Health & Medicine : Microbiology & Immunology

Subject Librarians



Darell Schmick
(573) 884-3575
schmickd@health.missouri.edu

Health & Medicine : Microbiology & Immunology

Core Resources

Databases for Articles

Databases for Microbiology & Immunology

Annual Reviews Online Index
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://arjournals.annualreviews.org/search/advanced
  
Search by article title through the following Annual Reviews books 1984-date: Anthropology, Astronomy, Biochemistry, Biophysics and Biomolecular Structure, Cell Developmental Biology, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Energy and the Environment, Fluid Mechanics, Genetics, Immunology, Materials Science, Medicine, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Nuclear and Particle Science, Nutrition, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Physical Chemistry, Physiology, Phytopathology, Plant Physiology, Psychology, Public Health, and Sociology. [more]

Biological Abstracts Archive 1980-2013 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&NEWS=n&PAGE=main&D=b13az
  
Biological Abstracts encompasses all disciplines of the life sciences. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as plant and animal science, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology. [more]

BMC Proceedings
http://www.biomedcentral.com/bmcproc/
  
Devoted specifically to conference publications in medicine and biology, BioMed Central aims to provide open access to both abstracts and complete articles presented at conferences. [more]

DbGaP Genotype and Phenotype
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?db=gap
  
Archives and distributes data from genome wide association (GWA) studies. GWA studies explore the association between specific genes (genotype information) and observable traits, such as blood pressure and weight, or the presence or absence of a disease or condition (phenotype information). Connecting phenotype and genotype data provides information about the genes that may be involved in a disease process or condition, which can be critical for better understanding the disease and for developing new diagnostic methods and treatments. From NCBI. [more]

MEDLINE (Ovid) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=mesd
  
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

OMIA: Online Mendelian Inheritance in Animals
http://omia.angis.org.au/
  
Database of genes, inherited disorders, and traits in more than 135 animal species other than human and mourse. Produced by University of Sydney.

PubMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?myncbishare=umochsclib&dr=abstract
  
PubMed, developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), provides access to Old MEDLINE, MEDLINE, in-process, and publisher-supplied citations. PubMed has more than 17 million bibliographic citations and abstracts from nearly 4,500 journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences. In addition, PubMed provides access and links to the integrated molecular biology databases maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

ScienceDirect Freedom Collection Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.sciencedirect.com
  
ScienceDirect Freedom Collection provides access to all live journals published by Elsevier; online book series and discontinued journals are not included. The publisher specializes in life science, physical science, and engineering. There are over 1,600 journals included in the trial, of which more than 1,100 are new to this campus. More than 200 of these new journals have impact factors equal to or greater than 2. [more]

Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.scopus.com
  
Search 33 million journal articles, cited references, and patents. Cover-to-cover indexing 1996-date for 14,000 (mostly scientific) journals, with some retrospective coverage compiled from cited references and free web sources. Compile a table of citation counts for a given author showing cited references by year. Discover the h-index for a given author. Search for all cited references for a given author, just a combination of selected references, or a single reference, with an option to exclude self-citations. Locate an article to see Findit@Mu links to all its cited references. [more]

Journals

Journals for Microbiology & Immunology

Browse Journals on Clinical Molecular and Microbiology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://ew3dm6nd8c.search.serialssolutions.com/?V=1.0&L=EW3DM6ND8C&list=2&S=SC&C=MHD008829
  


Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Microbiology & Immunology

DPDx Identification and Diagnosis of Parasites of Public Health Concern Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.dpd.cdc.gov/dpdx/Default.htm
  
Users can browse through concise reviews of parasites and parasitic diseases, including an image library and a review of recommended procedures for collecting, shipping, processing, and examining biologic specimens.

National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/
  
Also Known as: NCBI
Databases produced by NCBI include Entrez , OMIM , Sagemap , GeneMap and Locus Link. Use the Entrez Cross-database Search Page to do a global search across all Entrez resources.

Viral Genotyping Tool
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/projects/genotyping/formpage.cgi
  
Viral Genotyping Tool: a web-based program that identifies the genotype (or subtype) of recombinant or non-recombinant viral nucleotide sequences. It works by using BLAST to compare a query sequence to a set of reference sequences for known genotypes. Predefined reference genotypes exist for three major viral pathogens: human immunodeficiency virus 1 (HIV-1), hepatitis C virus (HCV) and hepatitis B virus (HBV), as well as for poliovirus. User-defined reference sequences can be used at the same time. The query sequence is broken into segments for comparison to the reference so that the mosaic organization of recombinant sequences is revealed. The results are displayed graphically using color-coded genotypes. Therefore, the genotype(s) of any portion of the query can quickly be determined.

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Microbiology & Immunology

Allergy Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090461130
  


Basic and Clinical Immunology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090497563
  
Also Known as: Clinical Immunology


Basic Immunology: Functions and Disorders of the Immune System Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20100672063
  
Also Known as: Functions and Disorders of the Immune System


Cellular and Molecular Immunology, 8th edition Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20130013230
  
Also Known as: Abbas’ Immunology
Required for School of Medicine PBL Block 1.

Histology & Cell Biology: Examination & Board Review, 5e Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=563
  
Also Known as: Histology and cell biology: examination and board review
This popular title in the LANGE series is specifically designed to help you make the most of your study time–whether you’re studying histology and cell biology for the first time or reviewing for course exams or the USMLE. With this focused review you will be able to pinpoint your weak areas, and then improve your comprehension with learning aids especially designed to help you understand and retain even the most difficult material. You will find complete easy-to-follow coverage of all the need-to-know material: fundamental concepts, the four basic tissues types, and organs and organ systems–presented in a consistent, time-saving design. At the conclusion of the book, you will find a Diagnostic Final Exam that has been updated with longer, case-related stems that mimic the USMLE Step 1 examination.

Human Molecular Genetics – NLM
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/bv.fcgi?call=bv.View..ShowTOC&rid=hmg.TOC&depth=10
  
2nd ed, 1999.

Immunobiology : the immune system in health and disease, 5th ed. (Janeway)
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/bv.fcgi?call=bv.View..ShowTOC&rid=imm.TOC&depth=2
  


Immunology for Medical Students Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-B9780323045322X50019
  


Index-Catalogue of Medical and Veterinary Zoology
http://info.library.okstate.edu/ICMVZ
  
Also Known as: ICMVZ
The Index-Catalogue of Medical and Veterinary Zoology (ICMVZ) is an historic compendium of parasitological literature and a key resource for researchers in emerging diseases and global animal health. It comprises more than 100 publications with about 20,000 pages of references. With funding from the National Library of Medicine, Oklahoma State University and Texas A & M digitized the Index-Catalogue and made it freely available online and electronically searchable.

Jawetz, Melnick, & Adelberg’s Medical Microbiology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=803
  


Junqueira’s Basic Histology: Text and Atlas Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=574
  
Also Known as: Basic Histology : Text and Atlas


Lange Case Files Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/caseHome.aspx
  
Also Known as: Case Files Emergency Medicine ; Case Files Anatomy ; Case Files Microbiology ; Case Files Pharmacology ; Case Files Physiology


LANGE Educational Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/qa.aspx#tab=2
  
Search 11 books covering all areas of basic sciences except anatomy. Includes such respected texts as Harper’s Biochemistry, Ganong’s Medical Physiology, and more. Part of AccessMedicine.

Medical Microbiology
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/bv.fcgi?call=bv.View..ShowTOC&rid=mmed.TOC&depth=10
  
Browse and search the 4th edition of Samuel Baron’s textbook, published by the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston. [more]

Medical Microbiology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C2009045414X
  
Also Known as: Medical Microbiology (Greenwood) Greenwood’s Medical Microbiology


Medical Microbiology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20100666946
  
Also Known as: Medical Microbiology (Murray) Murray’s Medical Microbiology


Middleton’s Allergy: Principles and Practice Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20101657276es+and+Practice
  
Also Known as: Allergy: Principles and Practice


Mims’ Medical Microbiology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090597917
  
Also Known as: Medical Microbiology


Molecular Biology of the Cell
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/bookshelf/br.fcgi?book=mboc4
  
The 4th edition can be searched, but not browsed online. The 5th edition and accompanying DVD are on reserve at the Health Sciences Library Circulation Desk. Recommended for School of Medicine PBL Block 1.

OMIM – Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/sites/entrez?db=omim
  
McKusick’s definitive catalog of genetic disorders.

Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=400
  


Sherris Medical Microbiology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=1020
  
Also Known as: Medical Microbiology


Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog