauma in Children


Harriet Lane Handbook, 20th ed. Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20110078213
  
Also Known as: Harriet Lane Pediatrics; The Harriet Lane Handbook


Medscape Reference: Drugs, Diseases, Procedures
http://reference.medscape.com/
  
Also Known as: emedicine
Clinical knowledge base of more than 7,000 diseases and disorders, formerly known as emedicine. Free registration required. An iPhone download version is available.

Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics, 20th ed. Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20120072808
  
Also Known as: Textbook of Pediatrics


Netter’s Pediatrics Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090416866
  
Also Known as: Pediatrics; Paediatrics


OMIM – Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/sites/entrez?db=omim
  
McKusick’s definitive catalog of genetic disorders.

Pediatric Injectable Drugs, 10th edition Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://online.statref.com/Notes/ResolveNote.aspx?NoteID=76420&grpalias=MU
  
Also Known as: Teddy Bear Book
[more]

Principles and Practice of Pediatric Infectious Diseases, 4th ed. Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090414806
  


Red Book: 2015 Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://online.statref.com/Document.aspx?FxId=76&DocID=1&grpalias=MU
  
Standard infectious disease reference from the American Academy of Pediatrics Committee on Infectious Diseases. [more]

Teaching Files: Pediatrics Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090382550
  
Also Known as: The Teaching Files: Pediatrics; Pediatrics


Textbook of Pediatric Care Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://online.statref.com/Notes/ResolveNote.aspx?NoteID=45160&grpalias=MU
  
Comprehensive pediatric textbook published by the American Academy of Pediatrics. [more]

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog

Subject Librarians



Subject Librarian Caryn Scoville

Caryn Scoville
(573) 882-2844
scovillec@health.missouri.edu