Health & Medicine : Orthopedics

Subject Librarians



Darell Schmick
(573) 884-3575
schmickd@health.missouri.edu

Health & Medicine : Orthopedics

Core Resources

Databases for Articles

Databases for Orthopedics

Evidence Updates
http://plus.mcmaster.ca/evidenceupdates
  
A searchable database of the best evidence from 110 premier clinical journals. A network of clinicians evaluates methodologically sound articles for clinical relevance and newsworthiness. Only articles that have been favorably evaluated by at least 3 clinicians are included. Users can also receive either daily or weekly email updates. [more]

Materials Research Database with METADEX Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/materials/advanced?accountid=14576
  
Also Known as: Materials Science
Brings together materials science databases, covering materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications, including the use of materials in orthopedics and dentistry. Everything from raw materials and refining through processing, welding, and fabrication to end use, corrosion, performance, and recycling is covered in for all metals, polymers, ceramics, and composites. The collection comprises several databases which may be searched individually or all together. The databases included in the collection are: Aluminum Industry Abstracts, Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts, Copper Data Center Database, Corrosion Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Materials Business File, Mechanical Engineering Abstracts, METADEX, MicroPatent Materials Patents, and WELDASEARCH. [more]

MEDLINE (Ovid) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=mesd
  
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

PubMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?myncbishare=umochsclib&dr=abstract
  
The National Library of Medicine’s free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals, such as Science and Nature. MU users have enhanced MEDLINE search capabilities available to them in Ovid MEDLINE. MeSH subject indexing is not available for very new citations or for citations older than 1966. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.scopus.com
  
Search 33 million journal articles, cited references, and patents. Cover-to-cover indexing 1996-date for 14,000 (mostly scientific) journals, with some retrospective coverage compiled from cited references and free web sources. Compile a table of citation counts for a given author showing cited references by year. Discover the h-index for a given author. Search for all cited references for a given author, just a combination of selected references, or a single reference, with an option to exclude self-citations. Locate an article to see Findit@Mu links to all its cited references. [more]

Journals

Journals for Orthopedics

Browse Journals on Orthopedics Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://ew3dm6nd8c.search.serialssolutions.com/?V=1.0&L=EW3DM6ND8C&list=2&S=SC&C=MHD009985
  


Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Orthopedics

American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery
https://www.abos.org/
  
Also Known as: ABOS
Establishes educational standards for orthopaedic residents and evaluates orthopaedic surgeons.

MEDLINE Evidence Based Search Filters
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://library.muhealth.org/search/ovid/EBMfilters.htm
  
Use these links to target methodologically sound, evidence-based journal articles in MEDLINE. Choose from therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology or prognosis; then combine the result with the subject of interest. [more]

Springer Images
http://www.springerimages.com/imagesMD/
  
Links to image sites in various clinical and preclinical specialties.

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Orthopedics

Campbell’s Operative Orthopaedics Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.mdconsult.com/public/book/view?title=Canale+%26+Beaty:+Campbell’s+Operative+Orthopaedics
  


DeLee and Drez’s Orthopaedic Sports Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.mdconsult.com/public/book/view?title=DeLee:+DeLee+and+Drez’s+Orthopaedic+Sports+Medicine
  


Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
http://www.merck.com/mmpe/index.html
  
The complete text, including tables and figures, of this popular handbook of internal medicine.

Skeletal Trauma in Children Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.mdconsult.com/public/book/view?title=Green+&+Swiontkowski:+Skeletal+Trauma+in+Children
  


Skeletal Trauma: Basic Science, Management, and Reconstruction Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.mdconsult.com/public/book/view?title=Browner:+Skeletal+Trauma
  


Systematic Musculoskeletal Examinations Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=700
  
A thorough introductory guide to the techniques of the musculoskeletal examination Systematic Musculoskeletal Examinations is a clear, step-by-step learning text and atlas designed to teach essential and foundational skills of musculoskeletal physical assessment. Utilizing concise, easy-to-follow text and hundreds of outstanding photographs, this is an important resource for students, residents in training, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and practicing physicians seeking an organized approach to performing practical, problem-focused musculoskeletal physical examinations.Systematic Musculoskeletal Examinations presents a 3-part learning system: 1. Screening Musculoskeletal Examination (SMSE): rapid assessment of structure and function 2. General Musculoskeletal Examination (GMSE): comprehensive assessment of joint inflammation and arthritis 3. Regional Musculoskeletal Examination (RMSE): focused assessments of structure and function combined with special testing of the shoul

Wheeless’ Textbook of Orthopaedics
http://www.wheelessonline.com/
  
Browse or search nerves, bones, muscles, joints or body regions for information on normal anatomy, radiology, fractures, diseases, and trauma. Also includes some information on laboratory values of musculoskeletal significance.

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog