Journalism : Journalism Studies

Core Resources

Databases for Articles

Databases for Journalism Studies

Academic Search Complete Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h




America History and Life Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=ahl




American Periodical Series Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/americanperiodicals/advanced?accountid=14576




American State Papers, 1789-1838 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=ASPA




ArchiveGrid Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://archivegrid.org




Archives USA Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com




C19: The Nineteenth Century Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com




Communication and Mass Media Complete Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=ufh




HAPI – Hispanic American Periodicals Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://hapi.ucla.edu




Historical Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=hia




Historical Statistics of the United States Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://hsus.cambridge.org




Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://staging.lincolnandthecivilwar.com/welcome.asp




JSTOR Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org




MLA Directory of Periodicals Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=kah




NewsBank Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://infoweb.newsbank.com


Includes complete full-text content for the Kansas City Star (1991+) and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1989+) newspapers, except for paid advertising. Also includes News Missouri (1997+), which contains wire service news articles about events and issues of importance to Missouri and surrounding states. [more]


Periodicals Index Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com




Project Muse Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://muse.jhu.edu/search/advanced




ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/pqdt/advanced?accountid=14576


Also Known as: Proquest Dissertations & Theses Database; Proquest Dissertations and Theses; ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
[more]


ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/hnpnewyorktimes/advanced?accountid=14576


Also Known as: New York Times;historical New York Times; NYT
ProQuest Historical Newspapers digitally reproduces every issue of the New York Times (1851-2006) from cover-to-cover. It provides full page-image and full-text searching of the newspaper. [more]


Reader’s Guide Retrospective 1890-1982 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=rgr




U.S. Congressional Serial Set Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=SERIAL&s_startsearch=customized&s_home=library.missouri.edu




Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com




Journals

Journals for Journalism Studies

  • Communication Theory
  • Communications Lawyer
  • Continuum: The Journal of Media and Communication Studies
  • Critical Studies in Media Communication
  • Journal of Mass Media Ethics
  • Journalism History
  • Journalism Studies
  • Media, Culture, and Society
  • Media History
  • Media Studies Journal
Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Journalism Studies

American Journalism Historians Association
http://ajhaonline.org/




American Memory
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html




Find Law
http://www.findlaw.com/




Law Library of Congress
http://www.loc.gov/law/index.php




Legal Information Institute
http://www4.law.cornell.edu/uscode/




Media History Monographs
http://facstaff.elon.edu/dcopeland/mhm/mhm.htm




Media Law Resource Center
http://www.medialaw.org/




National Freedom of Information Coalition
http://www.nfoic.org/foi-center




Reporters’ Committee for Freedom of the Press
http://www.rcfp.org/




eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Journalism Studies

ebrary Online BooksTips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog