Health & Medicine : Pathology

Subject Librarians



Darell Schmick
(573) 884-3575
schmickd@health.missouri.edu

Health & Medicine : Pathology

Core Resources

Databases for Articles

Databases for Pathology

Analytical Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.rsc.org/Publishing/CurrentAwareness/AA/AASearchPage.cfm
  
Analytical Abstracts indexes worldwide literature on analytical chemistry. It covers application of analytical techniques, including the use of computers and instruments in general, inorganic, organic, biochemical, food, agricultural and environmental chemistry. Records are indexed by the substance being determined, the material being analyzed, and techniques and applications. [more]

ClinicalKey Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.clinicalkey.com
  
Also Known as: MDconsult ; md consult ; firstconsult ; first consult ; procedures consult ; clinical key
Contains all the of the content formerly found in MDConsult, plus: Over 1000 additional clinical books; Instructional videos for over 300 procedures, including Lumbar puncture, central line insertion, splinting, and much more; Concise, point-of-care information (formerly known as FirstConsult)

MEDLINE (Ovid) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=mesd
  
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

NCBI Images Database Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/advanced
  
Also Known as: pubmed images database ; pubmed central image database ; pubmed image database ; pubmed central images ; pmc images
The NCBI Images Database has now been folded into PubMed Central. To search for specific images on PubMed Central, go to the Advanced Search Page and search the [Figure/Table Caption] field. [more]

PubMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?myncbishare=umochsclib&dr=abstract
  
The National Library of Medicine’s free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals, such as Science and Nature. MU users have enhanced MEDLINE search capabilities available to them in Ovid MEDLINE. MeSH subject indexing is not available for very new citations or for citations older than 1966. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.scopus.com
  
Search 33 million journal articles, cited references, and patents. Cover-to-cover indexing 1996-date for 14,000 (mostly scientific) journals, with some retrospective coverage compiled from cited references and free web sources. Compile a table of citation counts for a given author showing cited references by year. Discover the h-index for a given author. Search for all cited references for a given author, just a combination of selected references, or a single reference, with an option to exclude self-citations. Locate an article to see Findit@Mu links to all its cited references. [more]

Journals

Journals for Pathology

Browse Journals on Pathology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://ew3dm6nd8c.search.serialssolutions.com/?V=1.0&L=EW3DM6ND8C&list=2&S=SC&C=MHD010336
  


Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Pathology

HEAL – Health Education Assets Library
http://www.healcentral.org/
  
A prototype medical education multimedia collection of over 2,000 images, audio clips and video clips covering dermatology, histology, hematology, ObGyn, neuroanatomy, neurology, pathology, biochemistry, and cardiology, Developed with funding from the National Library of Medicine and the National Science Foundation, it is based on digital content contributed by various medical schools, including UCLA, the University of Utah, and the University of Oklahoma. Free registration required.

MEDLINE Evidence Based Search Filters
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://library.muhealth.org/search/ovid/EBMfilters.htm
  
Use these links to target methodologically sound, evidence-based journal articles in MEDLINE. Choose from therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology or prognosis; then combine the result with the subject of interest. [more]

Pathology Online Case Studies
http://path.upmc.edu/cases.html
  
Also Known as: pittsburgh pathology cases
From the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine. Search cases by diagnosis or by patient history.

PEIR – Pathology Education Instructional Resource Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.healcentral.org/healapp/searchResults?searchtype=collection&source=PEIR&page=1
  
Search and browse over 16,000 pathology and histology images from From the University of Alabama at Birmingham. Part of HEAL, the Health Education Assets Library. Many of the images can be reused for educational purposes.

Springer Images
http://www.springerimages.com/imagesMD/
  
Links to image sites in various clinical and preclinical specialties.

Urbana Atlas of Pathology
https://www.med.illinois.edu/m2/pathology/PathAtlasf/titlepage.html#vol1contents
  
Includes both pathologic and normal images, both gross and microscopic views.

Virtual Autopsy
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.le.ac.uk/pathology/teach/va/welcome.html
  
Case studies including symptoms, examination and test results, progression of the case and an interactive cadaver.

WebPath
http://library.med.utah.edu/WebPath/webpath.html
  
Contains over 1500 archived images demonstrating gross and microscopic pathologic findings that are used in the University of Utah School of Medicine pathology course.

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Pathology

Cell and Tissue Based Molecular Pathology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-B9780443069017X50019
  
Also Known as: Volume in the Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology Series


Clinical Methods: The History, Physical, and Laboratory Examinations
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/bv.fcgi?call=bv.View..ShowTOC&rid=cm.TOC&depth=2
  
3rd ed, 1990. A PDA version is also available.

Histology and Cell Biology: An Introduction to Pathology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C2009054576X
  
Also Known as: Introduction to Pathology


Junqueira’s Basic Histology: Text and Atlas Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=574
  
Also Known as: Basic Histology : Text and Atlas


Lange Case Files Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/caseHome.aspx
  
Also Known as: Case Files Emergency Medicine ; Case Files Anatomy ; Case Files Microbiology ; Case Files Pharmacology ; Case Files Physiology


LANGE Educational Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/qa.aspx#tab=2
  
Search 11 books covering all areas of basic sciences except anatomy. Includes such respected texts as Harper’s Biochemistry, Ganong’s Medical Physiology, and more. Part of AccessMedicine.

Molecular Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090617682
  


Netter’s Illustrated Human Pathology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20130002551
  
Also Known as: Illustrated Human Pathology; Netter’s Human Pathology; Netter’s Pathology


Pathology: the big picture Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=793
  


Pathophysiology of Disease Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=17
  


Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, 9th edition Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20110055734
  
Also Known as: Pathologic Basis of Disease


Robbins and Cotran Atlas of Pathology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-B9781437701708X00015
  
Also Known as: Atlas of Pathology


Robbins and Cotran Review of Pathology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-B9781416049302X00011
  
Also Known as: Review of Pathology


Robbins Basic Pathology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090630105
  
Also Known as: Baby Robbins; Basic Pathology


Rosai & Ackerman’s Surgical Pathology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090365277
  
Also Known as: Surgical Pathology


Wheater’s Basic Pathology: A Text, Atlas and Review of Histopathology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-B9780443067976X00010
  
Also Known as: Basic Pathology; Wheater’s Text, Atlas and Review of Histopathology Text, Atlas and Review of Histopathology;


Books and E-Books

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog