Health & Medicine : Medicine

Health & Medicine : Medicine

Core Resources

Databases for Articles

Databases for Medicine

African Index Medicus
http://indexmedicus.afro.who.int/


Focuses on sources not indexed in MEDLINE, including books, theses, and agency reports. From the Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA) with the technical support of the World Health Organization [more]


AHRQ Innovations Exchange
http://www.innovations.ahrq.gov/


Also Known as: Innovations Exchange
[more]


Annual Reviews Online Index
http://libraryguides.missouri.edu/annualreviews


Search by article title through the following Annual Reviews books 1984-date: Anthropology, Astronomy, Biochemistry, Biophysics and Biomolecular Structure, Cell Developmental Biology, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Energy and the Environment, Fluid Mechanics, Genetics, Immunology, Materials Science, Medicine, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Nuclear and Particle Science, Nutrition, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Physical Chemistry, Physiology, Phytopathology, Plant Physiology, Psychology, Public Health, and Sociology. [more]


BMC Proceedings
http://www.biomedcentral.com/bmcproc/


Devoted specifically to conference publications in medicine and biology, BioMed Central aims to provide open access to both abstracts and complete articles presented at conferences. [more]


Canadian Medical Association CPG Infobase
https://www.cma.ca/En/Pages/clinical-practice-guidelines.aspx


Over 300 Clinical Practice Guidelines designed to help physicians and patients make appropriate health care decisions in specific clinical circumstances. They have been developed or reviewed with a five-year rolling date, and produced or endorsed in Canada by a national, provincial or territorial medical or health organization, professional society, government agency or expert panel. [more]


CenterWatch Clinical Trials
http://www.centerwatch.com/


An international listing of over 80,000 active clinical trials. Search the database by therapeutic area, disease or geographic location. Also contains information on new drugs and devices approved by the FDA and the Department of Health and Human Services. [more]


ClinicalTrials.gov
http://clinicaltrials.gov


A Sponsored by NIH and the National Library of Medicine, this site allows patients and health care providers to search for clinical trials by name of trial location, disease or condition, age group and treatment. [more]


Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (EBM Reviews) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=easy&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=coch


Also Known as: Cochrane
Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types: includes both completed reviews and protocols for reviews in progress. EBM Reviews is integrated with Ovid MEDLINE. When browsing MEDLINE results, click on “Topic Review” to see the related Cochrane review. [more]


DARE – Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=basic&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=dare&


A collection of high quality systematic research reviews of the effectiveness of health care interventions in the areas of diagnosis, prevention, rehabilitation, screening and treatment. This database is fully integrated with MEDLINE so that articles which have been reviewed for DARE will contain an additional link: Article Review. Since a new limit, “EBM Reviews”, has been added to MEDLINE, often the best way to search DARE is from MEDLINE. But connecting directly to EBM Reviews: DARE permits targeting particular kinds of studies, e.g. therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology, etc; or searching the complete text of each article review, including references, caption and footnotes. [more]


EBM Reviews – ACP Journal Club Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=acp


The complete text of ACP Journal Club (1991-date) and BMJ’s Evidence Based Medicine (1995-1999), which contain reviews of the most methodologically sound, clinically relevant articles from the top internal medicine, pediatric, ob/gyn, ophthalmology, psychiatry, and surgery journals. This database is fully integrated with MEDLINE so that articles which have been reviewed for these sources will contain an additional link: Article Review. Since a new limit, “EBM Reviews”, has been added to MEDLINE, often the best way to search for these reviews is from MEDLINE. But connecting directly to EBM Reviews: ACP Journal Club permits targeting particular kinds of studies,e.g. therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology, etc; or searching the complete text of each article review, including references, captions and footnotes. EBM Reviews: ACP Journal Club is also fully integrated with the Ovid full text collections, meaning it is often possible to view the complete text of the primary article b [more]


EBM Reviews – Cochrane Controlled Trials Register Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=easy&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=cctr


Contains over 300,000 bibliographic references to controlled trials in health care which have been identified in MEDLINE and EMBASE and hand searches by members of the Cochrane Collaboration. Over 4000 of the trials included were published prior to 1966, and therefore would not be found in MEDLINE. [more]


Evidence Alerts
http://plus.mcmaster.ca/EvidenceAlerts/


A searchable database of the best evidence from 110 premier clinical journals. A network of clinicians evaluates methodologically sound articles for clinical relevance and newsworthiness. Only articles that have been favorably evaluated by at least 3 clinicians are included. Users can also receive either daily or weekly email updates. [more]


HCUPnet
http://hcupnet.ahrq.gov/


An interactive tool for identifying, analyzing and comparing statistics on hospital inpatient care. Uses the data from the Nationwide Inpatient Sample (NIS) of over 1000 hospitals. Also includes data from the State Inpatient Database (SID), representing inpatient care in community hospitals in 36 states (including Missouri), which represents more than half of all U.S. hospital discharges. Create and export tables on costs, demographics, mortality, length of stay, and insurance coverage for diseases or medical procedures. From the U.S. Agency for Health Care Research and Quality. [more]


HSTAT (AHCPR Supported Guidelines)
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK16710/


Lists the entire text of clinical practice guidelines developed by U.S. government entities such as the Agency for Health Care Policy Research and the National Institutes of Health. [more]


Index Medicus for the Eastern Mediterranean Region
http://www.who.int/library/databases/emro/en/index.html


The MEDLINE for medical journals published in the Eastern Mediterranean Region, including the countries of Afghanistan, Bahrain, Cyprus, Djibouti, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Oman, The Occupied Territories, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, U.A.E., and Yemen Arab Republic. Indexed with MeSH Medical Subject Headings in English and Arabic. From the World Health Organization. [more]


IndMED
http://indmed.nic.in/


Search 75 prominent Indian medical journals, most of which are not included in MEDLINE. All articles are indexed with MeSH headings. Maintained by the Indian Medlars Centre. [more]


LILACS Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://bases.bireme.br/cgi-bin/wxislind.exe/iah/online/?IsisScript=iah/iah.xis&base=LILACS&lang=I


The Latin American equivalent of MEDLINE, covering 669 journals in Portuguese, Spanish & English. Although the majority of articles indexed are in Portuguese or Spanish, it’s possible to search using English keywords. [more]


Literature Arts and Medicine Database Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://litmed.med.nyu.edu/Search?action=startann


An database of prose, poetry, film and art works dealing with health and medicine. Searchable by medium, author/creator, title, era, and subject. [more]


LOCATORplus
http://locatorplus.gov/


Search the library collection of the National Library of Medicine. [more]


MEDLINE (Ovid) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=mesd


Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]


MEDLINE Top 5 Search Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://library.muhealth.org/allsearch/medline-search/


A google-like search box to pull only the 5 most relevant results from MEDLINE.


MICROMEDEX Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.micromedexsolutions.com/micromedex2/librarian/


A variety of databases covering topics such as medicine, drugs, alternative and complementary medicine, patient education and occupational health. Search multiple Micromedex databases via the Integrated Index (http://micromedex.umh.edu ) feature or search individual databases. Brought to you by University of Missouri Health Care.


Native Health Research Database
https://hscssl.unm.edu/nhd/


Indexes health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. Can search by tribe, state, region/province in addition to MeSH subject searches. Older literature (back to 1652) can be found in the Native Health History Database. [more]


NICE (National Institute for Clinical Excellence) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.nice.org.uk/guidance/index.jsp?action=byTopic


From the National Health Service of England and Wales. Clinical practice guidelines, technology and interventional procedure appraisals on a variety of subjects.


NIH RePORTER (Formerly CRISP)
http://projectreporter.nih.gov/reporter.cfm


Also Known as: National Institutes of Health reporter ; crisp ; current review of scientific projects ; Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tool
Search federally funded biomedical research projects funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services (SAMSHA), Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDCP), Agency for Health Care Policy Research (AHCPR), and Office of Assistant Secretary of Health (OASH). Results can be exported to an Excel spreadsheet. View the amount of research funding for a given disease, or the success rates for different types of grants. In addition to project descriptions, NIH RePORTER now includes links to publications and patents arising from NIH funded research, with links to PubMed Central, PubMed, and the US Patent & Trademark Office databases. [more]


OvidSP Medical Search Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=basic&NEWS=n&PAGE=main&D=ovft,ebmy,mesz


Type in a question or topic to see the most relevant results in MEDLINE, Evidence-Based Medicine Reviews, and Journals@Ovid. [more]


Performance Improvement Initiative Inventory (PI-3) Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.
https://mymuhealth.org/blank.cfm?id=4758&fr=true


Also Known as: PI-3, PI3


PreMEDLINE Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=prem


Also Known as: MEDLINE In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations
Provides basic citation information (no abstracts or MeSH indexing terms) for articles currently in the process of being indexed for MEDLINE. Also includes PubMed-only citations which will never be added to MEDLINE on bioethics, population studies, biotechnology, health technology, and health services management. Formerly known as PreMEDLINE. [more]


PubMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?myncbishare=umochsclib&dr=abstract


The National Library of Medicine’s free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals, such as Science and Nature. MU users have enhanced MEDLINE search capabilities available to them in Ovid MEDLINE. MeSH subject indexing is not available for very new citations or for citations older than 1966. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]


Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.scopus.com


Search 33 million journal articles, cited references, and patents. Cover-to-cover indexing 1996-date for 14,000 (mostly scientific) journals, with some retrospective coverage compiled from cited references and free web sources. Compile a table of citation counts for a given author showing cited references by year. Discover the h-index for a given author. Search for all cited references for a given author, just a combination of selected references, or a single reference, with an option to exclude self-citations. Locate an article to see Findit@Mu links to all its cited references. [more]


UK National Electronic Library for Health NeLH Guidelines Finder
https://www.evidence.nhs.uk/


From the United Kingdon National Health Service. Search over 600 UK national guidelines, often with links to the complete text. Developed in collaboration with SEEK, the Sheffield Evidence for Effectiveness and Knowledge. [more]


Videos in Clinical Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.nejm.org/multimedia/medical-videos?emp=marcomtr


Also Known as: nejm videos ; new england journal of medicine videos
Videos showing common medical procedures from the New England Journal of Medicine. Can also be viewed on mobile devices.


Web of Science Core Collection Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://webofknowledge.com/WOS


Also Known as: WoS
This collection indexes thousands of scholarly journals, books, reports, conferences and more. Citation information and analysis with cited reference searching available. The collection includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Social Sciences Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present) and Index Chemicus (1993-present). [more]


Journals

Journals for Medicine

Browse Journals on Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://ew3dm6nd8c.search.serialssolutions.com/?V=1.0&L=EW3DM6ND8C&list=2&S=SC&C=MHD008511




Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Medicine

Adam.com Medical Encyclopedia
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/encyclopedia.html


Browse or search for symptoms in this encyclopedia available via MEDLINEplus.


AHRQ Web M&M: Morbidity and Mortality Rounds on the Web
http://www.webmm.ahrq.gov/


A forum on patient safety, featuring expert analyses of anonymously submitted medical errors, and interactive learning modules on patient safety. From the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.


AIM DocFinder
http://www.docboard.org/docfinder.html


Search a doctor’s name for any disciplinary information provided by medical boards in over 20 states. Missouri is not included, although there is a link to the Missouri State Board for the Healing Arts Licensee Database. AIM DocFinder is provided by the Association of State Medical Board Executive Directors.


AMA Doctor Finder
https://extapps.ama-assn.org/doctorfinder/


A directory of virtually every licensed physician in the United States. Search the 650,000+ entries by name and medical specialty.


American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS): Certification Matters
http://www.certificationmatters.org/


Also Known as: abms ; american board of medical specialties ; who’s certified ; certification matters ; certificationmatters
Verify the physician certification status by one or more of the 24 ABMS member boards, or obtain a list of board certified specialists in a given state or city. Free registration required.


ARGH Biomedical Acronym/Abbreviation Database
http://etblast.vbi.vt.edu/argh/index.shtml


Enter an acronym to see what it stands for, and how it has been used in context in MEDLINE titles and abstracts. Generated automatically from the MEDLINE database using a computer algorithm called Acronym Resolving General Heuristics (ARGH), it contains over 200,000 unique acronyms.


Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC)
http://www.aamc.org/


Provides information on medical education, research, and health care. A directory of medical schools and medical school admissions offices in included.


Boone Hospital Center/BJC Physician Referral Database
http://www.bjc.org/physicians/default.aspx


Search for physicians in the BJC referral network (including Boone Hospital Center) by name, specialty, insurance, location, age or gender.


Clinical Cases and Images: A Case-Based Curriculum of Clinical Medicine
http://clinicalcases.blogspot.com/


Presents clinical cases, procedure videos, diagnostic images, and answers to clinical questions, all designed to bridge the gap between textbooks and real life in the clinic and on the ward. Created by Cleveland Clinic and Case Western Reserve University. Presented in blog/RSS format. Site content can be translated into 9 languages, including Arabic, Russian, and Chinese.


Cochrane Collaboration Consumer Network
http://www.cochrane.org/consumers/homepage.htm


Includes summaries of Cochrane reviews written for patients.


Congress Resource Centre (CRC): Doctor’s Guide Global Edition
http://www.docguide.com/crc.nsf/web-bySpec


Access information about medical conferences and meeting events in 83 countries searchable by medical specialty, location, and date.


Current Bibliographies in Medicine
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.nlm.nih.gov/archive/20120907/pubs/resources.html


Provided by the National Library of Medicine. Each bibliography covers a distinct subject area of biomedicine of current popular interest. Available online back to 1992.


DailyMed
http://dailymed.nlm.nih.gov/dailymed/about.cfm




Drug Information Portal from the National Library of Medicine
http://druginfo.nlm.nih.gov/drugportal/drugportal.jsp




Epocrates Online
https://online.epocrates.com/


Concise information on diseases and drugs. Drug interaction checker, formularies, and images are available with optional free registration.


Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.fsmb.org/


The FSMB is compsed of 69 member boards one being the Missouri Board of Healng Arts . The FSMB promotes high standards for physician licensure and practice and also produces USMLE .


Hardin MD Meta Directory of Medical and Disease Pictures
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://hardinmd.lib.uiowa.edu/


Links to medical pictures on the web arranged by disease and medical specialty.


History of the University of Missouri-Columbia School of Medicine
http://library.muhealth.org/docs/history/historyschoolofmedicine.htm


A Selected List of Sources in MU Libraries


MedEDPORTAL
https://www.mededportal.org/


Hundreds of faculty-developed, peer reviewed resources to support medical education. From the Association of American Medical Colleges. Free registration required.


Medical Breakthroughs reported by Ivanhoe Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
https://search.ivanhoe.com/home/p_home.cfm


19 channels of medical news, updated daily. News stories from the last week are free; a fee-based alerting service is available as is fee-based access to the 50,000 stories archived since 1995.


Medical Mnemonics
http://medicalmnemonics.com


A free, non-profit, searchable database of over 1000 memory aids to help students memorize anatomical, biochemical and clinical concepts. Palm and AvantGo PDA versions also available. [more]


Medical Register for the United Kingdom
http://www.gmc-uk.org/register/search/index.asp


Also Known as: London Medical Register; UK Medical Register; Great Britain Medical Register


MEDLINE Evidence Based Search Filters
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://library.muhealth.org/search/ovid/EBMfilters.htm


Use these links to target methodologically sound, evidence-based journal articles in MEDLINE. Choose from therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology or prognosis; then combine the result with the subject of interest. [more]


National Library of Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.nlm.nih.gov


As one of the largest subject collections of any kind in the world, the National Library of Medicine provides leadership in indexing, cataloging and providing medical literature for health professionals and health consumers through such services as MEDLINE/Pubmed, MedlinePlus, LocatorPlus, clinicaltrials.gov, and many others. Part of the National Institutes of Health.


NationMaster
http://www.nationmaster.com/index.php


Search, compare, and graph statistics for a country or region of the world. Includes many health statistics compiled from the CIA World Factbook, United Nations, World Health Organization, World Bank, World Resources Institute, UNESCO, UNICEF, OECD, and more.


New Cochrane Reviews
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=titles&D=coch&SEARCH=new.uf.+and+systematic+review.pt.&NEWS=N


New and newly revised systematic reviews from the most recent quarterly update to the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.


POEMs
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=titles&D=ovft&SEARCH=POEMS.DT.+and+00004790-$.an.


Collected reviews from the Journal of Family Practice Journal Club. Each month, the JFP Journal Club applies the principles of evidence-based medicine to select 8 of the most clinically applicable articles from over 90 journals in every clinical specialty.


Professional Registration Licensee Search – Missouri State Board for the Healing Arts
https://renew.pr.mo.gov/licensee-search.asp


Searchable directory of licensed professionals including medical physicians & surgeons, physical therapists and occupational therapists among others. Search by county, profession, name and/or license number. Includes information on license and discplinary status.


PubMed Clinical Q&A
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/bookshelf/br.fcgi?book=ebm


Also Known as: Pubmed Clinical Q & A; Pubmed clinical questions & answers


Science Gateway Rankings
http://www.sciencegateway.org/rank/index.html


Although there’s a 2+ year time lag, this site provides a snapshot of rankings of top journals, institutions, authors, and countries in various disciplines. Rankings are based on ISI’s journal impact factor.


Self Care Flowcharts
http://familydoctor.org/online/famdocen/home/tools/symptom.html


These flowcharts from the American Academy of Family Physicians guide patients and healthcare consumers through common medical problems such as headache, fever, nausea etc.


StateMaster
http://www.statemaster.com/index.php


Search, compare, and graph statistics for a state or region of the United States. Statistics are compiled from many sources, such as the US Census Bureau, the FBI, and the National Center for Educational Statistics. Many health statistics are included.


Test Prep Review
http://www.testprepreview.com/


Free practice tests from a nonprofit group of educators. Choose from MCAT, USMLE, NCLEX and other nursing exams and many more.


USMLE United States Medical Licensing Examination
http://www.usmle.org


Contains tutorials and practice sessions for the three testing areas, as well as information on application materials and testing accomodations and schedules. There are also downloads which simulate the computer-based testing format.


Who Named It?
http://www.whonamedit.com/


An encyclopedic dictionary of eponyms. Aims to ultimately provide biographical information on over 15,000 diseases and medical phenomena named after a person; currently contains over 6000 eponyms. Search by eponym, or by name, gender or national origin of the person.


Yahoo subject List of Internet Resources in Health and Medicine Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.
http://dir.yahoo.com/health/




eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Medicine

AAFP Conditions A to Z Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://online.statref.com/Document.aspx?grpalias=MU&FxId=99




AccessMedicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com


Search a collection of over 50 books in clinical medicine and the basic sciences, including Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine, Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, Hurst’s The Heart, and many more. Click on My AccessMedicine to register for a free password which entitles you to use the Lange self-assessment tool for board preparation, PDA chapter downloads, and podcasts. MyNCBI account holders can link to articles and ordering options via Findit@MU. Please logout when finished searching. To locate more recent articles which cite a referenced article, enter the PMID article Identifier here.


Adams & Victor’s Principles of Neurology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=690




Aminoff’s Neurology and General Medicine, 5th ed. Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20120030311


Also Known as: Neurology and General Medicine


Behavioral Medicine : A Guide for Clinical Practice Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=633




Big Picture : Medical Biochemistry Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=761




Books@Ovid
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&NEWS=N&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&D=baov&


A collection of major medical, nursing and pharmacy reference texts. Titles can be searched individually or as a whole.


Churchill’s Pocketbook of Differential Diagnosis Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20120035399


Also Known as: Pocketbook of Differential Diagnosis; Differential Diagnosis


Citing Medicine: The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers.
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/bv.fcgi?rid=citmed.TOC&depth=2




Clinical Decision Support: the Road to Broad Adoption, 2nd ed. Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20120003043




Clinical Evidence Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.clinicalevidence.com/ceweb/index.jsp


A compendium of evidence on the effects of common clinical interventions in a variety of medical specialties, from the publishers of the British Medical Journal. Summarizes the current state of knowledge, ignorance, and uncertainty about the prevention and treatment of a wide range of clinical conditions based on thorough searches and appraisal of the literature. Updated monthly.


Clinician’s Pocket Reference Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=93




Conn’s Current Therapy 2017 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20130194974




Current Clinical Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-B9781416066439X0001X


Also Known as: Cleveland Clinic: Current Clinical Medicine


Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=1019


Also Known as: Current Consult: Medicine;Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment
The content of Papadakis & McPhee’s Current Consult: Medicine is included under the Quick Access Tab in AccessMedicine.


Davidson’s Principles and Practice of Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20110072307


Also Known as: Principles and Practice of Medicine


DeGowin’s Diagnostic Examination Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=1192




Diagnosaurus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/diag.aspx


A differential diagnosis tool from McGraw-Hill and CogniQ, included with AccessMedicine. [more]


DynaMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?eou=aHR0cDovL3NlYXJjaC5lYnNjb2hvc3QuY29tL2xvZ2luLmFzcHg_YXV0aHR5cGU9aXAmYW1wO2N1c3RpZD1zODk0NjEzNCZhbXA7cHJvZmlsZT1keW5hbWVkPEJSPjxCUj5UaGlzIFVSTCB3aWxsIGhhdmUgdGhlIHVzZXIgbG9nIGludG8gdGhlIG1haW4gcHJveHkgYnV0IHJlZGlyZWN0IHRoZSB1c2VyIHRvIHRoZSBIZWFsdGggU2NpZW5jZXMgTGlicmFyeSBmb3IgYWNjZXNzIHRvIER5bmFtZWQuIDxCUj48QlI-UGxlYXNlIA**&url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip&custid=s8946134&profile=dynamed


Provides basic information and summarizes current developments on over 2000 diseases. Designed for use at the point of care. Includes ICD9 codes. MyNCBI account holders can link to articles and ordering options via Findit@MU.


Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology : Health and Illness in the World’s Cultures Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX2688799999&q=morenetuomcolum




Epocrates MedTools Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.epocrates.com/products/medtools/


A variety of free add-on programs to accompany ePocrates. Currently includes a tumor staging reference, a bone health assessment tool, dosing calculators, and treatment guides for cholesterol, psychiatry, and hypertension. [more]


Essentials of Clinical Geriatrics Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=678


Also Known as: Clinical Geriatrics
For nearly three decades, the goal of Essentials of Clinical Geriatrics has remained unchanged: to help clinicians do a better job of caring for their older patients. You will find thorough and authoritative coverage of all the important issues in geriatrics, along with concise, practical guidance on the diagnosis and treatment of the diseases and disorders most commonly encountered in an elderly patient.


Ferri’s Practical Guide: Fast Facts for Patient Care Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20110078705


Also Known as: Fast Facts for Patient Care


Ferri’s Clinical Advisor 2017 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C2013012702X


Also Known as: Clinical Advisor


Ferri’s Differential Diagnosis Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090624193


Also Known as: Differential Diagnosis


FREIDA
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://freida.ama-assn.org/Freida/user/viewProgramSearch.do


This is the Directory of Graduate Medical Education programs (commonly known as the “Green Book”) online.


Goldman-Cecil Medicine, 25th edition Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20120012793


Also Known as: Cecil Textbook of Medicine; Cecil’s Medicine; Goldman’s Cecil Medicine


Guide to Culturally Competent Healthcare, Third edition Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://site.ebrary.com/lib/umcolumbia/docDetail.action?docID=10865357


Much of the information here was synthesized from two printed books, Guide to culturally competent health care and Transcultural Health Care: A culturally competent approach./a>.


Harrison’s Manual of Medicine
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://find.galegroup.com/gvrl/infomark.do?type=aboutBook&prodId=GVRL&eisbn=9780071476829&userGroupName=morenetuomcolum&version=1.0




Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=1130


Also Known as: Harrison’s Online
[more]


Hazzard’s Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=540


Also Known as: Principles of Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology


Healthcare Standards Directory Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://hcs.ecri.org/default.aspx?anm=WalshDa


Also Known as: Health Care Standards Directory


Histology & Cell Biology: Examination & Board Review, 5e Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=563


Also Known as: Histology and cell biology: examination and board review
This popular title in the LANGE series is specifically designed to help you make the most of your study time–whether you’re studying histology and cell biology for the first time or reviewing for course exams or the USMLE. With this focused review you will be able to pinpoint your weak areas, and then improve your comprehension with learning aids especially designed to help you understand and retain even the most difficult material. You will find complete easy-to-follow coverage of all the need-to-know material: fundamental concepts, the four basic tissues types, and organs and organ systems–presented in a consistent, time-saving design. At the conclusion of the book, you will find a Diagnostic Final Exam that has been updated with longer, case-related stems that mimic the USMLE Step 1 examination.


Hutchison’s Clinical Methods: An Integrated Approach to Clinical Practice Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090519344


Also Known as: Clinical Methods: An Integrated Approach to Clinical Practice


Kumar & Clark’s Clinical Medicine, 9th ed. Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20140009860


Also Known as: Kumar’s Clinical Medicine; Kumar Clinical Medicine


LANGE Self Assessment Tool Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com


Click on LANGE Self Assessment tool and complete the free registration form to access 3000 USLME Step 1 and Step 2 sample board exam questions. From USMLEasy.com.


Lexi-Interact Online Drug Interactions Program Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.
http://www.uptodate.com/contents/drug-interaction


A service of UpToDate, provided by the Lexi-Comp company. Enter a list of drugs to identify potential interactions, or list all potential interactions for a given drug or herb. Results can be filtered by level of risk rating if desired. After logging into UpToDate and accepting the license agreement, Click on Launch Lexi-Interact drug interactions program.


MedCalc 3000 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://online.statref.com/WebAPI/ResolveLink.aspx?path=http%3a%2f%2fonline.statref.com%2fMedcalc3000Window.aspx%3fMedCalcContents%3dintro.htm&grpalias=MU




Medical Interview Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090431829


Also Known as: The Medical Interview


Medical Sciences, 2nd ed. Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20110087604




Medicine: A Competency-Based Companion Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090363515




mediLexicon Medical Abbreviations Directionary Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.medilexicon.com/medicalabbreviations.php


Search over 200,000 medical abbreviations and their definitions.


Medscape Reference: Drugs, Diseases, Procedures
http://reference.medscape.com/


Also Known as: emedicine


Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
http://www.merck.com/mmpe/index.html


The complete text, including tables and figures, of this popular handbook of internal medicine.


Most Common Inpatient Problems in Internal Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-B9781416032038X10005


Also Known as: The Most Common Inpatient Problems in Internal Medicine; Inpatient Problems in Internal Medicine


Murray and Nadel’s Textbook of Respiratory Medicine, 6th edition Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
https://www.clinicalkey.com/#!/browse/book/3-s2.0-C20111081237


Also Known as: Textbook of Respiratory Medicine


Netter’s Internal Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090357773


Also Known as: Internal Medicine


Palliative medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-B9780323056748X50014




Patient History: an Evidence-Based Approach to Differential Diagnosis Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=777


Also Known as: Evidence-Based Approach to Differential Diagnosis
For medical students and other health professions students, an accurate differential diagnosis starts with The Patient History. The ideal companion to major textbooks on the physical examination, this trusted guide is widely acclaimed for its skill-building, and evidence based approach to the medical history. Now in full color, The Patient History defines best practices for the patient interview, explaining how to effectively elicit information from the patient in order to generate an accurate differential diagnosis. The second edition features all-new chapters, case scenarios, and a wealth of diagnostic algorithms. Introductory chapters articulate the fundamental principles of medical interviewing. The book employs a rigorous evidenced-based approach, reviewing and highlighting relevant citations from the literature throughout each chapter.


Primary Care Medicine ( Goroll ) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&NEWS=n&PAGE=booktext&D=books&SC=00140049




Principles and Practice of Hospital Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=496




Principles of Medical Biochemistry, 4th ed. Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C2013019085X


Also Known as: Medical Biochemistry


Quick Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2017 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=2033


Also Known as: QMDT;Quick Medical Diagnosis and Treatment;Quick Medical Dx & Rx
Provides practical, expert information on diagnosis and management when you just have a few minutes. It is a single-source reference designed for quick and easy access to the information you need in the clinical setting.


Red Book: 2015 Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&scope=site&db=nlebk&db=nlabk&AN=1076143




Systematic Musculoskeletal Examinations Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=700


A thorough introductory guide to the techniques of the musculoskeletal examination Systematic Musculoskeletal Examinations is a clear, step-by-step learning text and atlas designed to teach essential and foundational skills of musculoskeletal physical assessment. Utilizing concise, easy-to-follow text and hundreds of outstanding photographs, this is an important resource for students, residents in training, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and practicing physicians seeking an organized approach to performing practical, problem-focused musculoskeletal physical examinations.Systematic Musculoskeletal Examinations presents a 3-part learning system: 1. Screening Musculoskeletal Examination (SMSE): rapid assessment of structure and function 2. General Musculoskeletal Examination (GMSE): comprehensive assessment of joint inflammation and arthritis 3. Regional Musculoskeletal Examination (RMSE): focused assessments of structure and function combined with special testing of the shoul


Textbook of Physical Diagnosis, 7th ed. Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C2010066189X


Recommended for School of Medicine IPC Block 5.


UCSF Hospitalist Handbook
http://www.meistermed.com/isilodepot/isilodocs/isilodoc_s_ucsf_hospitalist_handbook.htm




Understanding Clinical Research Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=674


Understanding Clinical Research addresses both the operational challenges of clinical trials and the needs of clinicians to comprehend the nuances of research methods to accurately analyze study results. This timely resource covers all aspects of clinical trials–from study design and statistics to regulatory oversight–and it delivers a detailed yet streamlined overview of must-know research topics. The text features an accessible three-part organization that traces the evolution of clinical research and explains the bedrock principles and unique challenges of clinical experimentation and observational research. Reinforcing this content are real-life case examples–drawn from the authors’ broad experience–that put chapter concepts into action and contribute to a working knowledge of integral research techniques.


Understanding Global Health, 2e Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=710


The phrase “global health” is frequently thrown around in political and medical debates. But what exactly is global health? The text Understanding Global Health answers this question eloquently in its comprehensive discussion of health, health care, and health systems from a universal perspective. Although this book is written with the medical student or public health student in mind, it can definitely be utilized by anyone who is interested in learning more about the subject.


Understanding Medical Professionalism Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=1058


Also Known as: Medical Professionalism


Understanding Patient Safety Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=750




Understanding Teamwork in Health Care Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=694


Also Known as: Teamwork in Health Care
Understanding Teamwork in Health Care is a book about how to work proficiently in and with teams, both in clinical care and management settings. The book’s purpose is to enable people working in health care to improve the performance of the teams they work in, lead, or manage so that the interests of patients are better served. The book aims to offset in some measure a deficiency in the education of almost all health care professionals in the United States, namely, the lack of training about working in teams composed of people from various professions. Nearly all professionals working in health care are obliged to puzzle out interprofessional teamwork on their own. This book is intended to help health care professionals in this effort


UpToDate Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.
http://library.muhealth.org/mainSearch/UpToDate/UTD_IPcheck.php


Aims to provide instantaneous, evidence-based answers to the most commonly asked clinical questions. Over 270 journals and other sources are regularly scanned and synthesized into topic reviews designed to provide current answers to clinical questions. Overall, these original topic reviews consist of over 77,000 pages of text and over 10,000 graphics providing broad coverage of adult primary care, subspecialty internal medicine, ob/gyn, general surgery and pediatrics. To locate more recent articles which cite a referenced article, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here.


Webster’s New World Medical Dictionary
http://www.medicinenet.com/script/main/art.asp?articlekey=13334


Also Known as: websters medical dictionary


Wilderness Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C2009039724X




Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog

Subject Librarians

Subject Librarian Diane Johnson

Diane Johnson
(573) 882-6142
JohnsonE@health.missouri.edu