Social Sciences : International & Foreign Countries

Subject Librarians

Rhonda K. Whithaus
(573) 882-9164
WhithausR@missouri.edu

Social Sciences : International & Foreign Countries

Core Resources

Databases for Articles


Databases for International & Foreign Countries

CIAO – Columbia International Affairs Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.ciaonet.org/
   [more]

CQ Almanac Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://library.cqpress.com/cqalmanac
   [more]

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://global.factiva.com/en/sess/login.asp?xsid=S003Wvj0XNyMTZyMTApMDAqNDAvNXmm5DFHY96oYqZlNFFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFB
   Formerly known as Dow Jones Interactive. Browse the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and other leading newspapers, magazines and newswires through the Business Newsstand; search over 6000 publications through the Publications Library; or view company, industry, country or market
research reports. Please disconnect by using the EXIT button in the upper left when
finished. [more]

HAPI – Hispanic American Periodicals Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://hapi.ucla.edu
   Indexes more than 400 social science and humanities journals covering Central and South Ameria, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region and Hispanics in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials. [more]

HLAS Online
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/hlas/
   [more]

Human Relations Area File Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ehrafWorldCultures.yale.edu
   [more]

PAIS Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/pais/advanced?accountid=14576
   Covers the full range of political, social, and public policy issues, including economic, political, and social issues, business, finance, law, international trade and relations, public administration, government, political science, and any topics that are or might become the subject of legislations. [more]

Journals


Journals for International & Foreign Countries

Browse Journals on International Relations Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://library.missouri.edu/?category=socsci.intrel
  

Tips for finding journals and journal articles

  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

eBooks / Books


eBooks / Books for International & Foreign Countries

Copac
http://copac.ac.uk/
   [more]

Dictionary of World History Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t48&subject=s11
   [more]

Encyclopedia of India Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/aboutEbook.do?actionString=DO_DISPLAY_ABOUT_PAGE&inPS=true&prodId=GVRL&userGroupName=morenetuomcolum&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9780684315126&contentSegment=9780684315126
   [more]

International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/aboutEbook.do?actionString=DO_DISPLAY_ABOUT_PAGE&inPS=true&prodId=GVRL&userGroupName=morenetuomcolum&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9780028658834&contentSegment=9780028658834
  
Oxford Companion to World War II Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t129&subject=s11
  
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t248&subject=s11
  

Tips for finding books

  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog